1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

tire pressure censor?

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by kilo, Oct 5, 2007.

  1. Oct 5, 2007 at 10:55 AM
    #1
    kilo

    kilo [OP] Solo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Member:
    #1283
    Messages:
    646
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2007 Dbl cab long bed TRD Sport
    custom sliders, 3" Old Man Emu lift, onboard air, custom surf-rod mount, custom bed rack, ARB bumper, Budbuilt fuel tank skid-plate
    Does any one know if the sensor can be turned off? I am mounting some M/T's on stock steel wheels that do not have this. The reason I ask is that I know that my tires need to have the correct pressure and check them all of the time, so if I buy these for the stock wheels and end up airing down for trails and such it's still going to go off, so why buy some for these stock wheels, right? Or can I have it turned off or can I do it myself? I just don't want that extra light in the dash or any kind of buzzing chimes.
     
  2. Oct 5, 2007 at 11:11 AM
    #2
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,104
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    After you air them down, reset the correct tire pressure. There's a button under the steering wheel. When you air them back up, reset to the correct pressure.
     
  3. Oct 5, 2007 at 11:23 AM
    #3
    kilo

    kilo [OP] Solo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Member:
    #1283
    Messages:
    646
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2007 Dbl cab long bed TRD Sport
    custom sliders, 3" Old Man Emu lift, onboard air, custom surf-rod mount, custom bed rack, ARB bumper, Budbuilt fuel tank skid-plate
    So the sensor is not preset to a certain tire pressure? Or in other words, with any tire and pressure I can just hit the button?
     
  4. Oct 5, 2007 at 11:25 AM
    #4
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,104
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    I'm sure there is a functional limit, but I think the tires will have tighter functional limits. I know little about offroading and how low the tire pressures typically go.
     
  5. Oct 5, 2007 at 11:27 AM
    #5
    kilo

    kilo [OP] Solo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Member:
    #1283
    Messages:
    646
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2007 Dbl cab long bed TRD Sport
    custom sliders, 3" Old Man Emu lift, onboard air, custom surf-rod mount, custom bed rack, ARB bumper, Budbuilt fuel tank skid-plate
    I've never had to. This last time we went out a lot of the guys did. Some down to about 12psi.
     
  6. Oct 5, 2007 at 11:33 AM
    #6
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,104
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    Wow...that's really low. I know a little from my mountain biking experience and a little from when my brother in law got stuck in my driveway.

    Are the tires that go down to 12 psi a different construction type from the standard radials?
     
  7. Oct 5, 2007 at 1:22 PM
    #7
    GTiVR6r

    GTiVR6r Big Cat Chew Toy

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Member:
    #2805
    Messages:
    212
    Carpentersville, IL
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma Access Cab 2.7L Impulse Red
    What about running a complete second set of wheels and tires?

    Does the computer only track 5 tires at a time, or can it track more?

    For example: Winter wheels and tires and summer wheels and tires.

    I dont want to have to go to the dealer every 6 months to get
    the wheels scanned back into the computer everytime I change them.

    Taking the bulb out of the dash would be easier.
     
  8. Oct 5, 2007 at 1:24 PM
    #8
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,104
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    You re-calibrate yourself, using the button under the steering wheel.
     
  9. Oct 12, 2007 at 6:30 PM
    #9
    Bubba-Jet

    Bubba-Jet Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Member:
    #2900
    Messages:
    33
    Wyano PA.
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma SR5 TRD 4X4 Sport
    Removed Secondary Air Filter,Tacomaworld Sticker,Wade In-Channel wind deflectors,Fumoto 12mm.F103N Engine Oil Drain Valve,Home Cast Bed Tie-downs
    But does anyone have an explanation for how it moniters air pressure ?
     
  10. Oct 12, 2007 at 7:42 PM
    #10
    WildcaTaco

    WildcaTaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Member:
    #2746
    Messages:
    93
    Vehicle:
    06 Access Cab V6 TRD Off-Road PreRunner
    Removed Secondary Air Filter
  11. Oct 13, 2007 at 12:50 PM
    #11
    AUDITECH

    AUDITECH Carolina Alliance: LAZY DIVISION

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Member:
    #875
    Messages:
    840
    charlotte nc
    Vehicle:
    07 double cab prerunner
    none
    How thw censors work. Working with Audis i have had to change the censors many times. If you are putting on a second set of wheels and they dont have the censors then most likly your light will be on because the computer is not reading a signal. The censor is attached to you valve stem on most new cars. There is a crystal that is very sensitive to pressure and sends a voltage signal when that signal is out of range your low air psi light comes on it usually takes 5-10 psi to get it to set the light.

    Hopefully that was helpful.
     
To Top