1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

tire pressure light and after market rims..how do I get it turned off?

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by BiologistsTacoma, May 21, 2009.

  1. May 21, 2009 at 10:32 AM
    #1
    BiologistsTacoma

    BiologistsTacoma [OP] Homer: Me fail english? That's unimpossible!

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Member:
    #17460
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Female
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD 4x4 Raceway Blue Tacoma
    brush guard, 18 in 4x4 Chrome rims, new in-dash receiver
    I bought a tacoma back in January and it has 18 in 4x4 rims on it. These are aftermarket of course...but the dealer told me the tire pressure warning light stays on b/c they are aftermarket. How do I get this turned off? and if I turn it off, if I do get a flat tire or something, will it come on with the aftermarket rims? Any ideas? much obliged:notsure:
     
  2. May 21, 2009 at 10:55 AM
    #2
    Inundated

    Inundated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Member:
    #16648
    Messages:
    71
    Gender:
    Male
    Southern CA.
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner DC/SB TRD Off ROad
    Couldn't they move the original sensors to the new wheels?

    Personally, I would want them moved over, or buy another compatible set.
     
  3. May 21, 2009 at 12:37 PM
    #3
    Hardcorehehaw

    Hardcorehehaw 1 man wolf pack

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Member:
    #13262
    Messages:
    481
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Evan
    Vehicle:
    09 Magnetic Gray PreRunner
    Debadged, 20" Liquid Metal Magmas, Yokohama Parada Spec x 285/50/20, Llumar clear bra, Fold-A-Cover G4, Weathertech liners, Wet Okole seat covers, JBS technologies keyless entry keypad.
    They can "rebuild" the sensors for the new wheels/tires. Take it to a tire shop to get an estimate. I think, and I know this is a big range, that it is between $10-65 per sensor.
     
  4. May 21, 2009 at 12:50 PM
    #4
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,111
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    check the valve stems....if they are metal, then u pave the TPMS on the new wheels...if they are the normal black rubber, then you no longer have the sensors. if u have them, u man need to reset or reflash the TPMS...if u dont, then u'd need to get the sensors, have them installed, then have the new ones flashed....that is if u actually want the TPMS
     
  5. May 21, 2009 at 4:51 PM
    #5
    jrobson

    jrobson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Member:
    #12211
    Messages:
    1,094
    Gender:
    Male
    Mobile, Alabama
    Vehicle:
    09 DC 4x4
    Ultimate lift kit, LR UCA's, Bi-xenon 8000K headlights, Xenon 8000K foglites, (4) KC slimlites on N-Fab light bar, Extang trifecta toneau cover
    Best thing to do is ignore the light, or use the black electrical tape mod and cover it up. Mine is the same way and I just ignore it.
     
  6. May 21, 2009 at 5:17 PM
    #6
    Fire931

    Fire931 Well-Known Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Member:
    #12687
    Messages:
    3,244
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    00 4Runner
    i removed the led on mine when i was in there changing the instrument colors.... hehe
     
  7. May 21, 2009 at 6:20 PM
    #7
    cntmdc

    cntmdc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Member:
    #16721
    Messages:
    235
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Pablo
    Delray Beach,Fl
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 "Super White"
    Undercover Toneau cover, Billet Grill, bug deflector,Fog light Mod,Nerf bars,17" TRD Sport wheels, stainless mirror covers,LED Guage cluster "Blue",SS Front Skid Plate,Custom "SOCKMONKEY" SR5 Decals, OEM TRD SS exhaust tip,shorty antenna,Clarion DVD Head unit,Bilstein 5100's Front shocks,Toytec 2"AAL,Custom Racing Stripe hood,roof & tail gate
    I had the same issue where I changed my factory tires/wheels to the factory TRD sport wheels but they didn't have the sensors,so I bought aftermarkets and can't seem toprogram them without going to the dealer to do it. My local dealer refuses to even look at them because they are not theirs (Toyota). The next dealer stated that they would look them but would charge me 2-3 hours labor @$70.00 hr. to set them up and they can't guarantee that they could reset the CPU with the serial #'s (50/50 chance). I think I might just change the color of my dash lights and just remove the bulb altogether. :cool:
     
  8. May 21, 2009 at 6:26 PM
    #8
    TRDPyrite09

    TRDPyrite09 function & form

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Member:
    #16069
    Messages:
    129
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Pyrite Mica TRD Sport DC SB 4x4
    check my sig for mod list and build thread
    search TPMS in the tacoma forum on toyotanation.com. there are many different solutions to this.

    one i know of is to buy a small piece of pvc pipe and 2 end caps. then install an air nozzle on one end cap. place all 4 sensors inside, seal it up, and then pressurize the pipe. you have to store the piece somewhere inside the truck. there are other ways around it though.
     
  9. May 21, 2009 at 6:33 PM
    #9
    ilg

    ilg VanCity Taco.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Member:
    #16835
    Messages:
    648
    Gender:
    Male
    BC, Canada
    Vehicle:
    09 MGM TRD O/R 4x4 6-Spd
    WeatherTechs, Yellow Fogs, Alpine X-100 iPod Stereo, Custom Seat Covers, Debadged, Locking Bed Compartments, Black Front Toyota Emblem, AVS Vent Visors, Colour Matched Grill, TRD Shift Knob, Eagle Alloy 187s in 16x8 wrapped in 265/75/R16 Goodyear Wrangler Duratracs, Black Chrome TRD Badge on Tailgate, Black Rear Bumper, 8 in shorty antenna, 5100s @ 2.5.
    Wow thats just crazy. Seems like a lot of work just to get a light on the dash to go out. But maybe its less work then it seems.
     
  10. May 21, 2009 at 6:34 PM
    #10
    Hardcorehehaw

    Hardcorehehaw 1 man wolf pack

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Member:
    #13262
    Messages:
    481
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Evan
    Vehicle:
    09 Magnetic Gray PreRunner
    Debadged, 20" Liquid Metal Magmas, Yokohama Parada Spec x 285/50/20, Llumar clear bra, Fold-A-Cover G4, Weathertech liners, Wet Okole seat covers, JBS technologies keyless entry keypad.
    Yea that sounds silly, if you have the sensors, why not just put them in the tire?
     
  11. May 21, 2009 at 6:36 PM
    #11
    bigbuckit@yahoo.com

    bigbuckit@yahoo.com Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17507
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Isn't it basically just a "switch"? Normally open or normally closed. Close the "switch" or open the "switch". (air pressure either making the switch or breaking the switch):)
     
  12. May 21, 2009 at 6:52 PM
    #12
    DeeKay21

    DeeKay21 Lieutenant Dan.

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Member:
    #10651
    Messages:
    14,188
    Gender:
    Male
    Nevada/Utah
    Vehicle:
    06' TRD Sport 4x4
    I also have 18" aftermarket wheels and the shop just swapped them over from the stock ones.;)
     
  13. May 21, 2009 at 7:39 PM
    #13
    cntmdc

    cntmdc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Member:
    #16721
    Messages:
    235
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Pablo
    Delray Beach,Fl
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 "Super White"
    Undercover Toneau cover, Billet Grill, bug deflector,Fog light Mod,Nerf bars,17" TRD Sport wheels, stainless mirror covers,LED Guage cluster "Blue",SS Front Skid Plate,Custom "SOCKMONKEY" SR5 Decals, OEM TRD SS exhaust tip,shorty antenna,Clarion DVD Head unit,Bilstein 5100's Front shocks,Toytec 2"AAL,Custom Racing Stripe hood,roof & tail gate
    Mine went from steel wheels to the alloy and the angle of the sensors wouldn't work.
     
  14. May 21, 2009 at 8:52 PM
    #14
    P. Bauer

    P. Bauer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Member:
    #9496
    Messages:
    162
    Gender:
    Male
    San Jose
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma 4x4 TRD Off-Road
    TRD S/C :: Intake Camburg SwayAway Magnaflow American Racing Donahoe Racing Wheelers OffRoad
    Very easy to do, remove the HVAC knobs and gently pry the HVAC panel out. Disconnect the two wiring harnesses connected to the HVAC panel. Reach your hand in there and disconnect the harness that connects to the back of the horizontal metal case, has a yellow sticker on it and is covered by a plastic protective sheet.

    No more light.
     
  15. May 21, 2009 at 9:10 PM
    #15
    gjbonner

    gjbonner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Member:
    #10420
    Messages:
    1,286
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Guy
    Northern Idaho
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma Off Road TRD
    Rhino Lined exterior,Fab Tech 6", 1.25" SpiderTrax spacers, Wheels painted Rustoleum Hammered Black, All Pro front plate bumper, Warn 9.5 ti winch, BHLM, Cig lighter constant on, Door beep toggle switch, Locker mod, Lock/unlock beeper Mod, Rear tailights smoked, 750w inverter with the outlets and on/off switch wired to rear of the console, Blacked out badges, blacked out rear bumper.
    COuld you ellaborate more...What is the HVAC and HVAC panel and where are the knobs located. does the harnes only affect the light or other things too?
     
  16. May 21, 2009 at 9:12 PM
    #16
    DeeKay21

    DeeKay21 Lieutenant Dan.

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Member:
    #10651
    Messages:
    14,188
    Gender:
    Male
    Nevada/Utah
    Vehicle:
    06' TRD Sport 4x4
    HVAC= Heating. Ventilation. Air Conditioning.
     
  17. May 21, 2009 at 9:24 PM
    #17
    AZsand

    AZsand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Member:
    #16387
    Messages:
    193
    Gender:
    Male
    mine's on all the time....it reminds me of the 33s i run on...
     
  18. May 21, 2009 at 9:26 PM
    #18
    P. Bauer

    P. Bauer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Member:
    #9496
    Messages:
    162
    Gender:
    Male
    San Jose
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma 4x4 TRD Off-Road
    TRD S/C :: Intake Camburg SwayAway Magnaflow American Racing Donahoe Racing Wheelers OffRoad
    Remove the three knobs by pulling them straight back. Next, use a small flat head screwdriver and gently pry the bottom edge of the A/C control piece until you can grab it and gently pull the faceplate off (held on with clips, won't break). Unplug both wire harness plugs and then use a flashlight and locate the silver ECU (looks like a big deck of cards) laying horizontal dead center under the A/C area. The plug is in the back, hard to get to, but can be done. Once unplugged, the TPMS light should go out.

    My 2006 has been unplugged like this since mile 1001, now on 63K miles. Been to the dealer 3 times for transmission replacement, no problems whatsoever.

    [​IMG]
     
  19. May 21, 2009 at 9:32 PM
    #19
    P. Bauer

    P. Bauer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Member:
    #9496
    Messages:
    162
    Gender:
    Male
    San Jose
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma 4x4 TRD Off-Road
    TRD S/C :: Intake Camburg SwayAway Magnaflow American Racing Donahoe Racing Wheelers OffRoad
  20. May 21, 2009 at 9:36 PM
    #20
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,111
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    33's has nothing to do w/ it....i've got 33's on wheelers rims and my light will go away as soon as i go to th dealer and get my TPMS flashed to the new/old sensors. when i got the 09, i took my wheels and tires off my 07 and TPMS were in the rims...so i've had the light since like mile 20 and i'm on almost 13k now
     
To Top