1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

tire pressure light question??

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by tacoma74, Feb 28, 2008.

  1. Feb 28, 2008 at 10:41 PM
    #1
    tacoma74

    tacoma74 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Member:
    #3897
    Messages:
    3
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma SR5
    just lifted my 06 tacoma with 6" suspesion and 3" body lift and put 35 mickeys thompson baja claws on it. now my tire pressure light goes on for a little while and then turns off and does it over and ever again. is there any way to prevent it from going on again???
     
  2. Feb 28, 2008 at 11:31 PM
    #2
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    27,113
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    well...u can make sure all the pressures are good...and if u really want to stop it, u can have the sensors reset to accomidate (sp) the new psi that ur running

    and also make sure that the spare has good pressure....if u still have one that is
     
  3. Feb 29, 2008 at 12:18 PM
    #3
    mmatheny

    mmatheny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Member:
    #4818
    Messages:
    144
    Gender:
    Male
    Dickinson, Tx
    Vehicle:
    DC PreRunner SR5
    Popn'Lock, RollBak hard tonneau cover, DTRL mod
    How does the tire pressure monitoring system work?? (technical)
     
  4. Feb 29, 2008 at 12:45 PM
    #4
    Roland

    Roland My other ride has sails

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Member:
    #4149
    Messages:
    2,406
    Gender:
    Male
    Rhode Island
    Vehicle:
    06 Impulse Red I4 2WD Access Cab
    UnderCover Tonneau, Bed mat, Bug Deflector, aFe Pro Dry S, Secondary Air Filter removed, Synthetic 5W-30 oil, Scanguage II with blendmount, WeatherTech floorliners, Toyota seat covers, Installed OEM intermittent wipers, TacomaWorld sticker, Defrost without AC mod, Hidden Hitch
    In short each tire including the spare has a pressure sensor that sends a radio signal to the truck. When any of the sensors send a result lower than a few PSI below what the truck is expecting it sets off the warning light. (low technical)
     
  5. Feb 29, 2008 at 12:53 PM
    #5
    mmatheny

    mmatheny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Member:
    #4818
    Messages:
    144
    Gender:
    Male
    Dickinson, Tx
    Vehicle:
    DC PreRunner SR5
    Popn'Lock, RollBak hard tonneau cover, DTRL mod
    Are they battery powered, or RF activated?
     
  6. Feb 29, 2008 at 1:22 PM
    #6
    Roland

    Roland My other ride has sails

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Member:
    #4149
    Messages:
    2,406
    Gender:
    Male
    Rhode Island
    Vehicle:
    06 Impulse Red I4 2WD Access Cab
    UnderCover Tonneau, Bed mat, Bug Deflector, aFe Pro Dry S, Secondary Air Filter removed, Synthetic 5W-30 oil, Scanguage II with blendmount, WeatherTech floorliners, Toyota seat covers, Installed OEM intermittent wipers, TacomaWorld sticker, Defrost without AC mod, Hidden Hitch
    I can't remember where I read it but I think it is battery powered with an expected 10 year life.... But I've been wrong before.
     
  7. Feb 29, 2008 at 1:32 PM
    #7
    j4x4ar3

    j4x4ar3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Member:
    #4725
    Messages:
    416
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jay
    Austin, TX
    Vehicle:
    05 DC 4x4 - TRD Off Road - White
    Round Step Bars, Bed Mat, Cargo Bars w/Thules ski and bike attachments, JVC MP3 Head Unit, TRD Cat Back Exhaust, roadmaster active rear suspension, more when $$$ allows
    I know the TP system is different than on some other Toyota vehicles but I don't think it actually senses the real pressure in the tire but more the rotation speed. I could be wrong. HOWEVER you should have a button that allows you to reset the TP monitor which basically tells the truck that what it's currently got is the baseline and it monitors from there.
     
  8. Feb 29, 2008 at 1:44 PM
    #8
    Roland

    Roland My other ride has sails

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Member:
    #4149
    Messages:
    2,406
    Gender:
    Male
    Rhode Island
    Vehicle:
    06 Impulse Red I4 2WD Access Cab
    UnderCover Tonneau, Bed mat, Bug Deflector, aFe Pro Dry S, Secondary Air Filter removed, Synthetic 5W-30 oil, Scanguage II with blendmount, WeatherTech floorliners, Toyota seat covers, Installed OEM intermittent wipers, TacomaWorld sticker, Defrost without AC mod, Hidden Hitch
    I know that on at least the 06 and up it measures actual pressure. The spare is the most likely tire to read low because no one remembers get under there to add air to it. I know it scared the heck out of me when the low pressure light came on while I was on the highway heading to work.
     
  9. Mar 2, 2008 at 8:27 PM
    #9
    tacoma74

    tacoma74 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Member:
    #3897
    Messages:
    3
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma SR5
    jhodge83 how do i reset the sensor? do i have to get the ecu tuned for that?
     
  10. Mar 2, 2008 at 8:29 PM
    #10
    tacoma74

    tacoma74 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Member:
    #3897
    Messages:
    3
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma SR5
    thanks 4 da info everybody....
     
  11. Mar 2, 2008 at 8:37 PM
    #11
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Lead, follow, or get the hell o Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,351
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '13 Silverado ext cab
    you may actually have to have the dealer reset it for you. pushing the button under the dash usually works, but with the way your light comes/goes, im not really sure.
     
  12. Mar 3, 2008 at 2:30 PM
    #12
    Dutch

    Dutch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Member:
    #4609
    Messages:
    155
    Gender:
    Male
    Wilmington, NC
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 Taco
    I had the same problem with mine. The TPMS seems like a good idea for the person that rarely checks or cannot properly check their own tire pressure. I disconnected mine after the tires and lift. The TPMS ecu is behind the dash and requires a lot of work to get to it. You can just unplug it, but then you still have to override the indicator lamp. Nothing too hard and no special tools required.
     
  13. Mar 3, 2008 at 2:34 PM
    #13
    rick

    rick `

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Member:
    #993
    Messages:
    2,477
    Gender:
    Male
    new rims?
     
  14. Mar 3, 2008 at 2:38 PM
    #14
    Roland

    Roland My other ride has sails

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Member:
    #4149
    Messages:
    2,406
    Gender:
    Male
    Rhode Island
    Vehicle:
    06 Impulse Red I4 2WD Access Cab
    UnderCover Tonneau, Bed mat, Bug Deflector, aFe Pro Dry S, Secondary Air Filter removed, Synthetic 5W-30 oil, Scanguage II with blendmount, WeatherTech floorliners, Toyota seat covers, Installed OEM intermittent wipers, TacomaWorld sticker, Defrost without AC mod, Hidden Hitch
    There are instructions on how to set it in the owners manual. I don't remember the exact steps and don't want to steer you wrong by guessing.... I also don't want to walk out to my truck to look it up. :D
     
  15. Mar 3, 2008 at 2:51 PM
    #15
    evile

    evile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Member:
    #1290
    Messages:
    573
    Gender:
    Male
    Orlando, Fl
    Vehicle:
    2006 DoubleCab TRD OffRoad PreRunner
    Bug shield vent visors Westin Chrome bull bar K&N Airfilter Pioneer CD/MP3/Ipod/DVD head unit KC Daylighters, LED map and dome lights, secondary airfilter removed. Black tube steps, 110v outlet in cab
    you have to set the tire pressures to what ever the door sticker says any thing else will cause the light to come on.

    to reset the light it usually involves using a special tool that the dealer will have. certain type of sensors are mounted inside the tire called rim mounted these take a special tool to train, others are valve stem type these take a round magnet to train

    trust me on this guy im a professional :)
     
  16. Mar 3, 2008 at 3:14 PM
    #16
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    27,113
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    my door said 29psi in all 5 for mine...but my 4 mains are running 35psi and my spare is still at 29psi and stock...
     
  17. Mar 3, 2008 at 3:50 PM
    #17
    Roland

    Roland My other ride has sails

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Member:
    #4149
    Messages:
    2,406
    Gender:
    Male
    Rhode Island
    Vehicle:
    06 Impulse Red I4 2WD Access Cab
    UnderCover Tonneau, Bed mat, Bug Deflector, aFe Pro Dry S, Secondary Air Filter removed, Synthetic 5W-30 oil, Scanguage II with blendmount, WeatherTech floorliners, Toyota seat covers, Installed OEM intermittent wipers, TacomaWorld sticker, Defrost without AC mod, Hidden Hitch
    OK Here it is from the 2006 tacoma owners manual.

    To initialize the system perform the following:

    1. Park the vehicle at a safe place and apply the parking brake. Stop the engine.

    2. Adjust the pressure of all the installed tires (including the spare) to the specified level.

    3. Turn the ignition key to "ON".

    4. Push and hold the reset switch until the low tire pressure warning light blinks three times.


    There is a notice as follows:

    Do not push the reset switch without adjusting the tire inflation to the specified level. Otherwise, the low pressure warning light may not come on even if the tire pressure is low, or it may come on when the tire inflation pressure is actually normal.

    _____________________________________________
    Quotes over

    The TPWS sets whatever pressure the five individual sensors are reading when you reset the system as correct. If you reset the system and you only have 20 PSI in one of your tires the truck will consider that to be correct and not display a low pressure warning until the tire would be almost flat. Also if you have a pressure of 45 PSI in a tire the system would end up displaying a low pressure warning when that tire would get down to about 35ish PSI. Yes I'm using extremes for my examples.
     
  18. Mar 3, 2008 at 4:00 PM
    #18
    evile

    evile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Member:
    #1290
    Messages:
    573
    Gender:
    Male
    Orlando, Fl
    Vehicle:
    2006 DoubleCab TRD OffRoad PreRunner
    Bug shield vent visors Westin Chrome bull bar K&N Airfilter Pioneer CD/MP3/Ipod/DVD head unit KC Daylighters, LED map and dome lights, secondary airfilter removed. Black tube steps, 110v outlet in cab
    then your light is probably on i think its +/- 3psi
     
  19. Mar 3, 2008 at 4:05 PM
    #19
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    27,113
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    nah...my light hasnt been on at all. and when the dealer installed the new rubber, they didnt recalibrate them.
     
  20. Mar 4, 2008 at 9:16 AM
    #20
    SteelCity

    SteelCity Wherever I May Roam

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Member:
    #3921
    Messages:
    210
    Gender:
    Male
    Charleston, SC
    Vehicle:
    06 Radiant Rd DC LB PreRunner SR5 V6
    Optima Red/Stinger Terms, DT Headers, Empire O2 sim, Bluetooth, USASpec PA12TOY, Redline Struts, Extang Tonneu, OEM Bed Mat/front Skid/Roof Rack, Grillcraft Grille, Susp TSB, Toytec 1/2" front spacers, Raammat/Ensolite, Sony GTs, Curt Hitch, Tranny cooler, Wet Okoles, AFE Pro-Dry Drop in, Muth Sig Mirrors, Temp/Comp RVM, Silverstar HLs/Fogs, Royal Purple Diff/PS Fluid, Detroit Truetrac LSD, Hellwig rear sway bar, SG II, Filter Mag, 265/75/16 Nitto TGs
    There is a thread on either TN or Custom Tacos to disable / bypass the whole system. I tried to pull up TN, but the site is down right now. Access to bypass it is done by removing the glove box to get to the harness. The guy who did the mod also made it so it can be reversed if needed. I haven't had any issues with mine yet, but if I do I'm going to disable it.
     
To Top