1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

tire pressure sensor (spare?)

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas' started by little red, Oct 8, 2011.

  1. Oct 8, 2011 at 3:02 AM
    #1
    little red

    little red [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Member:
    #57460
    Messages:
    128
    Gender:
    Male
    Central GA
    Vehicle:
    PreRunner SR5
    I have been told my 2006 tacoma has the 5 tire monitor system that monitors all four tires on the truck as well as the spare. My question is how does this system work. I don't see any wires going to the spare tire area. (I know the tires are not plugged into any wires but something has to relay the pressure from the sensor in the wheel to the warning light)
     
  2. Oct 8, 2011 at 4:20 AM
    #2
    tcBob

    tcBob Gringo Bandito Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Member:
    #1
    Messages:
    8,192
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    07 PreRunner SR5 V6 Black
    it operates wirelessly by radio frequency (RF)
     
  3. Oct 8, 2011 at 4:21 AM
    #3
    greenmonstah

    greenmonstah The greenmonstah

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Member:
    #64495
    Messages:
    387
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Andy
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2010 Black & Green
    18's projector headlight hid 10k fogs smoked out hid 10k LED's everywhere
    most places will inform you if them and ask if you want to keep them or add them in your next set of tires/rims.
     
  4. Oct 8, 2011 at 4:56 AM
    #4
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    8,279
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    From the FSM
    The 06s did have them in the spare. I ended dropping my spare & flipping it over to make check tire pressure easier. It will trigger the light on occasion.
    The system takes up to a max 5 codes. The sensors have id numbers that get registered in the system. The docs explain that.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Oct 8, 2011 at 9:50 AM
    #5
    aficianado

    aficianado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Member:
    #25015
    Messages:
    5,081
    Gender:
    Male
    bay area, california
    Vehicle:
    2006 access cab. 4x4, TRD-OR
    OME lift. 884 coils, 1.5" AAL's installed on nonTSB leafs. front diff drop kit.
    the wires are invisible.
     
  6. Oct 8, 2011 at 9:59 AM
    #6
    Tigahshark

    Tigahshark Senior NEWBIE

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Member:
    #61688
    Messages:
    8,289
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Isaac
    On a volcano, literally!
    Vehicle:
    2011 DC TRD off road 4X4
    Tint Weathertech floor liner, weathertech window visor Roll n lock tonneau cover Rubber bed mat Smoked license plate covers
    I didnt even know we had this!
     
  7. Oct 9, 2011 at 3:28 AM
    #7
    little red

    little red [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Member:
    #57460
    Messages:
    128
    Gender:
    Male
    Central GA
    Vehicle:
    PreRunner SR5
    I'm glad you told me that because I was tempted to turn mine over to make it easier to check and fill. I don't want the light to keep coming on so I may go to plan B. They make extensions that can be hooked up to the valve stem and dropped down through the wheel so you can get to it. (I have seen them on trucks with dual rear wheels to you can get to the inside tire)
     
  8. Aug 14, 2012 at 8:05 PM
    #8
    FTL911

    FTL911 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Member:
    #47057
    Messages:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    06 PreDblCabTRDSport
    You guys are great!!!
    I am running all around checking all my tires and figuring I have a faulty sensor in one of my tires, since my dash sensor is illuminated. I never stopped to think about the spare. Thanks for solving my problem, fellas.
     
  9. Aug 14, 2012 at 8:32 PM
    #9
    OffroadToy

    OffroadToy The dog did it...I swear!

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Member:
    #22680
    Messages:
    5,060
    Gender:
    Male
    High Desert... land of junipers, sage brush, and l
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD OFFROAD 4x4 VSC/TRAC/DAC/HAC
    snugtop supersport canopy, black westin bullbar/tube steps, piaa offroad lights, weathertech floor mats, oem bed mat, trd seat covers, avs inchannel vent visors, 2" suspension lift, front diff drop, rear differential breather extension, oil filter drain hose, a/c drain hose extention & reroute, front window tint, cat theft protection plate, tailgate clamp mod, xpel headlight/foglight protecters, oem block heater, bfg 265/75R/16 a/t k/o's, cabin air rodent protection screen, rcbs illuminated 4X4 switch mod
    From what i understand the tpms sensors have batteries that need replacement after around 7 years. Anyone had theirs replaced yet and how much did it cost?
     
  10. Aug 14, 2012 at 9:10 PM
    #10
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,493
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    Sensors are anywhere from $75 to $200 each depending on where you buy them.

    Batteries are not technically replaceable.
    It can be done, but not with OTC batteries.

    Buy 5 new sensors, write down the serial numbers, have them installed, inflate the tires, and someone with a techstream will need to register the new serial numbers with your ECU.


    You can thank our nanny government and Ford's erroneous inflation recommendations on a SUV tire for this. This Federal requirement is a direct result of the Explorer/Firestone tire failure issue.
     
  11. Aug 14, 2012 at 9:18 PM
    #11
    92dlxman

    92dlxman drinking whats on sale

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Member:
    #81250
    Messages:
    1,450
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Visalia, CA
    Vehicle:
    08 access 4x4 4.0 6-gear
    5100s, ome884s, wheelers aal kit, and some rustoleum
    jeez rich, that sucks! i didnt know they were so expensive. didnt know it was a direct result of the ford/firestone thing either. another reason to make fun of my friends i guess. gotta love ammunition.

    i've heard rumors of a dissableing code that can be done to get rid of that light. is this true?

    i really dont mind the system too much though, as long as it works. . . .i dreaded it when i bought it, but then again im prone to hating anything government mandated
     
  12. Aug 15, 2012 at 8:31 AM
    #12
    OffroadToy

    OffroadToy The dog did it...I swear!

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Member:
    #22680
    Messages:
    5,060
    Gender:
    Male
    High Desert... land of junipers, sage brush, and l
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD OFFROAD 4x4 VSC/TRAC/DAC/HAC
    snugtop supersport canopy, black westin bullbar/tube steps, piaa offroad lights, weathertech floor mats, oem bed mat, trd seat covers, avs inchannel vent visors, 2" suspension lift, front diff drop, rear differential breather extension, oil filter drain hose, a/c drain hose extention & reroute, front window tint, cat theft protection plate, tailgate clamp mod, xpel headlight/foglight protecters, oem block heater, bfg 265/75R/16 a/t k/o's, cabin air rodent protection screen, rcbs illuminated 4X4 switch mod
    About the time the batteries/sensors need replacement is when i'll be putting something over the dash to cover the light. I refuse to spend that kind of money on something i can easily do with a $5 tire gauge.
     
  13. Aug 15, 2012 at 3:10 PM
    #13
    Crom

    Crom Time is precious; use it wisely

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Member:
    #18782
    Messages:
    4,204
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mr. Sir
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Double Cab 4x4 Off Road
    A.R.E. MX Shell & Yakima Rack, Stubbs HD-SKO Rock Sliders, JBA UCA's & OME 885 Coils and nitrochargers, Dakar leaf packs, u-bolt flip, Flat BajaRack, Kenwood VHF/UHF Radio, Aux Battery, Solar Panels, L-Track everywhere, Goodyear Duratracs, Secured tailgate, 7-pin relocation, Inverter 400W all time, In-cab 110v outlets, Rear-seat 12v outlets., Steering shaft TSB, anytime fogs, DTRL toggle switch, aux turn signals, Diff Breather, ImMrYo mirror bracket, ABS Kill switch, (2) Kid Car Seats, and a Glock 23 with night sights.
    wonderful news about the non-serviceable-proprietary batteries. :rolleyes:
     
  14. Aug 15, 2012 at 5:46 PM
    #14
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,493
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    The batteries aren't proprietary... they are basically standard CR3023 type lithium cell with solder-tabs welded on.
    They are available, just not from Walgreens.

    The units can be taken apart and the batteries replaced, but there is the risk of damaging the unit during disassembly.
     
  15. Aug 15, 2012 at 8:21 PM
    #15
    Fury

    Fury Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Member:
    #72221
    Messages:
    84
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi all.

    The spare was dropped from the TPWS on the 2009 MY.

    To access the spare's valve, drop it down a bit and rotate the spare so the valve faces straight back (then lift it back up). The valve can then be easily reached to both check the pressure and fill if necessary, without flipping the spare to the incorrect position.

    Cheers
    Ray.
     
  16. Aug 15, 2012 at 8:24 PM
    #16
    SOSHeloPilot

    SOSHeloPilot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Member:
    #15422
    Messages:
    2,673
    Gender:
    Male
    Atlanta
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCSB, TRD-OR - Traded In on a Ridgeline
    Finally, got my "first 4x4" in a Tacoma. Barcelona Red w/ JBL & Entune - Then traded it in on a Ridgeline.
    .
    . Sub'd
    .
     
  17. Aug 15, 2012 at 8:30 PM
    #17
    zackn291

    zackn291 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Member:
    #84689
    Messages:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zack
    Princeton, Ontario
    Vehicle:
    '05 Taco TRD
    Bilstein 5100 set at 2.5", 2" AAL, Fog light mod.
    I work at Chrysler and deal with TPMS all the time. One thing alot of people do is they say "I just checked my tire pressure, inflated the tires and the light is still on". Well if you inflate the tires too much it will set a code and the TPMS light will come on. Make sure you look at the door sticker and go by what it recommends and USE A GAUGE. Just my 2 cents as a tech dealing with it all the time lol
     
  18. Aug 15, 2012 at 8:35 PM
    #18
    KenLyns

    KenLyns Lord of War

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Member:
    #37674
    Messages:
    20,632
    Gender:
    Male
    Belly of the Beast
    Vehicle:
    4x4 TRD Off Road Full-Auto
    All-Pro Front Bumper, All-Pro UCAs, Icon ET Coilovers, Icon VS Rear Shocks, TSB Leafs, Timbren Bumpstops, CBI Sliders, ViAir Compressor, Klearz LED 3rd Brake Light, Pop-N-Lock Tailgate Handle, Husky Front Flaps, Deeza HD Sway Bar Links
    From the owner's manual:

    When the light comes on: Low tire inflation pressure.

    When the light stays on after blinking for 1 minute: Malfunction in the tire pressure warning system.
     
  19. Aug 15, 2012 at 10:13 PM
    #19
    Crom

    Crom Time is precious; use it wisely

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Member:
    #18782
    Messages:
    4,204
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mr. Sir
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Double Cab 4x4 Off Road
    A.R.E. MX Shell & Yakima Rack, Stubbs HD-SKO Rock Sliders, JBA UCA's & OME 885 Coils and nitrochargers, Dakar leaf packs, u-bolt flip, Flat BajaRack, Kenwood VHF/UHF Radio, Aux Battery, Solar Panels, L-Track everywhere, Goodyear Duratracs, Secured tailgate, 7-pin relocation, Inverter 400W all time, In-cab 110v outlets, Rear-seat 12v outlets., Steering shaft TSB, anytime fogs, DTRL toggle switch, aux turn signals, Diff Breather, ImMrYo mirror bracket, ABS Kill switch, (2) Kid Car Seats, and a Glock 23 with night sights.
    Thank you for elaborating on this. Personally, I'd take a stab at repairing them should the need ever arise.
     
  20. Aug 16, 2012 at 5:36 AM
    #20
    geoff7877

    geoff7877 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73482
    Messages:
    289
    Gender:
    Male
    Petaluma, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 SR5 4X4 Double Cab
    So, I've heard that the TPMS sensors can be reset to read at a lower PSI by holding down a button located under the steering column. My steelie sensors didn't fit my new wheels. Can I reset the with "0" PSI and get rid the light? Just a thought.

    Sorry for the side track. ;)
     
To Top