1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

tire pressure sensor (spare?)

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas' started by little red, Oct 8, 2011.

  1. Aug 16, 2012 at 9:54 AM
    #21
    KenLyns

    KenLyns Lord of War

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Member:
    #37674
    Messages:
    20,372
    Gender:
    Male
    Belly of the Beast
    Vehicle:
    4x4 TRD Off Road Full-Auto
    All-Pro Front Bumper, All-Pro UCAs, Icon ET Coilovers, Icon VS Rear Shocks, TSB Leafs, Timbren Bumpstops, CBI Sliders, ViAir Compressor, Klearz LED 3rd Brake Light, Pop-N-Lock Tailgate Handle, Husky Front Flaps, Deeza HD Sway Bar Links
    I think the button simply changes the TPMS ECU warning threshold, in case you change to a different type of tire that requires a different normal operating pressure. There may be a "floor" in the ECU logic that won't set the threshold below, say, 10 psi. I think the sensor always gives an absolute pressure value, because some cars can display the pressure in each tire numerically in the dash, in addition to the caution light.
     
  2. Aug 16, 2012 at 9:55 AM
    #22
    KenLyns

    KenLyns Lord of War

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Member:
    #37674
    Messages:
    20,372
    Gender:
    Male
    Belly of the Beast
    Vehicle:
    4x4 TRD Off Road Full-Auto
    All-Pro Front Bumper, All-Pro UCAs, Icon ET Coilovers, Icon VS Rear Shocks, TSB Leafs, Timbren Bumpstops, CBI Sliders, ViAir Compressor, Klearz LED 3rd Brake Light, Pop-N-Lock Tailgate Handle, Husky Front Flaps, Deeza HD Sway Bar Links
    What's riskier, replacing the battery in a TPMS sensor, or replacing the battery in an iPhone? :D
     
  3. Aug 16, 2012 at 12:24 PM
    #23
    FTL911

    FTL911 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Member:
    #47057
    Messages:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    06 PreDblCabTRDSport
    Thank you Ken, I didn't see that...Apparently after inflating what I thought was the problem tire; I found that I had over inflated the tire by 10 lbs (but only for an afternoon). My light was actually blinking and then stayed on.
    Now after bringing the tire pressure into spec and inflating the spare to the correct pressure. my issues have been resolved.

    With the next new tires I will be removing the TPMS from each wheel.
    The system is too costly to maintain and too stupid to continue to mess with.:mad:
     
  4. Aug 16, 2012 at 6:04 PM
    #24
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,496
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    No... they can be set within a certain range, but can't be set below, IIRC, 20 or 25psi.

    I have seen it recommended to deflate to 25psi, reset (and I think you need to drive for 15 miles or so), then reinflate to your normal 35-40 (or wherever you run) and you won't have to worry until you get down to 25, or there's a difference of more than 5psi between two tires.
     
  5. Aug 16, 2012 at 6:50 PM
    #25
    geoff7877

    geoff7877 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73482
    Messages:
    289
    Gender:
    Male
    Petaluma, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 SR5 4X4 Double Cab
    Thanks for the clarification. Knew it was a long shot but I thought it was at least worth asking.

    Cheers!
     
  6. Oct 22, 2012 at 12:41 AM
    #26
    RacerAV

    RacerAV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Member:
    #52049
    Messages:
    1,333
    Gender:
    Male
    OC, CA
    Vehicle:
    '09 DCSB4x4 (sold)
    there are only two types of the TPMS sensors right? the ones for the steel wheels and the ones for alloys? buying a used set, and don't remember the details i looked up a while back...
     
  7. Oct 22, 2012 at 4:07 AM
    #27
    Primersinmyshoe

    Primersinmyshoe Old Sheepdog

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Member:
    #38855
    Messages:
    746
    Gender:
    Male
    St. Louis, MO
    Vehicle:
    gray, shiny, dependable
    Glock 36, spare mag
    I have a 2010 AC SR5 and do not have a TPMS in the spare. I found out when I had a flat. The spare had never hit the ground and only had a couple pounds of air in it. I assumed it did have a TPMS - and you know what that means.
     
  8. Oct 22, 2012 at 6:43 PM
    #28
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,496
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    2009 or 2010, the spare TPMS sensor was deleted.
     
  9. Oct 22, 2012 at 6:46 PM
    #29
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,496
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    20 degree and 40 degree (I don't remember which is which).

    Buying online, there are different frequencies available... I'd stick with RockAuto.com if not buying from a Toyota dealer like Titus-Will or Toyota of Dallas.

    You will need to have your ECU programmed to read the new sending units. You can reportedly do this yourself with the $35 Techstream clone, or a decent tire shop should be able to do it for you.
    To do it yourself, you'll need the serial numbers from the sensors. The tire shop should be able to read them.
     
  10. Oct 23, 2012 at 6:00 AM
    #30
    edm3rd

    edm3rd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Member:
    #89550
    Messages:
    366
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Duke
    Memphis TN
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner AC 6sp
    hard tonneau,scangauge
    20 degree on aluminum, 40 degree on steel
     
  11. Oct 25, 2012 at 6:56 PM
    #31
    StanBo

    StanBo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Member:
    #39451
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Stan
    Central NJ
    Vehicle:
    10 DCLB - 98 XJ 93 RX7
    Would you be able to read the current sensor ID tags with the cable?

    Also thanks for all of the great info. I was considering going with the Ateq quickset device prior to reading about the Techstream cable.
     
  12. Oct 25, 2012 at 7:47 PM
    #32
    SOSHeloPilot

    SOSHeloPilot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Member:
    #15422
    Messages:
    2,673
    Gender:
    Male
    Atlanta
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCSB, TRD-OR - Traded In on a Ridgeline
    Finally, got my "first 4x4" in a Tacoma. Barcelona Red w/ JBL & Entune - Then traded it in on a Ridgeline.
    ... ^^^ ... Good question ... replaced a 3GS battery by myself a long time ago ... probably TPMS x 4 is riskier ... :D

    Just need a low wattage (fine tip) soldiering pencil to work on an iPhone battery.
    .
     
  13. Oct 25, 2012 at 8:01 PM
    #33
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,496
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    No... you can input them into the ECU, but the ECU won't read an unknown.
     
  14. Oct 27, 2012 at 9:39 AM
    #34
    StanBo

    StanBo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Member:
    #39451
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Stan
    Central NJ
    Vehicle:
    10 DCLB - 98 XJ 93 RX7
    Thanks for the heads up. I am considering the PVC mod to keep the sensors happy.
     
To Top