1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Tire Pressure Sensor

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by stotd, Dec 20, 2006.

  1. Dec 20, 2006 at 10:36 AM
    #1
    stotd

    stotd [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Member:
    #438
    Messages:
    9
    My tire pressure light came on shortly after driving it off the lot. The placard on the truck door says cold pressure 29 psi. Filled all tires to 30 and the light stays on. Any ideas???? Thanks
     
  2. Dec 20, 2006 at 6:54 PM
    #2
    06TRDsport

    06TRDsport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Member:
    #30
    Messages:
    383
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Bend, OR
    Vehicle:
    2007 F250 Diesel and 1999 4Runner
    Try reseting the light. While holding the reset button, turn the key on and wait for the TPMS light to flash three times. If that doesn't work take it back to your dealer.
     
  3. Dec 20, 2006 at 8:29 PM
    #3
    whporwil

    whporwil Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Member:
    #48
    Messages:
    11
    I got a thousand miles on mine before the light came on. We were told that only the dealer can reset it. Please tell us more if you know some thing, Thanks.
     
  4. Dec 21, 2006 at 5:00 AM
    #4
    RAPOM

    RAPOM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Member:
    #93
    Messages:
    85
    The owners manual tells how to reset it. What ever pressure you fill the tires to, reseting the sensor will monitor that pressure. Say if you were going to drive on the beach and want to run 15psi, you let out the air the reset the sensor and it will monitor that pressure. Just reset it evrey time you change the tire pressure. Also check your spare tire, it also has a sensor and will cause the light to blink indicating a variation in monitored pressure.
     
  5. Dec 22, 2006 at 8:05 PM
    #5
    whporwil

    whporwil Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Member:
    #48
    Messages:
    11
    Did every thing by the book, twice and I still have the light.
     
  6. Dec 24, 2006 at 1:14 PM
    #6
    tacomax

    tacomax Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Member:
    #244
    Messages:
    14
    not sure on the new tacomas with tpms but do they have a main and 2nd set button? maybe its on the 2nd? and the threshold is not set for main.. or...
    maybe they were not properly set during predelivery inspection? when they are initialized the threshold is set that if the air pressure hits that number the tpms lights up :confused:
    gauge psi minus absolute air pressure ...
    if not it may just have a bad sensor
    do these have tpms on the spare tire?? if so maybe that one is low?
    just throwing some stuff out there ...
     
  7. Dec 24, 2006 at 5:28 PM
    #7
    whporwil

    whporwil Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Member:
    #48
    Messages:
    11
    After you reset the system you need to wait awhile for the system to clear it's self. My light did not go out until the truck had warmed up and was driven down the road a few miles. BUT then my check engine light came on and has stayed on, back to the book.
     
  8. Jan 1, 2007 at 8:23 AM
    #8
    gerstoy

    gerstoy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Member:
    #623
    Messages:
    3
    Same thing happened to me about 1 month after purchase. Checked all four tires, one was at 28 and the others were all at 29. I kept incrementing up the pressure until I got to 35 and called BS! I was dreading a trip back to dealer (~60 mi.) and dug out the owners manual for some glimmer of hope. Book said check all tires including the spare (who woulda thought). I lowered the spare and lo and behold the pressure was at 23. Filled the spare and the light went out, then I readjusted pressures and haven't seen the light since.

    I also found checking the spare was good practice, because should you have to use it, the hole you plug the spare tire lowering thing into is not easy to hit. You definitely want to be packing a flashlight at all times just in case.
     
  9. Sep 9, 2008 at 7:55 AM
    #9
    JoeTacomaTRD06

    JoeTacomaTRD06 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Member:
    #9095
    Messages:
    2
    Enfield, CT
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tacoma Access Cab TRD
    You mean the set button? I don't see a reset button anywhere...Thanks in advance!
     
  10. Sep 9, 2008 at 3:10 PM
    #10
    mainerinexile

    mainerinexile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Member:
    #6529
    Messages:
    105
    Gender:
    Male
    central Maine
    Vehicle:
    2014 SR5 Access cab I4 4x4 5 spd
    FYI, I installed a 3 foot air hose extension from Ginosgarage.com that runs from the spare to the slot over the rear licence plate. Works great, I can air up the spare in 10 seconds, and no, it doesn't cause the TPMS to light up, as some posts have suggested. Cost: $6. I bought one for both vehicles.
     
  11. Sep 9, 2008 at 3:14 PM
    #11
    Agent475

    Agent475 "Mark It Zero"

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Member:
    #8829
    Messages:
    2,877
    Gender:
    Male
    Waldorf, MD
    Vehicle:
    2006 Red TRD Sport
    Hood Struts, 3" Tuff Country Lift, Shortie Antenna, WeatherTechs, Tinted front windows, custom TRD seat covers, custom pedals, debadged, custom USMC badging, quasi-functional hoodscoop (i.e. I cut it open), black front Yota emblem, Tailgate Theft-Prevention mod, Horn Relocation mod, Old Man Emu Carrier Bearing Drop, Brighter Backup Lights Mod, Smittybilt Reciever Hitch Tow Point, currently working on Satoshi Grill Mod
    I have done all of the above and it's BS - I hate that light. Looks like I am going to have to take it back to the dealer.
     
  12. Sep 9, 2008 at 4:33 PM
    #12
    JoeTacomaTRD06

    JoeTacomaTRD06 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Member:
    #9095
    Messages:
    2
    Enfield, CT
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tacoma Access Cab TRD
    Thanks!! Got the damn light off. I was messing around holding it, but I think the processed that worked was: While holding the button I: Turned the ignition on watched it blink 3 times, Then started the engine and watched it blink 3 times, then it went off.
     
  13. Sep 12, 2008 at 5:11 PM
    #13
    spp

    spp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Member:
    #442
    Messages:
    1,034
    Gender:
    Male
    You mean you READ the manual?;) Whenever in doubt RTFM:D
     
  14. Sep 12, 2008 at 5:26 PM
    #14
    Caddmannq

    Caddmannq MotoNerd

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Member:
    #8917
    Messages:
    424
    Gender:
    Male
    California
    Vehicle:
    PreRunner SR5 TRD Sport DC LB
    Undercover toneau
    The TPMS only lights up if the pressures fall too low, right? Does anything happen if a tire goes too high?
     
  15. Sep 12, 2008 at 5:34 PM
    #15
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    103,969
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    I heard that if it goes too high it turns on. I havent verified this.
     
  16. Jul 7, 2010 at 5:55 PM
    #16
    StanBo

    StanBo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Member:
    #39451
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Stan
    Central NJ
    Vehicle:
    10 DCLB - 98 XJ 93 RX7
    Might be bringing up an old thread but thanks for the heads up on this hose. I am going to order one today for my truck.
     
  17. Jun 16, 2011 at 12:05 PM
    #17
    DAN_FPC

    DAN_FPC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Member:
    #30238
    Messages:
    65
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Calgary
    Vehicle:
    09 Dbl Cab TRD
    My canadian model truck. the sensor light comes on with high pressure as well as low pressure. Not sure at the pressure, 40 psi high maybe?
     
  18. Jun 16, 2011 at 12:14 PM
    #18
    Mexicutioner

    Mexicutioner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Member:
    #55787
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joel
    Chula Vista, CA
    Vehicle:
    '10 4x4 TRD DCSB Off Road
    FRONT: Total Chaos 3.5 4x4 kit, Fox 2.5 x 8" coilovers REAR: Defined Engineering SUA kit, Fox 2.5 x 14" smooth bodies, Fox 2.0 x 4.0" bumps, American Motorsports bolt in bedcage MISC Mcneil Racing Inc Glass all around, Afe stage II cai, weathertech floormats, flowmaster 40, rigid led 30" combo, rigid dually reverse cargo lights, Bamf sliders, 1.25" spidertrax, 20% tint - front, 50% tint - rears AUDIO Alpine w910 headunit, Alpine 6.5" type r components in front, Alpine 6.5" type r coaxials in rear, 2 Alpine 10" type r shallow mount subs w/ custom box, JL Audio 900w 5 channel HD amp, steering controls & reverse camera integrated, Stinger Roadkill matted on entire interior
    not too long ago there was a recall for the tire sensors. dnt know the exact details but someone else on here might??
     
  19. Jun 16, 2011 at 5:41 PM
    #19
    David K

    David K Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Member:
    #18969
    Messages:
    8,975
    Gender:
    Male
    San Marcos, Alta California
    Vehicle:
    2010 4WD Off Road DC
    Differential Breather Mod Light Bar: 2 Hella 4000 HID, 1 Kragen HID, 1 Cibie Halogen.
    Isn't easier to just flip the spare over so the air valve can be accessed? My '05 spare came with the valve pointing down, but the '10 was not... So, when I did the diff. breather mod, I also flipped the spare.:eek:
     
  20. Jan 12, 2013 at 9:03 AM
    #20
    Konarider719

    Konarider719 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Member:
    #85838
    Messages:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Colorado Springs,Co.
    Vehicle:
    2008 Tacoma
    6" ProComp lift. More coming.
    Does anyone know how to just get rid of the light all together. I'm running 18" wheels and 33" tires, so I don't carry my spare under the bed of the truck.
     
To Top