1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Tire pressure sensors?

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by Jimrb71, Apr 16, 2017.

  1. Apr 16, 2017 at 6:28 PM
    #1
    Jimrb71

    Jimrb71 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Member:
    #216383
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jimmy
    Hello. I have a brand new 2017 Tacoma SR w/the stock steel wheels. I will be purchasing a set of 2017 upgraded factory alloys to replace the steel wheels. What needs to be done to make the pressure monitoring system right? Thanks!
     
  2. Apr 16, 2017 at 6:30 PM
    #2
    Blackshirts

    Blackshirts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Member:
    #32057
    Messages:
    4,141
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner-Totaled. 2016 SR5 Blue DC
    Stuff
    Welcome to TW

    Who doing the install? If a shop they will transfer them and reprogram.
     
  3. Apr 16, 2017 at 6:34 PM
    #3
    shakerhood

    shakerhood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Member:
    #161370
    Messages:
    19,702
    Gender:
    Male
    Southern Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2017 MGM DCSB Off Road, 6 Speed MT, P&T
    If I am not mistaken, I do not think the TPMS Sensors from Steel Wheels are compatible with Aluminum Wheels.
     
  4. Apr 16, 2017 at 6:40 PM
    #4
    Joe23

    Joe23 Canuckistikian

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Member:
    #165909
    Messages:
    10,701
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    The Great White North
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Off-road DCSB
    Check build thread
    ding ding ding ding ding
    we have a wiener


    lol
    yep steel TPMS won't work for alloy wheels. I just bought a set from toyota for my new wheels and ya they needed to know if it was alloy or steel as they are two different sensors.
     
    shakerhood likes this.
  5. Apr 16, 2017 at 6:42 PM
    #5
    BigEasy

    BigEasy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Member:
    #185706
    Messages:
    300
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    PNW
    Vehicle:
    2015 Toyota Tacoma Access cab
    Nada
    You are correct, and vice versa
     
    shakerhood likes this.
  6. Apr 16, 2017 at 7:49 PM
    #6
    Jimrb71

    Jimrb71 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Member:
    #216383
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jimmy
    OK. Thank y'all. So I'll need to purchase the sensors. From Toyota? Do they need to be programmed to the truck? I was going to have tire shop swap the wheels /tires.
     
  7. Apr 16, 2017 at 7:53 PM
    #7
    marinetaco

    marinetaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015
    Member:
    #169764
    Messages:
    92
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bobby
    Vehicle:
    2005 Tacoma TRD
    The sensors will work. You just need to rotate the sensor 180 degrees. Just have to be aware of that when you have the tires replaced or a flat repaired.
     
  8. Apr 16, 2017 at 8:06 PM
    #8
    BigEasy

    BigEasy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Member:
    #185706
    Messages:
    300
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    PNW
    Vehicle:
    2015 Toyota Tacoma Access cab
    Nada
    Mobiletron TPMS TX-S010 For Lexus/Scion/Subaru/Toyota 42607-30060, SU003-00754, 28103-CA000, 42607-06020, 42607-in 315MHz Tire Press https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N34RR7C/ref=cm_sw_r_other_apap_UJbXvU1hK3cBq
     
  9. Apr 17, 2017 at 5:22 AM
    #9
    7r41lbr34k3r

    7r41lbr34k3r @gmail

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Member:
    #196549
    Messages:
    2,238
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    Upper Perkiomen Valley, PA
    Vehicle:
    '17 SR w/ Conv. Pkg 2TR-FE 5MT 4x4 MGM
    You can either chance it with the factory steel sensors by flipping them 180 as mentioned above (they can break if you have a flat, or if not careful on install).

    Or, order four of these and steal the plastic caps from your original sensor stems to mount them. Many dealers will try to price gouge you a few hundy$ to reprogram the ECU, but $75 is the most reasonable I found after calling around.

    When I upgraded my wheels, it was extremely difficult to find a shop who knew how to work with configurable aftermarket sensors. Those can work, too ... but understand that it's going to take work finding a shop who can install them properly. It might be worth a call, as it's been 4 mos since I swapped over ... shops could be catching up to the newer model by now.
     
  10. Apr 17, 2017 at 8:57 AM
    #10
    cascadetaco

    cascadetaco Toyota Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Member:
    #207242
    Messages:
    377
    Gender:
    Male
    central oregon
    Vehicle:
    2017 SR 4cyl 4x4 5speed
    The shops around here didnt have a clue. I gave up and am running with the light on my dash for now. Maybe someday I can get some cloned sensors!
     
  11. Apr 17, 2017 at 8:59 AM
    #11
    Low Range Off-Road

    Low Range Off-Road Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Member:
    #156988
    Messages:
    180
  12. Apr 19, 2017 at 7:43 PM
    #12
    Harvo

    Harvo Hanging On !!!

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Member:
    #215586
    Messages:
    930
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    17' TRD Offroad DCSB
    SpiderTrax, RCI Sliders, Warn bumper, Smittybuilt winch, Ridge Grapplers...
    Do wheel spacers such as Spidertraxx effect the TPMS at all?
     
  13. Apr 19, 2017 at 7:49 PM
    #13
    SC4333

    SC4333 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Member:
    #11412
    Messages:
    2,671
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Grant
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Off-Road 4x4 DCSB
    No, they do not.
     
  14. Apr 19, 2017 at 9:13 PM
    #14
    Fire Arrow

    Fire Arrow Hanging out at work

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Member:
    #185861
    Messages:
    610
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    MD
    Vehicle:
    2016 Black DCSB SR
    The tire shop I went to wanted $25 to program 4 sensors.
     
  15. Apr 20, 2017 at 2:34 PM
    #15
    over60

    over60 Over70 & still a "Grumpy Old Guy"

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Member:
    #44995
    Messages:
    4,649
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Muskoka, Ontario
    Vehicle:
    2016 Inferno (Punkin) TRD 4X4 Sport DCLB w/upgrade & tech pkg..!!
    Toyota running boards/Solid Fold 2.0/custom stickers/Anti-Dark LED light under hood/Derped grill/Scoop, etc.
    Why spend hundreds of $ to get new sensors for your 2nd set of tires when all you need is a 3/4" round piece of black electrical tape and a tire gauge in your center consol..???? Makes NO freekin' sense to me at all. My tire gauge worked for 50 years..... Why do I need this TPMS now..??

    I changed to winter tires last fall...tape on dash... Checked the pressures a few times over winter...no big deal.. I figure I saved about $40.00 each time I checked the pressure...That's $10.00/tire..... Makes sense to me...

    Down with TPMS and driverless vehicles and cell phones while trying to drive...!!:angrygirl::angrygirl::angrygirl::angrygirl::angrygirl:
     
  16. Apr 24, 2017 at 1:33 PM
    #16
    motor-vater

    motor-vater Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Member:
    #211047
    Messages:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    The Schrader EZ Sensors work. Even though schrader doesn't admit or know it. The problem is the computer that most tire shops use doesnt have the gen 3 in there yet. My tire shop used a different computer to download the stock codes then just manually entered them into the Schraders and boom I have 2 sets of wheels fully interchangeable. Been working great for 3k miles so far!
     
  17. Nov 8, 2017 at 10:41 AM
    #17
    JasonCSU

    JasonCSU Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Member:
    #208715
    Messages:
    88
    Gender:
    Male
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    2017 DCSB 4x4 TRD OR 6MT
    This is exactly what I have been trying to find out myself. Do you know which model of Schrader sensors you used? Thanks.
     
  18. Nov 8, 2017 at 1:34 PM
    #18
    swimmer

    swimmer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Member:
    #153626
    Messages:
    2,520
    Gender:
    Male
    Tucson
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRDORAC4WD
    New sensors or swapping to different wheels? If the latter why would they need to be programmed?
     
  19. Nov 8, 2017 at 3:52 PM
    #19
    Fire Arrow

    Fire Arrow Hanging out at work

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Member:
    #185861
    Messages:
    610
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    MD
    Vehicle:
    2016 Black DCSB SR
    New sensors IIRC. It was quite awhile ago.
     
  20. Oct 24, 2018 at 4:08 PM
    #20
    LarsonFan

    LarsonFan Chip Ganassi Racing

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Member:
    #164581
    Messages:
    7,378
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Everett
    Olney 62450
    Vehicle:
    SSM, 2019 Tacoma SR, Access Cab, 4X2
    Think I'll run without sensors when I buy my new alloy wheels. I have some black touch up paint I can hide that yellow light on the dash.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top