1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Tire Pressure Sensors!

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by sdupp, Jan 27, 2007.

  1. Jan 27, 2007 at 7:46 AM
    #1
    sdupp

    sdupp [OP] SC Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Member:
    #767
    Messages:
    55
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    White 07 PreRunner Double Cab SR5
    I've reed several post regarding Tire Pressure Sensors. There seems to be a difference between the TRD wheels vs Steel wheels. I've read one sensor is 20 degrees and the other is 40. I was wondering has anyone actually tried taking them out of the steel wheels & putting them in the TRD Alloy wheels? One would think they might fit one way or the other. My luck you can move them from the TRD wheels to the Steel.. :confused:

    Thanks,, Stan
     
  2. Jan 27, 2007 at 10:37 AM
    #2
    Skies20

    Skies20 small town girl

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Member:
    #387
    Messages:
    145
    Morris, Connecticut
    Vehicle:
    2007 Acc. Cab SR5 V6 4x4--Black
    Westin chrome step bars Vent visors & bug guard Borla performance exhaust system Tundra tires & rims
    Yes, I asked this question some time ago, but no one had any answers. If anyone has had any experience with this, please respond. :help:
     
  3. Feb 11, 2007 at 5:31 AM
    #3
    Skies20

    Skies20 small town girl

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Member:
    #387
    Messages:
    145
    Morris, Connecticut
    Vehicle:
    2007 Acc. Cab SR5 V6 4x4--Black
    Westin chrome step bars Vent visors & bug guard Borla performance exhaust system Tundra tires & rims
    Well, I ended up finding out about this on my own. I bought a set of TRD rims along w/ some different tires, and it turns out Toyota will need to put new sensors in each rim, as the old ones will not fit. If they don't put in the new sensors, the TPM light will stay on constantly. The sensors themselves cost about $104 each! :( Hope this helps!
     
  4. Feb 11, 2007 at 8:13 AM
    #4
    sdupp

    sdupp [OP] SC Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Member:
    #767
    Messages:
    55
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    White 07 PreRunner Double Cab SR5
    Out of curiosity did you actually try this yourself or Did Toyota tell you it would Not work?
     
  5. Feb 11, 2007 at 12:23 PM
    #5
    Skies20

    Skies20 small town girl

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Member:
    #387
    Messages:
    145
    Morris, Connecticut
    Vehicle:
    2007 Acc. Cab SR5 V6 4x4--Black
    Westin chrome step bars Vent visors & bug guard Borla performance exhaust system Tundra tires & rims
    I brought the wheels to Toyota to have them put on, and they discovered it. They said they tried to fit the old sensors in the new wheels, but they would not fit.
     
  6. Feb 11, 2007 at 2:22 PM
    #6
    Ldytaco05

    Ldytaco05 it's all about me

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Member:
    #46
    Messages:
    1,157
    Gender:
    Female
    Orlando, Fl.
    Vehicle:
    2005 PreRunner,Enkei Wheels
    do these tire sensors really work out to your benefit? i know the 2005 models did not have these. do you have to go to the dealer everytime your tire needs to be replaced because of these sensors? quite costly don't you think?
     
  7. Feb 11, 2007 at 2:57 PM
    #7
    Skies20

    Skies20 small town girl

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Member:
    #387
    Messages:
    145
    Morris, Connecticut
    Vehicle:
    2007 Acc. Cab SR5 V6 4x4--Black
    Westin chrome step bars Vent visors & bug guard Borla performance exhaust system Tundra tires & rims
    No, it's not every time you change your tire, but if you change the rims you have on your truck. The tire pressure sensors are in the rims. It is costly, but most people aren't chaning their rims all the time. I guess the sensors could be a good thing, but I've never had a vehicle that has them.. and I've always been able to tell if I had a low/flat tire without some flashing light having to come on to tell me. :rolleyes:
     
  8. Feb 14, 2007 at 4:46 AM
    #8
    ducatista

    ducatista Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Member:
    #564
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    CAPTAIN CRAZY
    DALLAS TX & CLARKSDALE, MISSISSIPPI "THE CROSSROAD
    Vehicle:
    TACOMA X-SP
    EVERYTHING THAT I CAN AFFORD ! ESPECIALLY IF IT MAKES IT RUN BETTER &/or FASTER, STOP QUICKER AS WELL AS LOOKING GOOD @ THE SAME TIME.
    Listerines,

    Two different angles. But the alloy wheels all have the same angle.
    So... you can swap between FJ or Tundra OEMs and all TRD wheels.
    Also if you have a second set of wheels/tires you can use a second
    set of TPM units also. You must reset the code each time however.
    I got my second set of FREE, check your tire store or bodyshop ! !

    OWAF


    Andy
     
  9. Mar 13, 2007 at 6:32 PM
    #9
    Gorilla_97

    Gorilla_97 Once a gorilla always a gorilla

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Member:
    #1052
    Messages:
    371
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Thomas
    Fort Worth, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 FJC Black Diamond
    Andy - just to clarify...if I go from steel to alloy (FJ or TRD) I will need new sensors or move them from my steelies to the new rims? Just want to make sure before I spend any $$ to upgrade rims! Thanks.
     
  10. Mar 14, 2007 at 6:16 AM
    #10
    ducatista

    ducatista Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Member:
    #564
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    CAPTAIN CRAZY
    DALLAS TX & CLARKSDALE, MISSISSIPPI "THE CROSSROAD
    Vehicle:
    TACOMA X-SP
    EVERYTHING THAT I CAN AFFORD ! ESPECIALLY IF IT MAKES IT RUN BETTER &/or FASTER, STOP QUICKER AS WELL AS LOOKING GOOD @ THE SAME TIME.
    Yes, that's my experience. You can however just not use them at all.
    Some say TPMS light goes off after a while, others say it is on all the
    time. No idea either way about that. I went from Sport Aluminum rims
    to TRD (BBS) Aluminum wheels. Same angle, same sensor. I've been
    told by many others that the steelies are a different angle sensor.
    Can't say on that one way or another, just heresay heard here and TN.

    I hope this helps Gorilla_97

    OWAF


    Andy
     
  11. Mar 14, 2007 at 10:52 AM
    #11
    Skies20

    Skies20 small town girl

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Member:
    #387
    Messages:
    145
    Morris, Connecticut
    Vehicle:
    2007 Acc. Cab SR5 V6 4x4--Black
    Westin chrome step bars Vent visors & bug guard Borla performance exhaust system Tundra tires & rims
    Yes, that is correct. I went from the steel wheels to alloys and had to get new sensors. If you do not put the sensors in, your TPM light will be on constantly. Something to consider before buying new rims.
     
  12. Mar 14, 2007 at 11:33 AM
    #12
    Gorilla_97

    Gorilla_97 Once a gorilla always a gorilla

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Member:
    #1052
    Messages:
    371
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Thomas
    Fort Worth, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 FJC Black Diamond
    so you could not use the steel rim sensors in the alloys? that will make a big difference to me if I want to buy new rims or not, thanks!
     
  13. Mar 14, 2007 at 1:20 PM
    #13
    Skies20

    Skies20 small town girl

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Member:
    #387
    Messages:
    145
    Morris, Connecticut
    Vehicle:
    2007 Acc. Cab SR5 V6 4x4--Black
    Westin chrome step bars Vent visors & bug guard Borla performance exhaust system Tundra tires & rims
    No, the sensors from my old wheels would not fit. The new rims & tires I bought look much better, but it ended up being quite a costly ordeal after everything. I was glad that I at least got a good deal on the rims & tires (from E-bay), so that offset the additional cost somewhat..
    Hope this helps! :D
     
  14. Mar 14, 2007 at 1:37 PM
    #14
    Gorilla_97

    Gorilla_97 Once a gorilla always a gorilla

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Member:
    #1052
    Messages:
    371
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Thomas
    Fort Worth, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 FJC Black Diamond
    Thank-you! This is what I needed to know. I did not want to spend the extra $$ on sensors if I could not swap them off my steelies. I may just have to live with the warning light on or find a way to bypass the light altogether.

    Thanks!

     
  15. Mar 14, 2007 at 6:11 PM
    #15
    Skies20

    Skies20 small town girl

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Member:
    #387
    Messages:
    145
    Morris, Connecticut
    Vehicle:
    2007 Acc. Cab SR5 V6 4x4--Black
    Westin chrome step bars Vent visors & bug guard Borla performance exhaust system Tundra tires & rims
    You are quite welcome. Good luck with whatever you decide. :)
     
  16. Mar 15, 2007 at 7:42 PM
    #16
    Gorilla_97

    Gorilla_97 Once a gorilla always a gorilla

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Member:
    #1052
    Messages:
    371
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Thomas
    Fort Worth, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 FJC Black Diamond
    well it's apparent that going from Tacoma steel rims to the TRD alloys will require new sensors, but I'm looking at the FJ alloys so I may have to just take the wheels & tires to a shop and have them try to make the swap....
     
  17. Mar 22, 2007 at 8:32 AM
    #17
    Dust Devil

    Dust Devil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Member:
    #1115
    Messages:
    61
    I am also having this issue, the shop that put my wheels on forgot to install the sensors.

    Is there any way to disable the light on the dash??
     
  18. Mar 22, 2007 at 10:32 AM
    #18
    SPOWERS07

    SPOWERS07 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Member:
    #816
    Messages:
    104
    Gender:
    Male
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    base 4wd lifted 33's
    thats the million dollar question i wish i knew it!
     
  19. Mar 22, 2007 at 11:38 AM
    #19
    Gorilla_97

    Gorilla_97 Once a gorilla always a gorilla

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Member:
    #1052
    Messages:
    371
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Thomas
    Fort Worth, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 FJC Black Diamond
    I'll try to summarize what I know so far.

    The only way to disable the light is to either:

    A) clip the factory wiring so the light will not come on (search the Tundra forum at tundrasolutions.com for more info)

    B) put your old sensors in a pressurized air-tight container such as a PVC pipe or wheelbarrow tire and keep it in the truck

    C) buy the sensors for the alloy/aluminum wheels and see if they fit the rims you want to buy.

    D) put a piece of black tape over the dashboard light :p

    I was able to get 4 of the alloy sensors from my B-I-L Toyota mechanic for $25 each, usually they are over $100 each. From what I've found so far, any sensor from a Toyota alloy rim will fit another Toyota alloy rim (FJ, TRD, etc). However, the steel sensors will only fit the steel wheels.

    The steel sensors are at a 40 degree angle and will not allow the valve stem to properly seat in the alloy rims. The alloy sensors are 20 degrees and should be able to swap between any other Toyota alloy rims. In certain cases the steel sensors will fit in other aftermarket rims, but you'll have to do a fit test to know for sure.

    Hope that sums it up. I've been dealing with the issue for the past two weeks because I want to put FJ rims on my 07 Taco which came with the steel rims. I finally had to pony up and just buy the alloy sensors to make it all work properly. I'm 99% certain the alloy sensors will fit the FJ rims, but I won't know 100% until I get the sensors and test fit them into the FJ rims.
     
  20. Apr 12, 2007 at 5:48 AM
    #20
    Splangy

    Splangy Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Member:
    #1292
    Messages:
    27
    If I replace my steel wheels with a set of TRD wheels with new sensors, will I have to have the system reprogrammed by Toyota or just reset the system myself? I'd like to keep the steel wheels for the winter and switch back to the alloys every spring.
     
To Top