1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

tire sensors 2WD tacoma 08,15 inch rims

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by sylvaincyr, Nov 8, 2009.

  1. Nov 8, 2009 at 1:49 PM
    #1
    sylvaincyr

    sylvaincyr [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Member:
    #16743
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    New Brunswick,Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 tacoma B package 4x2
    thermoblock,hitch,backrack,fog lights
    Hello,

    I have a Toyota Tacoma 08 2wd. I bought this years winter tires and rims. I had the bad surprise even if you stay the 15 inch rims and same size of tires. the tire sensor will not reset because rims are not oem toyota wheels. The tire lights sensor will always stay on the dashboard.

    My questions 1 :

    Is anyway the dealer with his computer can reach your computer in your truck and turn the tire sensor in off mode? I do not want the engine to check the tire sensors.

    The Toyota dealer said you have to buy new sensors for your wheels at 80$ each. That is a lot of money and I am not convince it is the only solutions.

    The book suggest to contact the toyota dealer, but I the best solution is to turn off that sensor from the computer ,but I don't know how the garage will do it.


    My question 2, is a specific fuse assign to the tire sensor that I can pull out without turning off something else.?


    Can anyone assist? Please

    Thank you.
    Sylvain Cyr
     
  2. Nov 8, 2009 at 3:42 PM
    #2
    spp

    spp OC, Kalifornia

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Member:
    #442
    Messages:
    1,314
    Gender:
    Male
    OC California
    Sensors that are in the stock wheels have to be transplated into the new wheels........
     
  3. Nov 8, 2009 at 3:46 PM
    #3
    Brunes

    Brunes abides.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Member:
    #7011
    Messages:
    17,641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rotorhead
    DC or New Jersey - Depends on the day....
    Vehicle:
    08 Red/Graphite and Satin Black
    Inside: Tint, Wet Okole 1/2 Piped Red/Black Covers, Black Weathertech Digital Fit Mats, URD Short Throw w/ TWM Weighted Knob, USA Spec iPod adapter. Outside: 4300K Retro w/ Angel Eyes and Red Shrouds, 5000K Blazer Fog Light Retrofit, Debadge, Bed Locking Handle, Satin Black Rims Performance: TRD/Steigmeier Blower w/ 2.7 Pulley. 668 Injectors and 320 LPH AEM Fuel pump. URD UCON and 7th Injector. DTLT Headers, URD Y-Pipe, Wicked Flow Muffler. Suspension: Both: OME Shocks Front: 886X's and TC UCAs Rear: Dakars Armor: Relentless Front Bumper Relentless High Clearance Rear w/ Tire/Rotopax Swing Out Relentless Front, Mid, and TCase skids BAMF Diff Skid Recovery and Spares: Fullsize Spare Tire 2x2 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Water Rotopax Warn 9.5XP-S Winch Hi-Lift Extreme 60" Ironman Off-Road Recovery Kit
    No...There is no "off" mode on the TPMS. It is a federally mandated system...so there will be no shutting it off option. I don't believe there are any fuses specifically for it either.

    Your only option is to transplant the sensors you have, get a new set and have them programmed into the truck, or find an alternative way to store your sensors (like not in the tires, but under pressure...in an piece of PVC pipe or in a small yard trailer tire hidden in the truck somewhere)
     
  4. Nov 21, 2009 at 6:38 AM
    #4
    glwood6

    glwood6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Member:
    #8125
    Messages:
    1,601
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Albuquerque, NM
    Vehicle:
    '13 MGM AC 4x4 TRD OR
    Husky front mud flaps, OEM bed mat, 3D floor mats, Wet Okole seat covers, fog lights anytime mod, rear diff breather extension, aluminum Relentless tailgate reinforcement, NWexpo corner gussets, 265/75-16 Hankook Dynapro ATM
    I know that the Hypertech type programmers for Jeeps have programming to change or even turn off your TPMS...is there not anything like that for Tacomas?
     
  5. Nov 21, 2009 at 6:52 AM
    #5
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,320
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    Interesting. I run two sets of rims/tires. When the stock tpms sensors with tires and rims are stored in my garage, I do not get a light unless out of range (=/- 40 miles). When a light does trigger out of range, it resets once back home overnight.

    The system did trigger once this fall when the pressure was low in the stored tire set. Filled it up in storage and light reset.

    Maybe the 15" wheels are different? :notsure:
     
  6. Nov 21, 2009 at 7:35 AM
    #6
    JKD

    JKD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Member:
    #18207
    Messages:
    2,016
    Gender:
    Male
    The sensors don't have a 40 mile range. More like 40 feet at best.

    The TPMS computer might check for the sensors at start-up in your garage, and not illuminate the light for some period of time...but there's no way that the computer is reading the sensors in your garage after you leave your driveway.
     
  7. Nov 21, 2009 at 7:42 AM
    #7
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,320
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    Sorry, I disagree, and have been doing this for 5 winter seasons, both on a Tundra and now my Tacoma. Two sets of tires and rims and only one set of stock sensors. Others have done it too. Have you done this?

    My last trip the Maine, the sensors triggered at mile marker 47 and actually documented it. I can post pics of pre and post light trigger if you so desire.
     
  8. Nov 21, 2009 at 8:19 AM
    #8
    OffroadToy

    OffroadToy This ain't Dodge City, and you ain't Bill Hickok

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Member:
    #22680
    Messages:
    5,258
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD OFFROAD 4x4 VSC/TRAC/DAC/HAC
    snugtop, piaa, weathertech, westin, oem bed mat, trd seat covers, avs inchannel vent visors, 2" suspension lift, front diff drop, rear differential breather extension, oil filter drain hose, a/c drain hose extention & reroute, front window tint, cat theft protection plate, tailgate clamp mod, xpel headlight/foglight protecters, oem block heater, bfg 265/75R/16 a/t k/o's, cabin air rodent protection screen, rcbs illuminated 4X4 switch mod
    Be aware that there are 2 types of sensors (different degrees) to fit different wheel configurations. If you have summer and winter tires/wheels and don't want to feed the stealership more money, the pvc pipe idea might be an alternative to keep the light off the dash. Either that or just put a piece of tape over the light during the winter. These sensors in my opinion are just another way for the dealerships to completely take advantage of you when they need to be replaced and re-calibrated. I've allready made a pvc pipe up with a valve stem in the end, and when I've had enough of the tpms bullshit I'm throwing them in and strapping it to the bottom of the truck...just hope some cop doesn't think it's a pipe bomb.:eek:
     
  9. Nov 21, 2009 at 8:21 AM
    #9
    epa4wd

    epa4wd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Member:
    #14828
    Messages:
    2,139
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eduardo
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport
    Clazzio Seat Covers Extang Tri-Fold Soft Tonneau Cover TRD Skid Plate AMP Research Electric Steps 43% Llumar Security tint TRD Exhaust Fox 2.0 coilovers and rear shocks 16" TRD Fake Beadlocks Custom LED Cube mounts in foglight location TRD Pro Grill Wheelers progressive aal
    lol I think the computer does a system check every certain amount of time/miles, TPMS sensor dont have a 40 mile range lol, I live on a 100X30 island I'm always at less than 20 miles from my house and the light comes on after a while.


    Heck lets do an experiment go 30 miles away from your tpms sensors and try to reset the computer by pressing the button under the dash. LMK if the TMPS light goes away lol.
     
  10. Nov 21, 2009 at 8:57 AM
    #10
    jeremiekc

    jeremiekc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16031
    Messages:
    800
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremie
    Vilseck, Germany
    Vehicle:
    07 Regular Cab Base Model
    Secondary Air Filter removed, Painted Brake Calipers, AFN Drop in air cleaner, OEM Chrome Bumper, OEM Chrome grilll, OEM Cruise Control, OEM Interval Wipers, Hard Wired Garmin Nuvi 670, X-Runner Rims, Devil Horns, 6000w HID's, Bling Light Fogs with Blue Halo, OEM Bilstein Rear Shocks, 12V Plug in Truck Bed pocket. Debagged, 13" Antennax, Color Matched Satoshi Grill, URD Short Shifter, WeatherTech Floor Mats, PainLess Wiring Switched Fuse Box, Black Sand Pearl X-Runner Badges
    I have done a ton of research on this subject and have even asked several Toyota servicemen about how to deal with this. I have also researched the manufacturer that produces the system for Toyota.

    The sensors verify the pressure in your tires at start up and then about every 45 minutes to an hour after that. They verify any sensor with the serial number stored in its computer within a 100 foot radius of the computer. The computer will do a verify search about every 45 minutes to an hour of the intial search. That is unless there is a drastic change of pressure caused by a blow out or a puncture. When you drive away from the TPMS's in your garage there is no drastic change of pressure but it is a gradual change, and wont trip the brain until it does its times diagnostic.

    There are is no way to reset the system or to reprogram the system to think that the TPMS is working. There are several MODs on out there on different ways to do this.

    There is the pipe bomb which puts the sensors in a sealed length of PVC pipe and pressurize it.

    You can turn the sensor 180 degrees on the rim but you risk it getting ripped off when you mount or unmount the tire plus if it goes flat you are screwed.

    I ordered a set of clamps that hold the sensor in the middle of the rim. It worked really well and didnt have to many problems with installing them.

    http://www.tpmssource.com/strapkit.aspx

    But there is NO fancy tool to reprogram or change anything. You can remove the light in the dash or place a piece of black tape over it but other then that you are kind of screwed.
     
  11. Nov 21, 2009 at 9:48 AM
    #11
    JKD

    JKD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Member:
    #18207
    Messages:
    2,016
    Gender:
    Male
    The TPMS sensor transmits at about 400 mhz. Based on the battery size and type, it transmits a milliwatt or less. For comparison, your cell phone operates at a higher frequency and, for handheld phones, at 200-300 milliwatts. Cell phone towers are a lot closer together than 40 miles--in fact, you need to be within a few miles of the very tall towers to have any signal at all.

    To achieve a 40 mile range using amateur radio at a frequency near the operating frequency of the TPMS system, I have to use a 50 watt transmitter and a very efficient antenna. My amateur radio is at least 50,000 times more powerful than a TPMS transmitter.

    It is not physically possible for your TPMS sensors to have a 40 mile range.

    What is most likely happening is that your TPMS computer listens for a signal from the TPMS transmitters, and if it hears NO signal for a period of time (or a length of travel) then it will set the TPMS light. The sensors don't transmit all the time, and the system has to be built to allow for some 'missed data' due to interference and signal strength issues. So it takes a while for the TPMS computer to conclude that there are no sensors.
     
  12. Nov 21, 2009 at 10:08 AM
    #12
    jeremiekc

    jeremiekc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16031
    Messages:
    800
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremie
    Vilseck, Germany
    Vehicle:
    07 Regular Cab Base Model
    Secondary Air Filter removed, Painted Brake Calipers, AFN Drop in air cleaner, OEM Chrome Bumper, OEM Chrome grilll, OEM Cruise Control, OEM Interval Wipers, Hard Wired Garmin Nuvi 670, X-Runner Rims, Devil Horns, 6000w HID's, Bling Light Fogs with Blue Halo, OEM Bilstein Rear Shocks, 12V Plug in Truck Bed pocket. Debagged, 13" Antennax, Color Matched Satoshi Grill, URD Short Shifter, WeatherTech Floor Mats, PainLess Wiring Switched Fuse Box, Black Sand Pearl X-Runner Badges
    It has nothing to do with distance traveled. It is the amount of time that it takes for the computer to realize that it is not near the TPMS. Of course it is going to set it off at exactly the same distance since it is the exact same time.
     
  13. Nov 21, 2009 at 11:18 AM
    #13
    OffroadToy

    OffroadToy This ain't Dodge City, and you ain't Bill Hickok

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Member:
    #22680
    Messages:
    5,258
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD OFFROAD 4x4 VSC/TRAC/DAC/HAC
    snugtop, piaa, weathertech, westin, oem bed mat, trd seat covers, avs inchannel vent visors, 2" suspension lift, front diff drop, rear differential breather extension, oil filter drain hose, a/c drain hose extention & reroute, front window tint, cat theft protection plate, tailgate clamp mod, xpel headlight/foglight protecters, oem block heater, bfg 265/75R/16 a/t k/o's, cabin air rodent protection screen, rcbs illuminated 4X4 switch mod
     
  14. Nov 21, 2009 at 11:36 AM
    #14
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,320
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    Thanks guys.

    All I know is that for the last 5 years, on two different trucks, I have one set of oem sensors in a set of tires and another set without sensors for winter & summer.

    I can drive all around town for a couple of hours and get no light. I can park and go hiking/skiing/shopping/work away from home and get back to the truck 6-9 hours later and no light. If it was time wouldn't it go off in the parking lot?

    Honestly, whatever criteria is responsible for not making the light trigger is good news to me. I have only invested in one set of sensors, no extra programming, no pipe bomb, no splicing into the harness behind the glove box (a 2006 only mod btw), taking apart the gauge cluster etc, etc. This makes it easy to swap my tires from winter to summer & I do nothing special. Something the OP is trying to do.
     
  15. Nov 21, 2009 at 1:14 PM
    #15
    jeremiekc

    jeremiekc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16031
    Messages:
    800
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremie
    Vilseck, Germany
    Vehicle:
    07 Regular Cab Base Model
    Secondary Air Filter removed, Painted Brake Calipers, AFN Drop in air cleaner, OEM Chrome Bumper, OEM Chrome grilll, OEM Cruise Control, OEM Interval Wipers, Hard Wired Garmin Nuvi 670, X-Runner Rims, Devil Horns, 6000w HID's, Bling Light Fogs with Blue Halo, OEM Bilstein Rear Shocks, 12V Plug in Truck Bed pocket. Debagged, 13" Antennax, Color Matched Satoshi Grill, URD Short Shifter, WeatherTech Floor Mats, PainLess Wiring Switched Fuse Box, Black Sand Pearl X-Runner Badges
     
  16. Nov 25, 2009 at 2:26 AM
    #16
    FoxySandChick

    FoxySandChick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Member:
    #9505
    Messages:
    2,963
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Kristin
    Henderson, NV
    Vehicle:
    07 DC 4x4 Base model V6 Impulse Red Pearl
    De-badged, limo tint, black wet okole's, weathertechs, extra d-rings, TSB bilsteins
    Who told you that your TPMS would only work on OEM Toyota wheels?? That is not correct.

    I have TPMS from Toyota 16" steel wheels put into aftermarket 17" alloy wheels and I've had no problems at all.
     
  17. Nov 26, 2009 at 8:43 AM
    #17
    M2M

    M2M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Member:
    #4720
    Messages:
    179
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    bilstiens, sport 08 w/o scoop, debadged
    am I the only one with this problem with new tires ???
    when I go to the mountains, the light stays on - when I get back, the light stays on for two days then shuts off - I know altitude changes pressure, yadda, yadda,
    but -
    did not start until I got the new tires
     
  18. Dec 5, 2009 at 8:03 AM
    #18
    TXRoper

    TXRoper Texas Edition

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Member:
    #16078
    Messages:
    155
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dean
    Plano, TX
    Vehicle:
    Texas Edition PreRunner SR5 - Super White
    Did you have to mount the TPMS at 180 degrees as others on TW have mentioned? I currently have the 16" steel base wheels and have purchased 17" Centerline Turbine wheels. Thought about selling my unused Centerlines to buy FJ Cruiser TRD wheels but will I be in the same situation? Having to buy new sensors or use the mounting strap?
     
  19. Dec 5, 2009 at 9:04 AM
    #19
    Brunes

    Brunes abides.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Member:
    #7011
    Messages:
    17,641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rotorhead
    DC or New Jersey - Depends on the day....
    Vehicle:
    08 Red/Graphite and Satin Black
    Inside: Tint, Wet Okole 1/2 Piped Red/Black Covers, Black Weathertech Digital Fit Mats, URD Short Throw w/ TWM Weighted Knob, USA Spec iPod adapter. Outside: 4300K Retro w/ Angel Eyes and Red Shrouds, 5000K Blazer Fog Light Retrofit, Debadge, Bed Locking Handle, Satin Black Rims Performance: TRD/Steigmeier Blower w/ 2.7 Pulley. 668 Injectors and 320 LPH AEM Fuel pump. URD UCON and 7th Injector. DTLT Headers, URD Y-Pipe, Wicked Flow Muffler. Suspension: Both: OME Shocks Front: 886X's and TC UCAs Rear: Dakars Armor: Relentless Front Bumper Relentless High Clearance Rear w/ Tire/Rotopax Swing Out Relentless Front, Mid, and TCase skids BAMF Diff Skid Recovery and Spares: Fullsize Spare Tire 2x2 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Water Rotopax Warn 9.5XP-S Winch Hi-Lift Extreme 60" Ironman Off-Road Recovery Kit
    Did you reset the pressure after the new tires?? Because if the sensor is set to trigger at a certain % of the old tire pressure...and you have your new tires set at a lower pressure and the pressure drops more going up in altitude-it might trigger??
     
  20. Dec 6, 2009 at 12:05 PM
    #20
    M2M

    M2M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Member:
    #4720
    Messages:
    179
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    bilstiens, sport 08 w/o scoop, debadged
    yes they did reset them ( or so they say) -
    I've played with the pressures and we'll see if I have a problem the next time I'm up -
    thanks
     
To Top