1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Topper Mod: Dome Light Power

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by TroutBum, Sep 2, 2008.

  1. Sep 2, 2008 at 5:42 PM
    #1
    TroutBum

    TroutBum [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Member:
    #8871
    Messages:
    255
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Michigan
    Vehicle:
    06 SR5 Access Cab 4x4, 17 TRD Sport 6 MT
    Leer 100R
    The Leer dealer I purchased my topper from usually wires the dome light in the topper to the taillights. It's good in that you're less likely to walk away from the truck and leave the light on, but it's always annoyed me. I'd rather be able to use the dome light in the topper and not leave the truck lights on.

    Here's my solution/parts list: weather proof fuse holder, 15amp fuse, 16ga wire, wire loom, and some wire ties.

    I install the fuse by the battery:
    [​IMG]

    Fed the wire into the frame:
    [​IMG]

    Following the frame next to an existing wire harness:[​IMG]

    The new power wire connects to the wire from the dome light, and now it works when I want it to without having the headlights on with the key in the ignition.
    [​IMG]

    I've seen a few of you with lights in the bed, might have to add those next. :)

    Mike
     
  2. Sep 2, 2008 at 6:21 PM
    #2
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,158
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Great write up, Mike!
     
  3. Sep 2, 2008 at 6:27 PM
    #3
    scottiem

    scottiem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Member:
    #6846
    Messages:
    61
    Oklahoma City
    Vehicle:
    '07 PreRunner TRD Sport
    Nice write up, I'd like to do this when I get my Snug Top on. Only thing I would like to do if possible is see if I can wire it into a timer so in case I brain fart and leave it the light on after a preset time it will turn off without draining the battery. Any ideas
     
  4. Sep 2, 2008 at 6:55 PM
    #4
    TroutBum

    TroutBum [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Member:
    #8871
    Messages:
    255
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Michigan
    Vehicle:
    06 SR5 Access Cab 4x4, 17 TRD Sport 6 MT
    Leer 100R
    Thanks Chris! That's a good idea scottiem, can't be that hard to wire something in. I'll have to make a trip to the parts store...

    Mike
     
  5. Sep 3, 2008 at 10:34 AM
    #5
    mvega1969

    mvega1969 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Member:
    #3469
    Messages:
    614
    Gender:
    Male
    Laredo
    Vehicle:
    SILVER 08 TACOMA DC LB 4X4 TRD Sprt Pkg, Side

    Mike, this is Miguel... I did the same to mine, my setup implements prior to send power to the topper lights it goes via a sensor that can be controlled wirelessly... and by this I can activate or deactivate my three cap lights from my remote. Honestly sometimes I forgot to take the remote and it is not good... but takes time to get used to it.

    I think the best setup will be to use a pin switch (like the alarms) to activate the lights by opening the cap's main window.

    Here is a photo of lights 2 and three, number 1 is the same as yours.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Sep 3, 2008 at 3:32 PM
    #6
    scottiem

    scottiem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Member:
    #6846
    Messages:
    61
    Oklahoma City
    Vehicle:
    '07 PreRunner TRD Sport
    I like the idea of a pin switch that way you wouldn't have to worry about leaving the lights on. Any idea where you could pick up a quality pin switch.
     
  7. Sep 3, 2008 at 3:46 PM
    #7
    mvega1969

    mvega1969 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Member:
    #3469
    Messages:
    614
    Gender:
    Male
    Laredo
    Vehicle:
    SILVER 08 TACOMA DC LB 4X4 TRD Sprt Pkg, Side
    I know there is something around this site but on another thread, should be in the underhood lights thread. I will search over there and I will paste the link...

    Found...

    http://www.oznium.com/pin-switch

    This should work, but remember most shells are not made of metal, this will required an earth connection and a power connection to turn on and off your lights.

    Regards.
     
  8. Sep 3, 2008 at 4:10 PM
    #8
    scottiem

    scottiem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Member:
    #6846
    Messages:
    61
    Oklahoma City
    Vehicle:
    '07 PreRunner TRD Sport
    Thanks for the info, shouldn't be a problem just have to wait until my Snug Top super sport comes in and is installed to figure out where to mount the switch.
     
  9. Sep 3, 2008 at 6:16 PM
    #9
    TroutBum

    TroutBum [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Member:
    #8871
    Messages:
    255
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Michigan
    Vehicle:
    06 SR5 Access Cab 4x4, 17 TRD Sport 6 MT
    Leer 100R
    Thanks for the link Miguel! I'm going to check into that. :)

    Mike
     
  10. Nov 17, 2012 at 10:43 AM
    #10
    benlorenzo

    benlorenzo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Member:
    #63816
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    wv
    Vehicle:
    LongBed TRD Sport
    Carpeted ARE Topper with BedRug
    Yeah, looks like a great job, really, but I dont want to run a wire from the battery, I want to run it from the interior lights in the cab. so when my interior light is set to "DOOR", and I open the back window of my topper the lights come on in the topper. I'll need a cool switch by the door: magnetic or punger style and and access to the wire that goes to the dome light in the cab. anybody try something like this before??
     
  11. Nov 17, 2012 at 11:04 AM
    #11
    Enzo

    Enzo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Member:
    #42815
    Messages:
    1,378
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Opie
    Bedford, Va
    Vehicle:
    2012 FJ Cruiser
    2012 FJ Cruiser Maggiolina Medium Grand Tour w/winter hood National Luna dual battery split charging system ABR Sidewinder Aux battery tray ARB 50qt Fridge w/Transit Bag Bajarack flat rack w/ladder Crawlarado flat black hood blackout TRD exhaust Trasharoo Outback FJ roof console
    You do realize this thread is 4 years old right?
     
  12. Nov 18, 2012 at 5:04 AM
    #12
    benlorenzo

    benlorenzo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Member:
    #63816
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    wv
    Vehicle:
    LongBed TRD Sport
    Carpeted ARE Topper with BedRug
    the thread might be old but my issues is new.
     
To Top