1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Torque App OBD2 Oil temp/pressure PID?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by fleschdnb, Nov 26, 2016.

  1. Nov 26, 2016 at 10:13 PM
    #1
    fleschdnb

    fleschdnb [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Member:
    #181101
    Messages:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    jason
    Vehicle:
    2008 Tacoma PreRunner SR5 (ex fake Limited Edition TRD Sport)
    3rd party (uhaul) frame mounted tow hitch and Tranny cooler
    So, i have searched the interwebs, and cannot find the PID to make Torque read oil temp/pressure from my OBD2 scanner.

    Does the '08 tacoma (4.0L Prerunner) ECU measure these at all?

    I did find the custom PIDs on TW to make it show Transmission Temps (which torque couldnt read out of the box).

    Just wondering if anyone knows of this is possible on the 2nd gen 08 Coma's.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Nov 26, 2016 at 10:23 PM
    #2
    Ruggybuggy

    Ruggybuggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Member:
    #166403
    Messages:
    3,163
    Gender:
    Male
    NW ONT, CANADA
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra SX
    Can you share how you got the Torque app to read the trans temp? Im new to this.

    I think the '12's and up use a dfferent PID?
     
  3. Nov 26, 2016 at 11:03 PM
    #3
    fleschdnb

    fleschdnb [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Member:
    #181101
    Messages:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    jason
    Vehicle:
    2008 Tacoma PreRunner SR5 (ex fake Limited Edition TRD Sport)
    3rd party (uhaul) frame mounted tow hitch and Tranny cooler
    follow the link below, post #175 on page 9 worked. (only works for 05 through 09, for later models, youll have to read more, and to my knowledge, it wont work for manual trans, only auto).
    Just make sure to use the ° degree symbol instead of the * ONLY in "Unit Type". The asterisks in "Equation" field should be left as asterisks.

    https://www.tacomaworld.com/threads/write-up-torque-app-obd2-reader.183560/page-9
     
    Ruggybuggy likes this.
  4. Nov 27, 2016 at 9:17 AM
    #4
    Ruggybuggy

    Ruggybuggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Member:
    #166403
    Messages:
    3,163
    Gender:
    Male
    NW ONT, CANADA
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra SX
    Thanks, got it to work. Interesting thing is my truck reads in °C and when I set Torque app to °F it will read on the display in °C. If I switch the app to °C then it shows in °F.

    Now I'm interest in what other custom PIDs are available?
     
  5. Nov 27, 2016 at 9:55 AM
    #5
    fleschdnb

    fleschdnb [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Member:
    #181101
    Messages:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    jason
    Vehicle:
    2008 Tacoma PreRunner SR5 (ex fake Limited Edition TRD Sport)
    3rd party (uhaul) frame mounted tow hitch and Tranny cooler
    Is yours able to read oil temperature and oil pressure?
    Those are the two I am looking for.
     
  6. Nov 27, 2016 at 12:23 PM
    #6
    Ruggybuggy

    Ruggybuggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Member:
    #166403
    Messages:
    3,163
    Gender:
    Male
    NW ONT, CANADA
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra SX
    Nope but there must be a custom PID for it.
     
  7. Oct 18, 2017 at 12:06 PM
    #7
    CelicaTruckGuy

    CelicaTruckGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Member:
    #233370
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Vehicle:
    Toyota,GMC
    Yes, though like em Bone Stock more.
    I have a 2001 Celica and am also looking for the Engine Oil Pressure Paremeters PIDs as well... or anything "Toyota" as pertaining to TorquePro / ELM327 My trucks are GMC's lol. Tacomas are nice and popular and useful for my little car perhaps for infosharing.

    ELM327 + Toyota Share the goody PIDs!!!
     
  8. Oct 18, 2017 at 12:24 PM
    #8
    whipper

    whipper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #158998
    Messages:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner
    I believe the sending unit for the oil is just a switch, either on or off for the ECM to trigger the dash light.
     
  9. Oct 18, 2017 at 12:54 PM
    #9
    nd4spdbh

    nd4spdbh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Member:
    #114055
    Messages:
    11,178
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    13 DCSB TRD OR v6 Auto
    There is no sensor on the truck for oil temp or oil pressure range. There is simply one oil pressure switch that turns on the dummy light / signals to the ECU that something is wrong. Hence why you wont be able to pull any actual oil pressure or oil temp data from the ECU.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top