1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Torque Wrenches In-LB and Ft-LB

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by boshak, Mar 1, 2012.

  1. Mar 1, 2012 at 11:33 PM
    #1
    boshak

    boshak [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Member:
    #37663
    Messages:
    591
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Plano, TX
    Vehicle:
    2003 Manual 4x4 5VZ-FE
    Kings, TC UCA, Dakar Leafs, Fox 2.0, 4.56 regear
    Looking to buy 2 torque wrenches... In-LB and FT-LB. Any recommendations? Search on the forum and google show a lot of negativity toward Craftsman because Sears doesn't replace their torque wrenches.
     
  2. Mar 2, 2012 at 8:03 AM
    #2
    brs127s

    brs127s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Member:
    #43575
    Messages:
    392
    Gender:
    Male
    O'Fallon, MO
    Vehicle:
    04 D-Cab 4x4 Limited TRD
    TRD Headers, Aero Turbine AT2525XL Deckplate Mod, TRD tranny cooler, King Coilovers, LR UCAs, Alcan 5 Leaf springs and Bilstein 5100s, Shrockworks front bumper, CBI rear bumper.
    I have an older Craftsman Digitorq 3/8" drive that is 5 to 80 ft/lbs. I have had it for 10 years and haven't had any issues with it.

    I bought a Precision 1/2" drive that is 50 to 250 ft/lbs. I have had it for about 2 years and haven't had any issues with it.

    Both are dead on. I have compared them to the Snap-on's that my buddy uses at the machine shop he works at. The Snap-on's are nice, but for occasional use, I can't justify the cost of the Snap-on's.
     
  3. Mar 2, 2012 at 8:12 AM
    #3
    wildjerseyfirefighter

    wildjerseyfirefighter I sell fishing and fishing accessories

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Member:
    #11677
    Messages:
    7,948
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    NJ
    Vehicle:
    05 Tacoma TRD Sport
    stock, for now
    go to ebay, buy a used one. Snap on will recalibrate it if needed. Thats what I did with the one I have at home. Looking to buy a 3/8 drive for work for the smaller stuff, and I plan on doing the same thing.
     
  4. Mar 2, 2012 at 8:13 AM
    #4
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    108,884
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2019 Rubicon 4 Door,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Ive never had issues with Craftsman wrenches. AS long as they arent dropped, or abused, they will be fine for a long time. They are rated to hold calibration for at least 5000 torque cycles. Between the 44595 (1/2" 20-150 ft. lbs) and my 31423 (3/8" 25 to 250 in.-lbs) I have all bolts/nuts covered from 2# to 150#'s. The only gripes I have seen about these wrenches is the plastic lock ring. If you know how to use/adjust a torque wrench, I dont see it as being an issue.
     
  5. Mar 2, 2012 at 8:20 AM
    #5
    Gabex35

    Gabex35 Shinty Killer

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Member:
    #40673
    Messages:
    1,265
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gabe
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    2014 4 Runner Trail Premium
    King OEM Performance Series with compression adjusters, Custom rear coils drom CSS, 22% Tint, Method Race NV's 17x8.5, 285/70-17 MTR's, AllPro welded Sliders, Cobra CB, Gobi stealth roof rack, Rigid 40" e series & duallys out back
    i have two (1/2" & 3/8") craftsman torque wrenches i bought about 5 years ago and they are great.

    i do need to find out how i would get them recalibrated once the time comes.
     
  6. Mar 2, 2012 at 8:27 AM
    #6
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    108,884
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2019 Rubicon 4 Door,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    If they havent been dropped, or abused, then they are probably good. You can check them yourself by sticking the socket attachment into a vice, make a mark 12" from the center of the socket attachment, twards the handle. Set the wrench to 30# (for example), and tie a 30# weight to the mark on the handle. See if it trips the clicker.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RUD81N_TlS8
     
  7. Mar 2, 2012 at 8:29 AM
    #7
    RV7Garage

    RV7Garage R.O.U.S.

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Member:
    #22358
    Messages:
    629
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    Ill Annoy
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCSB Offroad, Nautical Blue
    Disable DRL, Jailbreak Fog Lights, ARE topper
    My Craftsman has been fine so far. I figure, if I can trust it for building an experimental aircraft, then it's fine for my truck too :rolleyes:
     
  8. Mar 2, 2012 at 8:33 AM
    #8
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    108,884
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2019 Rubicon 4 Door,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Never seen one, but after some google-foo, they look like nice units!
     
  9. Mar 2, 2012 at 8:35 AM
    #9
    CUtacomaTIGER

    CUtacomaTIGER Unprofessional Driver

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Member:
    #60412
    Messages:
    380
    Gender:
    Male
    Clemson
    Vehicle:
    '01 4X4 SR5 Chrome Stepside
    Black Wheels Window Rain Guards Bed Liner Tow Hitch w/4 Pin Weathertech Floor Mats Flowmaster Deck Plate Mod Window Tint Rear Diff Breather Mod Blacked out Badges
  10. Mar 2, 2012 at 8:35 AM
    #10
    BuckWells

    BuckWells Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Member:
    #51588
    Messages:
    507
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Aaron
    Wichita, Kansas
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD Offroad
    painted badges, sockmonkey decals, CHLM, bed light mod, 20% tint, color match grille
    I work at a calibration lab, and test torque wrenches weekly for airline manufacturing companies. I see alot of craftsman wrenches beat to hell and still work well. They need adjusting from time to time, but the guys in the machine shops abuse them regularly. I own a craftsman 0-150 ft lb wrench, and it hasn't let me down yet.
     
  11. Mar 2, 2012 at 8:40 AM
    #11
    tostidos

    tostidos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Member:
    #48149
    Messages:
    4,762
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Apple Valley, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 LT 6spd
    At work we have a 40-200 in-lb snap-on and a 200-i believe 600 in-lb snap on. It very rare to need to go much above 300 in-lb regularly. should get you by in that range. that covers you from 40-600 in-lbs (3.3 ft-lbs-50 ft-lbs)
     
  12. Mar 2, 2012 at 8:42 AM
    #12
    Twistedfreedom

    Twistedfreedom welcome to the incredibuild

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Member:
    #63386
    Messages:
    8,821
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    Seattle
    Vehicle:
    in progress
    modded the F*ck out
    I have a snap-on 75-250 1/2 inch I've used it for about 3 years it need to be calibrated its about high 10ftlbs right now but it's never let me down.
     
  13. Mar 3, 2012 at 7:25 AM
    #13
    boshak

    boshak [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Member:
    #37663
    Messages:
    591
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Plano, TX
    Vehicle:
    2003 Manual 4x4 5VZ-FE
    Kings, TC UCA, Dakar Leafs, Fox 2.0, 4.56 regear
    Thanks for the replies and affirmation. I'll look further into the Craftsman wrenches... Local Sears is closing their doors so hopefully I can find one on clearance.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top