1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS answers to question

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by Tacoyota, Aug 14, 2009.

  1. Aug 14, 2009 at 7:30 PM
    #1
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota [OP] senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,960
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    I wont cover too much of what you all know n taught me from the last 3 years, going to focus on what I've heard and get ya all to chime in.
    Quickly, stock steel is 40 degrees sensor... not compatible with toyota aluminum 20 degree sensors (oem part # 42607-06011)

    I decided to order the 4 sensors for a summer /winter tire set swap.
    Toyota stealership say $95 to reprogram each time.. $190 a year
    Toyota says $125 er sensor, other tire shops say $110-$120

    Her is what Les Schwab ( N.W. Reputable tire co.)says, " no reprogram charge".

    Also says 2008 up tacomas store 2 sets of tires in the ECU said he just has to push a button on ECU ( or did he say switch?) This is what I'm interested in your feed back on. I trust Les Schwab way more than dealerships, but this sounds almost too good to be true. He then walked me through the programming method ( i sorta studied up before hand), and it looked like the real deal!

    4 Les Schwab dealers knew nothing about a conversion cartridge to swap 40 to 20 degrees (heard about one here a TW)

    My tires are an AT design for snow& ice, so i hope not to bore you mudder guys!:D

    Any way if i getthese photos in ok you will see the wheels I bought from Indycross ,Thank you once again, the tire , and my modest lil red taco.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Aug 14, 2009 at 7:35 PM
    #2
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota [OP] senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,960
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    Man i need to clean my carport then get a shot in the open, poor taco deserves a better shot.
     
  3. Aug 14, 2009 at 8:01 PM
    #3
    Hootbro

    Hootbro Omnipotent

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Member:
    #18789
    Messages:
    347
    Gender:
    Male
    Delaware
    Vehicle:
    2009 Tacoma Regualr Cab 4x4 2.7L
    Just had the exact same TRD wheels installed on my base 09. I had my tire dealer just take the stock steel TPMS sensors and turn then 180 degree out when installed on the new (to me) TRD alloy rims.

    Tires and new wheels balanced fine and no reprogramming needed. If you change the tires or have to do a flat repair, just remember to have the tire shop unscrew the outside stem sleeve and "knock" the sensor in before dismount the tire bead off the wheel.
     
  4. Aug 14, 2009 at 8:10 PM
    #4
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota [OP] senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,960
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    My dealer wouldnt do that. Sorta dont blame them. Once the tire spins full speed it might not be properly supported, they admit they havent seen a break from that though. I bought 4 at $85 each. If 2 sets dont work , i can always sell the original set.
     
  5. Aug 14, 2009 at 8:38 PM
    #5
    Hootbro

    Hootbro Omnipotent

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Member:
    #18789
    Messages:
    347
    Gender:
    Male
    Delaware
    Vehicle:
    2009 Tacoma Regualr Cab 4x4 2.7L
    Saving $400-$500 is motivation to find another tire dealer IMHO, but that is just me.

    Turning the sensors 180 has been done by many with no issues.

    In the end, your truck and your call.

    Good luck,

    Hootbro
     
  6. Aug 14, 2009 at 8:41 PM
    #6
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota [OP] senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,960
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    If i run 2 sets i need 4 more sensors anyway, so turning 180 is a moot point. Getting the sensors at $85 instead of $125 , hurts a lot less.
     
  7. Aug 15, 2009 at 6:08 AM
    #7
    bb609

    bb609 O.F.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Member:
    #18509
    Messages:
    796
    Gender:
    Male
    NH
    Vehicle:
    '09 TRD Sport Access Cab
    Bilstein 5100 CO's @ 1.75" - Icon UCA's - TSB Rear w/Bilstein 5100's - Air Lift System - Flowmaster 50 Duals(RIP...back to stock for now) - Avid Offroad Arctic Bar - Avid Offroad Nerf Bars - Leer 550 Bedcover - AVS Hood Protector(RIP) - Ventshades - Yota Bed Mat - Sheepskins!!! - Weathertechs
    Or, you could give them their own wheel/tire to live in and never have to worry about them again.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Aug 15, 2009 at 6:39 AM
    #8
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,320
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    I've dealt with TPMS on two trucks, one a 2006 Tundra & my current daily driver a 2006 Tacoma.

    In both cases, I've only had oem toyota rims w/ factory programmed sensors in one set of tire pkgs, the other set no sensors at all. The non-used set would get stored in a shed next to my house.

    Over the past five seasons of doing this, the sensor light does not blink if I stay within approximately +/- 50 miles of the stored factory sensors. When I exceed that distance, the light blinks until at some point I return at home, the truck sits overnight & the light resets. In some cases, I do have to push the reset button under the steering column but 99% of the time the TPMS ecu takes care of itself. When it does starts blinking past the approx. distance from home, I tuck one of Neontrail's Tacomawold business cards in front of it. It fits perfectly & is a cheap fix. Plus I always have one waiting to give out if I see a nice tacoma in my travels & I travel a lot.

    Right now my winter set is tucked away and I have OEM alloys with no sensors on my truck. No light is on my dash. No reprogramming fees or extra sensor cost. And this has been the case for the last 5 seasons, in two toyota trucks and if I stick around town, its stays off.

    The turning of the sensor 180 degrees is probably the way I would have gone if I wasn't going to get a set of dedicated winter wheels & tires.
     
  9. Aug 15, 2009 at 8:45 AM
    #9
    otter

    otter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Member:
    #20249
    Messages:
    265
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    MI
    Vehicle:
    09 4 cyl Reg Cab
    Did that really work? If it does, I'm all about it. I think the TPMS systems are bullshit, and when it comes to swap wheels tires, I want to come up with a way to bypass it, something like sealing them inside a pipe or something and filling that with air.
     
  10. Aug 15, 2009 at 4:50 PM
    #10
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota [OP] senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,960
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    put 2 wheel barrow wheels on , tell people that they are better than sliders lol.
    btw the feds mandate no vehicle can leave a shop until tpms is fixed if there is a problem. I dont want to go anywhere near that.
     
  11. Aug 15, 2009 at 5:45 PM
    #11
    bb609

    bb609 O.F.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Member:
    #18509
    Messages:
    796
    Gender:
    Male
    NH
    Vehicle:
    '09 TRD Sport Access Cab
    Bilstein 5100 CO's @ 1.75" - Icon UCA's - TSB Rear w/Bilstein 5100's - Air Lift System - Flowmaster 50 Duals(RIP...back to stock for now) - Avid Offroad Arctic Bar - Avid Offroad Nerf Bars - Leer 550 Bedcover - AVS Hood Protector(RIP) - Ventshades - Yota Bed Mat - Sheepskins!!! - Weathertechs
    http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/wheels-tires/47465-tpms-light-old-solution-revisited.html

    It's been almost 2 weeks and they're doing fine.

    Tacoyota - The dealer handed them to me when they couldn't install them in my wheels. As long as the light is not tripped, who's going to know unless they look for them?:notsure:

    ...and I stop posting about them all over the internet...:rolleyes:
     
  12. Aug 15, 2009 at 5:56 PM
    #12
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota [OP] senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,960
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    I agree where you are coming from, honestly. This crosses into my line of work a bit, ...I'm a city worker as were often called, we pretrip a lot of trucks, pickups too. Between that and the navy , im too progammed lol. I have the 2nd set of sensors ordered, $40 less than the dealer. I'll be running a snow n ice winter set, and if i dont like the way tpms works with 2 sets, i can sell the stock ones perhaps.

    Still curious about the statement about the ecu having a main/2nd switch for 2 sets
     
  13. Aug 15, 2009 at 5:59 PM
    #13
    bb609

    bb609 O.F.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Member:
    #18509
    Messages:
    796
    Gender:
    Male
    NH
    Vehicle:
    '09 TRD Sport Access Cab
    Bilstein 5100 CO's @ 1.75" - Icon UCA's - TSB Rear w/Bilstein 5100's - Air Lift System - Flowmaster 50 Duals(RIP...back to stock for now) - Avid Offroad Arctic Bar - Avid Offroad Nerf Bars - Leer 550 Bedcover - AVS Hood Protector(RIP) - Ventshades - Yota Bed Mat - Sheepskins!!! - Weathertechs
    You can only program one set at a time, at least according to my dealer.
     
  14. Aug 15, 2009 at 6:11 PM
    #14
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota [OP] senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,960
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    I'm wondering if that statement is the moneymaker. This guy at the tire company showed me his setup , said swapping seasonal sets is free as usual even with tpms
     
  15. Aug 15, 2009 at 6:45 PM
    #15
    otter

    otter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Member:
    #20249
    Messages:
    265
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    MI
    Vehicle:
    09 4 cyl Reg Cab
    That's just one of those fancy unenforceable rules.
     
  16. Aug 15, 2009 at 6:56 PM
    #16
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota [OP] senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,960
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    Not that i wanted to buy the 4 sensors for the 2nd set, but i figure this way It'll be more versatile, doubt i would sell my truck , if i did it would be another tacoma most likely, and i wont need to open my stock set for sensors. i'll use them in the summer. or even sell the stock set.

    I dont blame firestone for these , the defective tires were shown not to have blown unless underinflated, iblame a knee jerk government and embiciles who wont check tire pressure at least 4x a year
     
  17. Aug 15, 2009 at 7:12 PM
    #17
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,320
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
  18. Aug 15, 2009 at 7:17 PM
    #18
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota [OP] senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,960
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    Nice , thank ya! I'll read it tonight , gotta go to work tomorrow 4am lol.. o.t. at least.

    (3 minutes elapsed)
    4 pages no switch mentioned Bah!.
     
  19. Aug 15, 2009 at 7:35 PM
    #19
    jcayce

    jcayce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18475
    Messages:
    489
    Gender:
    Male
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Offroad 4x4
    When did Toyota stop putting them in the spare? I have a piece of paper left over from the initial inspection at the dealer that has a barcode from each one of the sensors and there are 5 barcodes on the sheet of paper; one for each on the road wheel and one for the spare. Build date was 05/09.
     
  20. Aug 15, 2009 at 7:43 PM
    #20
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota [OP] senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,960
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    I didnt even think the spare had one until i got on TW. Lotta people here with good knowledge.:cool:

    TPMS= Terrorists Plotting More Sh!t!
     
To Top