1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS answers to question

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by Tacoyota, Aug 14, 2009.

  1. Aug 15, 2009 at 8:01 PM
    #21
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    10,084
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    NEK Island Pond VT
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    Here's info from toyota.com on page 3

    http://www.toyota.com/upfitters/pdfs/specs/2009TacomaNewFeatures.pdf

    Some folks here who bought 09s said no sensor in their spare. Maybe yours was different? :notsure:

    You gotta drop it to find out since the tire is flipped with the sensor facing up from the factory. I flipped mine to make it easier to check periodically.
     
  2. Aug 16, 2009 at 9:53 AM
    #22
    jcayce

    jcayce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18475
    Messages:
    763
    Gender:
    Male
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    17 DCSBTRDOR4X4
    Full size aluminum spare? I was scraping 'sound deadening' option off of the driveline a few days after I bought it, I don't know why I did not notice this. I will contact the dealer and ask on Monday why I have one. It seems extremely odd as it was a bitching point of mine over my old Frontier Nismo 4X4 that had one. I left the rim with sensor side up to protect it from rock chips.
     
  3. Aug 16, 2009 at 5:58 PM
    #23
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    10,084
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    NEK Island Pond VT
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    Congrats if you got 5 nice rims on your new tacoma. The dealer usually doesn't give anything away :thumbsup: Mine is the black steel type spare.
     
  4. Aug 16, 2009 at 7:05 PM
    #24
    indycross

    indycross Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Member:
    #18508
    Messages:
    389
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ross
    Dripping Springs, Texas
    Vehicle:
    1981 FJ40 Land Cruiser, 2018 4Runner Limited; 2011 Tundra Crewcab 4WD
    Nice wheels man! :D
     
  5. Aug 16, 2009 at 7:14 PM
    #25
    kevhogaz

    kevhogaz Low Speed, High Drag

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Member:
    #9055
    Messages:
    323
    Gender:
    Male
    Queen Creek, Arizona
    Vehicle:
    SR5 PreRunner
    3" lift front & rear, Air Raid Intake System

    Can you show me somewhere this law is printed, or available online? I work at a dealership, and have never heard this.

    Also, what dealer are you using in Portland?
     
  6. Aug 16, 2009 at 7:16 PM
    #26
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota [OP] senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,933
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    Thanks ,lol. I'm still rubbing yer name off.;) I had assumed the tpms was same steel to aluminum toyota. If thats the worst mistake i make on it then I got it made.:D
     
  7. Aug 16, 2009 at 7:21 PM
    #27
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota [OP] senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,933
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    Hiya Kev, found it online in a pdf and cant relocate it, like someone said earlier, likely an unenforcable law.Dealer is Broadway toyota, quoting me $95 for a seasonal tire reprogram swap. The wheelbarrow part is humor, responding to someone exileing the ensors to the rear.
     
  8. Aug 16, 2009 at 7:26 PM
    #28
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota [OP] senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,933
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    Kev , its at toyotatpms.com. under "what is toyota TPMS". When reading it , i dont read it as a pure law like murder n such, but it does make a comment about repair being done before the car leave the premise.
     
  9. Aug 16, 2009 at 7:30 PM
    #29
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota [OP] senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,933
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    Also Kev , you might be the right person to confirm the part about 2008s having ,or not, an switch to run a main set or winter set.
     
  10. Aug 16, 2009 at 7:30 PM
    #30
    only49ersfan

    only49ersfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17394
    Messages:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma 4X4
    Not much. Step bars, K&N air filter
    Check out the TIA and NHTSA website. Federal law prohibits "knowingly disabling TPMS". If there is a Costco near you, check them out. They sell the sensors at a much lower price than the dealership. And they (should...the one I work at does) have the proper tools to allow your ECU to identify the new sensors.
     
  11. Aug 16, 2009 at 7:32 PM
    #31
    only49ersfan

    only49ersfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17394
    Messages:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma 4X4
    Not much. Step bars, K&N air filter
    P.S. my 09 taco does not have a sensor in my spare (steel) wheel
     
  12. Aug 16, 2009 at 7:48 PM
    #32
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota [OP] senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,933
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    Thanks only49erfans, the nhtsa document was the one i did't relocate.
     
  13. Aug 16, 2009 at 8:44 PM
    #33
    kevhogaz

    kevhogaz Low Speed, High Drag

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Member:
    #9055
    Messages:
    323
    Gender:
    Male
    Queen Creek, Arizona
    Vehicle:
    SR5 PreRunner
    3" lift front & rear, Air Raid Intake System
    Broadway Toyota, ahh the good old days. The stories I could tell about some of the parts guys there. $95.00 is an hours labor to reprogram your sensors, and it's a pain to do it with the Toyota scan tool.

    Anyways, I don't know about the switch, I'll look tomorrow. I do know, that all the vehicles I've replaced, or added sensors too, there has only been one set of parameters shown for 4 or 5 sensors. You could eliminate one sensor, but I don't know having two sets.
     
  14. Aug 16, 2009 at 8:55 PM
    #34
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota [OP] senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,933
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    I might peek at the offending ECU tomorrow, from the web hunting it has been talked about only in general and refered to as " ...on certain model cars...", never heard tacomas mentioned specificly.
    Reviewing a thread on the ecu, its not readily accessable, not sure if i want to pull out the radio or trim below it just to see it.
     
  15. Aug 20, 2009 at 5:43 PM
    #35
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota [OP] senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,933
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    yours has only 4, 1 in each wheel. Consider a wheel swap that uses the same sensor from stock if you dont reuse the old wheels. Aluminum wheels from toyota use a different sensor than toyota steel wheels. Do a bit of searching, i did and still missed the difference , haha oh well, its gonna work.
     
  16. Nov 11, 2009 at 5:48 AM
    #36
    HankB

    HankB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Member:
    #24871
    Messages:
    214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Hank
    near Chicago
    Vehicle:
    06 Preruner TRD Off Road
    bone stock
    FWIW, I bought snows and steel wheels for winter swap at Discount Tire. Their scan tool must be less painful because they committed to reprogramming my '06 twice a year (when they swap wheels/tires) at no additional charge.

    When I handed them the sheet with the numbers for the TPMS I got off eBay for $100, they told me they didn't need to type in the numbers with their new tool.

    I suppose any decent tire shop has to have the scan tool for this and the ones that want your business will probably do the reprogramming for free.
     
  17. Nov 11, 2009 at 6:24 AM
    #37
    kevhogaz

    kevhogaz Low Speed, High Drag

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Member:
    #9055
    Messages:
    323
    Gender:
    Male
    Queen Creek, Arizona
    Vehicle:
    SR5 PreRunner
    3" lift front & rear, Air Raid Intake System
    I'm gonna ask the Sanp-On guy about one of those programmers. Our Toyota really is a pain in the butt to use.
     
  18. Nov 11, 2009 at 6:28 AM
    #38
    NumNutz

    NumNutz One of the original 7928

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Member:
    #7928
    Messages:
    4,897
    Gender:
    Male
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma 4x4 - Kings, TC, Dakars, broken stuff
    Lots.
    Quick question trying not to thread jack. My TPMS light came on. All of my tires I checked except for the spare. Do you have to pull the spare to check it or is it easier than that?
     
  19. Nov 11, 2009 at 6:48 AM
    #39
    kevhogaz

    kevhogaz Low Speed, High Drag

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Member:
    #9055
    Messages:
    323
    Gender:
    Male
    Queen Creek, Arizona
    Vehicle:
    SR5 PreRunner
    3" lift front & rear, Air Raid Intake System
    Sometimes you can get the air chuck in there, but unless you have a flexible one, you may need to lower it down to access the sensor.
     
  20. Nov 11, 2009 at 6:48 AM
    #40
    HankB

    HankB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Member:
    #24871
    Messages:
    214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Hank
    near Chicago
    Vehicle:
    06 Preruner TRD Off Road
    bone stock
    The spare in our '06 is mounted outside (and valve) up. Probably have to drop it.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top