1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS answers to question

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by Tacoyota, Aug 14, 2009.

  1. Nov 11, 2009 at 6:59 AM
    #41
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    10,085
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    NEK Island Pond VT
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    I flipped mine after the first time having to do this.
     
  2. Nov 11, 2009 at 9:47 AM
    #42
    NumNutz

    NumNutz One of the original 7928

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Member:
    #7928
    Messages:
    4,897
    Gender:
    Male
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma 4x4 - Kings, TC, Dakars, broken stuff
    Lots.
    Thanks
     
  3. Nov 22, 2009 at 6:01 PM
    #43
    ashjwilliams

    ashjwilliams Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Member:
    #24028
    Messages:
    196
    Gender:
    Male
    Having just bought a new 2010, this is one of the things that I am less than pleased with. Basically there are around $500 worth of sensors installed to do the job of a $2 air pressure gauge...? Is this correct?

    Also how does one proceed with installing aftermarket wheels then (specifically ATX Mojave) with TPMS? I was thinking about having dedicated winter wheels/tires, dedicated other season wheels/tires, and potentially even another set for off road activities. Is there anyway to completely disable the tpms "feature"? And no, I do not find rigging up a pressurized container to store them (within the vehicle) acceptable lol.
     
  4. Nov 22, 2009 at 6:20 PM
    #44
    HankB

    HankB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Member:
    #24871
    Messages:
    214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Hank
    near Chicago
    Vehicle:
    06 Preruner TRD Off Road
    bone stock
    I use an $8 digital gauge.

    I got a set of steel wheels to use for dedicated winter tires. For about $100 I found a set of TPM sensors on eBay. You might also find them for sale from other members here.

    I bought snow tires and steel wheels from Discount Tire. They reprogrammed my truck for the TPM sensors in the snow tires at that time and agreed to reprogram twice a year when they swap tires (at no extra charge.)

    Other members have just put something over the gauge where the TPM light is to make it easier to ignore.
     
  5. Nov 22, 2009 at 7:07 PM
    #45
    Taco Ron

    Taco Ron Male Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Member:
    #21924
    Messages:
    255
    Gender:
    Male
    Couldn't you also just desolder the SMD LED in the gauge cluster so that you don't get the tire pressure warning light? I personally like the idea of having TPMS, but that could be a much cheaper solution.
     
  6. Nov 22, 2009 at 7:29 PM
    #46
    jassco

    jassco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Member:
    #20568
    Messages:
    556
    Gender:
    Male
    Boston
    Vehicle:
    2008 4runner, UrbanRunner Silver
    Just dropped my spare today, rubber stem on spare so no sensor thankfully. It looks like the 09+ lost the "feature" for good. Only 4 more tires to lose them on now.........
     
  7. Nov 22, 2009 at 7:48 PM
    #47
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota [OP] senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,933
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    Thought this thread looked familiar. No problems with my new wheels, tires or sensors. The winter tires are good enough to stay in 2wd on the freeeway with 3" snow, packed or fresh.
    $340 for 4 sensors, $350 for wheels if I recall, $500 for tires and mounting adds up to around $1200 ouch.
    Staying on the road on ice, worth every cent!
     
  8. Nov 22, 2009 at 8:24 PM
    #48
    BradleyJ33

    BradleyJ33 Geaux Tigers

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Member:
    #18594
    Messages:
    493
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brad
    Brandon, MS
    Vehicle:
    2010 TRD Sport 4x4 DCSB S/C'd
    TRD Supercharger with URD 2.825" Pulley, Toytec Ultimate Lift, LR UCAs, BFG All Terrain 275/70R17s on Procomp 7089 17" wheels, BAMF rock sliders, Viper 5902 alarm/remote start with smartstart, Pioneer Avic-Z110BT dvd/navi head unit, 2 Pioneer 7" monitors in headrests, 2 Rockford Fosgate Shallow-mount 10" subs pushed by RF Punch 500.2 amp, RF 5.25 components (front doors) and 5.25 full range (back doors) pushed by RF Power 400.4 amp, sound deadened, Whistler pro remote radar detector, scangauge II, debadged, Sockmonkey decals, blacked headlights with FX-R projectors, DDM Tuning HID fogs, Grillcraft upper and lower MX grill with Hella 500ffs converted to HIDs behind, AFE Stage 2 Cold Air Intake, Walbro 255 Fuel Pump upgrade, Dynomax Super Turbo muffler, Bestop Supertop, Wet Okole seat covers, Weathertech floor liners, Pop & Lock tailgate handle, Lighted 4x4 switch mod, 2 110v AC outlets in cab mod, Always at 400W mod, Maplights on with dome light mod, homelink in headliner mod, foglight
    If I plan on getting a set of MotoMetal 951s, would I need the 20 or 40 degree TPMS? Anyone know?
     
  9. Nov 23, 2009 at 6:59 AM
    #49
    hillbillytoyo

    hillbillytoyo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Member:
    #15494
    Messages:
    614
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    WV
    Vehicle:
    17 Tundra Crewmax SR5 TRD Off Road.
    G2 bed cover
    I went to the dealership the other day for an oil change and when the tech got done he was acting like a jerk. Her was like , hey man your wheel sensors are gone and if you bring it back without fixing it I will have to fail your inspection. He just kept saying that over and over. I have a set of FJ TRD wheels but my truck came w/the factory steels and the sensors wouldn't transfer even when trying the 180 turn. My question is this, can the TPMS be disabled or the light be turned off? I'm not going to spend 500$ to keep a stupid light off.
     
  10. Nov 23, 2009 at 8:31 AM
    #50
    bb609

    bb609 O.F.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Member:
    #18509
    Messages:
    812
    Gender:
    Male
    NH
    Vehicle:
    '09 TRD Sport Access Cab
    FOX 2 1/2" CO's STOCK UCA's - They used to be Icons! Icons suck!!! TSB Rear w/Bilstein 5100's - Air Lift System - Leer 550 Bedcover - Ventshades - Yota Bed Mat - Sheepskins!!! - Weathertechs
    See post #7. Mine are still happy.

    Go find another dealer too!
     
  11. Nov 23, 2009 at 9:23 AM
    #51
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,318
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
  12. Nov 23, 2009 at 3:40 PM
    #52
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota [OP] senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,933
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.

    Unofortunately federal law require them to fix TPMS before leaving the shop being a safety item.
     
  13. Nov 24, 2009 at 5:22 AM
    #53
    HankB

    HankB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Member:
    #24871
    Messages:
    214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Hank
    near Chicago
    Vehicle:
    06 Preruner TRD Off Road
    bone stock
    That strikes me as odd. There are a lot of other safety systems on vehicles, many of which can be disabled intentionally or can stop functioning. I do not recall any law that requires a service facility to fix the problem before releasing the vehicle to the customer. It would make more sense to require that for critical systems such as brakes and yet I have never heard of that being a requirement. Nevertheless, it is not required that our laws make sense, so I did some research. Here's what I found. Emphasis is mine.

    http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov/cars/rules/rulings/tirepresfinal/finalrule.html (Index at http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov/cars/rules/rulings/tirepresfinal/index.html)

    And
    So I'm going to suggest that this meme is only true on the Internet and not in real life. A shop must keep TPMS operative unless they are replacing with aftermarket rims or non-standard size tires. If the TPMS is inoperative when the car comes in, the shop is not required to repair it.
     
  14. Nov 24, 2009 at 3:37 PM
    #54
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota [OP] senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,933
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    I saw it on a web page from NHTSB or whatever theyre called and a page for mechanics concerning TPMS, think I have a links. Seemed odd to me too but thats the way it written. I'll edit if i find the link.

    http://www.tireindustry.org/pdf/TPMS_FinalRule_v3.pdf its in there. the shorter version link i couldnt find
     
  15. Nov 24, 2009 at 5:07 PM
    #55
    HankB

    HankB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Member:
    #24871
    Messages:
    214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Hank
    near Chicago
    Vehicle:
    06 Preruner TRD Off Road
    bone stock
    Where?

    On page 26 of that PDF I find:
    (emphasis mine.) There is also language about "not knowingly make inoperative" (But being a PDF, I can't select just that text to quote.) It is on the same page.

    I see language that forbids a technician from disabling the system and I also see language that explicitly states that they do not have to repair a system that comes in non-functional.
     
  16. Nov 24, 2009 at 5:29 PM
    #56
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota [OP] senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,933
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    I may have the wrong link, it there in other threads. If I cant re-find it , its still there. 3 or so of us had the same data

    Simply, if you go to the shop and they say it has to be fixed dont be surprised. Shops dont always lie.
     
  17. Nov 24, 2009 at 5:47 PM
    #57
    HankB

    HankB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Member:
    #24871
    Messages:
    214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Hank
    near Chicago
    Vehicle:
    06 Preruner TRD Off Road
    bone stock
    If you ever run across it again, feel free to add it to this thread. (Please do a reply so I get an email and it bubbles back to the top.)

    Not an issue for me. I plan to keep the TPM system operative, even to the extent of spending over $100 to get sensors and have them installed in my winter tire/wheels.

    I'm not trying to imply that anyone is lying. But all too often these things take on a life of their own and get passed around until everyone takes them as truth. Ever play a game called telephone? A line of people pass a statement along from one to another. It is amazing how much the statement changes after going through several people. It would not surprise me if the "cannot disable" requirement morphed into "must repair" requirement in just several hops.
     
  18. Nov 24, 2009 at 6:00 PM
    #58
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota [OP] senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,933
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    Yea, proof is good. post 30 here had a direction it got me to the gov documnets. I had the stuff in the favorites under toyota documents but lost that folder. I dont want hassles from the dealer so I did the whole deal with the right sensor for the right wheels. That was before the fix part came into play, that sorta becomes a threadkill.
    Either way I wont be going to the dealer for a $95 reprogram,nor did I pay their $185 for sensors, got oem for $85-90 bucks online.
     
  19. Nov 25, 2009 at 2:35 PM
    #59
    glwood6

    glwood6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Member:
    #8125
    Messages:
    1,704
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Albuquerque, NM
    Vehicle:
    '13 MGM AC 4x4 TRD OR
    Husky front mud flaps, OEM bed mat, 3D floor mats, Wet Okole seat covers, fog lights anytime mod, rear diff breather extension, aluminum Relentless tailgate reinforcement, NWexpo corner gussets, 265/75-16 Hankook Dynapro ATM
    Will Discount Tire re-program sensors that are from another vehicle, if you didn't get the tires from them?

    Got alloys from another member, and tried my steel wheel sensors, had to mount them 180 degrees to get them to work, but the OEM sensors are on the way and will need to be reprogrammed for my truck...I was wondering if Discount will just reprogram sensors as a service...
     
  20. Nov 25, 2009 at 2:42 PM
    #60
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota [OP] senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,933
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    Anyone with the programmer can program them, they may charge you $90 or so, but there are odd limitations. Some frequencies are shared between 40 and 20 degrees, the rep said some aren't. Best bet is to use toyotas on toyotas, but even then there are 3 types i think. So if another vehicle is the same model and same wheel type ( ie steel tacoma wheels), should be no problem.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top