1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS in spare?

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by udrunk2002, Jul 27, 2020.

  1. Jul 27, 2020 at 1:08 PM
    #1
    udrunk2002

    udrunk2002 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Member:
    #263226
    Messages:
    101
    Gender:
    Male
    quick question...is there a tpms sensor in the spare on 2018 OR?
     
  2. Jul 27, 2020 at 1:13 PM
    #2
    tonered

    tonered tacorider

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    14,431
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    No. For whatever reason, our system can only handle the four main sensors. To add a fifth, you have reprogram the TPM System with that sensor number.

    It is easy to do either with TechStream (see below) and a USB adapter or the Carista app.
     
    udrunk2002 [OP] likes this.
  3. Jul 27, 2020 at 1:57 PM
    #3
    Jeff Lange

    Jeff Lange Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Member:
    #155616
    Messages:
    1,369
    Edmonton, AB
    Vehicle:
    '86 AE86, '05 NCP13, '11 GSE21
    1995-2005: No TPMS
    2006-2008: 5-sensor TPMS
    2009-2020: 4-sensor TPMS

    Jeff
     
    Malvolio, AKGSD, -Rorschach- and 10 others like this.
  4. Jul 28, 2020 at 10:56 AM
    #4
    CDNTacoma2019

    CDNTacoma2019 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2020
    Member:
    #331931
    Messages:
    108
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2019 SR5 DCLB 4x4
    Canada 0 TPMS system. One less thing to worry about failing.....
     
    Malvolio and Spare Parts like this.
  5. Jul 28, 2020 at 11:01 AM
    #5
    tonered

    tonered tacorider

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    14,431
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    I understand that feeling. Although, I do like the system. The fact that it reports actual pressures is very nice compared to the system on our Subaru that will only toss up an idiot light if a tire is below the threshold. That is useless to me.

    Interestingly, the ECU is seeing pressures down to 0.01psi as well as temps. Neat stuff.
     
    Malvolio and BlkTaco47 like this.
  6. Jul 28, 2020 at 11:16 AM
    #6
    Jeff Lange

    Jeff Lange Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Member:
    #155616
    Messages:
    1,369
    Edmonton, AB
    Vehicle:
    '86 AE86, '05 NCP13, '11 GSE21
    Depends on the model/grade, but yeah it's nice for swapping tires and so on. My Lexus can store two sets which is great for winter, but also means I need to own two sets of sensors.

    Additionally, at least the first 2-3 times I had the system tell me to check my pressures I first assumed the system was malfunctioning before realizing that, no, I actually have a puncture and it was letting me know, as it should, haha. It's a light-only system, seeing the actual pressures makes it much more user friendly to know what's going on.

    Jeff
     
    tonered likes this.
  7. Jul 28, 2020 at 11:28 AM
    #7
    Smacky2020

    Smacky2020 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Member:
    #326715
    Messages:
    113
    Southwest VA
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD ORDC - Cement
    Stock wheels and suspension. Random "utilitarian" mods featured on this great forum.
    I don't get why manufacturers do that. The tpms sensors have all of that built in so when you're looking at PIDs, you see all of it yet they couldn't be bothered to show the psi values on screen. Both our Hyundais were like yours with an idiot light. When it came on, I'd love to know if I'm 3 psi or 13 under.
     
    Malvolio, Boghog1 and tonered like this.
  8. Jul 28, 2020 at 11:31 AM
    #8
    tonered

    tonered tacorider

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    14,431
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    Folks struggle with the info that we already have? But, yeah. I like more. More is better.


    Thankfully, we have not had an issue with the Subaru, pressure-wise. I'm sure it will be a panic call when it happens.
     
  9. Jul 28, 2020 at 12:50 PM
    #9
    jmauvais

    jmauvais Received 2 votes in a poll one time.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Member:
    #199716
    Messages:
    3,569
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD OR 4x4 DCSB
    ...stuff
    Some people prefer the 5 sensor TOMS, but my dad had an 08. He had his tire light come on and had to check all the pressures, which were all good. He couldn’t figure it out. Finally dawned on him to check the spare which was 1 psi low. He hated that system in the spare.
     
    tonered likes this.
  10. Jul 28, 2020 at 1:59 PM
    #10
    JStarr

    JStarr Life Off the Road

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Member:
    #221006
    Messages:
    322
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jonathan KH6X
    Kaupo Southeast Maui, Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma 3rd Gen 2017 quicksand TRD OR, T4R 5th Gen TRD ORP silver , Tundra 2000 TRD OR silver, Deere 5300 4wd, Wrangler 1994 ARB air lockers, 1998 BMW R100RTL.
    It's a stupid way to achieve a minor manufacturing saving by Toyota. I used to do 5 wheel rotations, but now not possible without hassle. Also, have to take the spare down to check air every once in a while, or risk getting caught without a usable spare.
     
    tonered likes this.
  11. Jul 28, 2020 at 2:07 PM
    #11
    tonered

    tonered tacorider

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    14,431
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    I have flipped the spare over for easy air checks. The stem is near the axle just to prevent the unlikely chance of it getting caught on something.
     
    AKGSD and JStarr like this.
  12. Jul 28, 2020 at 2:51 PM
    #12
    Saturnine

    Saturnine I am a meat popsicle

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2020
    Member:
    #332540
    Messages:
    53
    Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    17 TRD OR AC MGM
    What? My '17 has them. And my '08 Saturn has them
     
  13. Jul 28, 2020 at 3:17 PM
    #13
    Taco_mike73

    Taco_mike73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Member:
    #311413
    Messages:
    391
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    York, PA
    Vehicle:
    06 Jeep Liberty CRD, 2020 dcsb SR5 4wd Cement
    My 06 Liberty has the 5 tire system but it doesn't seem to always know what tire is low. It seems to know if it's the spare, but not the which of the 4 on the ground. It only puts up a light in the dash and will say low tire pressure in the overhead console or spare low.
     
  14. Jul 31, 2020 at 9:23 AM
    #14
    Jeff Lange

    Jeff Lange Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Member:
    #155616
    Messages:
    1,369
    Edmonton, AB
    Vehicle:
    '86 AE86, '05 NCP13, '11 GSE21
    TPMS is an option in Canada included in various packages, but it is standard on all cars in the USA.

    Jeff
     
  15. Jul 31, 2020 at 9:26 AM
    #15
    tonered

    tonered tacorider

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    14,431
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    The Taco knows! I find it amazing that it can determine the position of each sensor on its own even after a (cross)rotation.

    I can only guess that it is comparing rotational speeds around corners between the sensors and the ABS unit?
     
  16. Jul 31, 2020 at 9:46 AM
    #16
    Jeff Lange

    Jeff Lange Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Member:
    #155616
    Messages:
    1,369
    Edmonton, AB
    Vehicle:
    '86 AE86, '05 NCP13, '11 GSE21
    2005-2015 Tacomas cannot tell which sensor is where, however on 2016+ the newer sensors calculate position in accordance with information about the intensity of radio waves from the tire pressure sensor.

    Jeff
     
    Malvolio, AKGSD and tonered like this.
  17. Jul 31, 2020 at 9:49 AM
    #17
    tonered

    tonered tacorider

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    14,431
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    Good stuff, as always! That is a sensitive receiver.
     
    AKGSD likes this.
  18. Jul 31, 2020 at 10:06 AM
    #18
    Taco_mike73

    Taco_mike73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Member:
    #311413
    Messages:
    391
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    York, PA
    Vehicle:
    06 Jeep Liberty CRD, 2020 dcsb SR5 4wd Cement
    Yes my new Tacoma can show the tire pressure per each spot. Definitely that could be helpful.
    I did notice mine are all 35-36 psi. Is that right?
     
  19. Jul 31, 2020 at 10:15 AM
    #19
    tonered

    tonered tacorider

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    14,431
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    Thankfully no punctures for me yet.

    I run 35 based on handling and wear. That might work for you also. You just have to gauge it.

    My stock tires at the end:
    IMG_20190928_104412.jpg
     
  20. Jul 31, 2020 at 10:19 AM
    #20
    Rock Lobster

    Rock Lobster The Ignore button is for weaklings.

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2018
    Member:
    #275833
    Messages:
    2,454
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Stooooock!
    I was moving to another city when my 2016 was new. Flatted out on the interstate between towns. It was nice that the readout not only alerted me which tire but how much pressure was in it. Then I could use the rate of change to decide whether I had to pull over right then or if I could get off the highway and find a safer spot to change the tire. Turns out the next exit had a Discount Tire shop that repaired it for me. I love the new TPMS system.

    But to answer your question, no. The spare doesnt have one.
     
    AKGSD and tonered like this.

Products Discussed in

To Top