1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS in spare?

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by udrunk2002, Jul 27, 2020.

  1. Jul 31, 2020 at 12:37 PM
    #41
    Outdoorsy_Yota

    Outdoorsy_Yota Hella-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Member:
    #259229
    Messages:
    545
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    duhbondo JIW Local 378
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    17 DCLB TRD OR LOL
    LOLI'll be sure to record the aftermath
     
    Stocklocker likes this.
  2. Jul 31, 2020 at 12:49 PM
    #42
    tonered

    tonered tacorider

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    14,599
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    The only hard lesson here is not having the Sensor IDs written down. With that, you can try whatever you would like.
     
  3. Jul 31, 2020 at 12:51 PM
    #43
    Outdoorsy_Yota

    Outdoorsy_Yota Hella-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Member:
    #259229
    Messages:
    545
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    duhbondo JIW Local 378
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    17 DCLB TRD OR LOL
    Yeah, reason i love this new tool... Im able to extract the ID and TPMS info through the tire...
     
    tonered likes this.
  4. Jul 31, 2020 at 12:54 PM
    #44
    tonered

    tonered tacorider

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    14,599
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    Edit: My bad. I see in the your earlier post that you have a scanning tool. Leaving the rest for others.

    TS is certainly cool, but! it is not extracting info. It is just presenting what was entered into memory. If you don't have them saved in notes somewhere, the only way to get the info is through a scanning tool or physically looking at the sensors.

    Of course, saving a screenshot (Shift + WIN key + S) is easy.

    :cheers:

    Screenshot_20181116-160714_Carista.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2020
    Outdoorsy_Yota likes this.
  5. Jul 31, 2020 at 1:04 PM
    #45
    Outdoorsy_Yota

    Outdoorsy_Yota Hella-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Member:
    #259229
    Messages:
    545
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    duhbondo JIW Local 378
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    17 DCLB TRD OR LOL
    Man, I feel confused now.. Im sure it is extracting the ID's... I tried the tool on my wife's honda civic... Her TPMS kept going off in the morning... Her car does not display actual PSI... I was able to scan all sensors through the tire and it gave me the ID numbers for all of them... along with tire pressure, location, battery life..

    Turns out her tires were low... one was 8psi under... reason the light would go away before she got to work a few blocks away
     
    tonered likes this.
  6. Jul 31, 2020 at 1:10 PM
    #46
    tonered

    tonered tacorider

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    14,599
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    Other automaker's TPMS may report different info to the factory ECU tool.

    If there is a learn feature in TS, I think a lot of folks would appreciate that nugget of knowledge.

    Just for clarity, your Autel tool definitely will tell you for all TPMS sensors. I (and others?) are just not aware of that ability in TechStream.
     
  7. Jul 31, 2020 at 1:23 PM
    #47
    Texas

    Texas Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Member:
    #43384
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    That is correct. The change did happen in 2016 for Pacific TPMS. Both 20 and 40 degree versions.
     
  8. Jul 31, 2020 at 1:31 PM
    #48
    Outdoorsy_Yota

    Outdoorsy_Yota Hella-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Member:
    #259229
    Messages:
    545
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    duhbondo JIW Local 378
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    17 DCLB TRD OR LOL
    There is definitely a "learn" feature... You can take an ID number from the ECU and clone it on one of their Autel MX-Sensors OR re-write OEM codes and the vehicle will not know the difference... Their "MX" line of sensors work for both 315 and 433mhz tpms... The tool is only 250 bucks because in order to clone or program a sensor, you HAVE to use their sensors... No biggie... they are inexpensive... but whats cool is it reads "OEM" sensors and pulls the data...

    Im impatient as all hell... I bought a Parts store sensor that claims to be "OEM - No programming need" not the case... i tried it.... I installed it in the tire with the broken tpms... Inflated the tire... I started the "relearn" process within the tool.. it had me scan each tire in a specific order... I dont have a spare tire TPMS (coming today) and since it FORCES YOU to scan the spare TPMS to continue, I scanned one of the tires again... it recognized it as a duplicate and rejected it showing on the next screen (step) the spare tire as an error, but all the existing tires and their respective ID's and locations... I followed the steps on screen on how to get the truck prepared... it asked me to plug in to the OBDII... it read the existing ID's (gave me on screen what those ID's are) and then rewrote the new ID's and locations...

    truck was 100% done... light was off when i started it and not even 100 yards down the parking lot, tire pressures came up

    EDIT: I'm not an expert... I literally just got the tool to fix trail damage... Im figuring all this shit out...
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2020
  9. Jul 31, 2020 at 1:38 PM
    #49
    tonered

    tonered tacorider

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    14,599
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    That's a pretty cool setup.
     
  10. Jul 31, 2020 at 1:53 PM
    #50
    Outdoorsy_Yota

    Outdoorsy_Yota Hella-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Member:
    #259229
    Messages:
    545
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    duhbondo JIW Local 378
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    17 DCLB TRD OR LOL
    Malvolio and tonered like this.
  11. Jul 31, 2020 at 2:02 PM
    #51
    RobP62

    RobP62 Bla Bla Bla

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Member:
    #220718
    Messages:
    35,147
    First Name:
    Rob
    Street, Md.
    Vehicle:
    TTC Member #0125
    I borrowed my buddies Autel TS508 with some new sensors I bought off eBay.

    I had never used the tool before. I was able to read the sensors, including the one in my spare, and then programming them into the trucks ECU in less than 30 minutes. Started the truck up and the low pressure light was not on. These tires originally had 2nd Gen sensors in them so they could not be registered. Even with Techstream at the dealer. Did the obligatory drive at 50 mph for about 5 minutes and low and behold I had known pressures for all 4 tires.

    So when I diagnosed the ECU with the device it showed me 5 sensor id's. Naturally though the trucks display can only show 4. I wondered if I was going to have to reprogram them each time I rotated them (I do the 5 tire). The guy I borrowed the tool from said well, likely not. After the rotation, since all the tires are programmed, then all I should have to do is hit the reset button under the dash. In another 4k miles I will test it.

    So I wondered. How does it know which tire is where to be able to show me the pressure? My only guess is as they rotate it knows which one is stationary. It's the only thing that makes sense. My spare is too big to mount under the truck so it is in the bed against the front the bed. I verified the sensors in the tires mounted were the ones it was reading by deflating them some, reading the pressure, then checking them with my air gauge. It's not a digital gauge but they were dead on.
     
    Outdoorsy_Yota likes this.
  12. Jul 31, 2020 at 2:13 PM
    #52
    Outdoorsy_Yota

    Outdoorsy_Yota Hella-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Member:
    #259229
    Messages:
    545
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    duhbondo JIW Local 378
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    17 DCLB TRD OR LOL

    Thanks! I'll be testing the 5th TPMS mystery tonight... hope it works.. and I'm really glad i bought the TS508. Screw the dealer
     
    RobP62 likes this.
  13. Jul 31, 2020 at 2:24 PM
    #53
    RobP62

    RobP62 Bla Bla Bla

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Member:
    #220718
    Messages:
    35,147
    First Name:
    Rob
    Street, Md.
    Vehicle:
    TTC Member #0125
    Yea, I am thinking about buying my own. It's pricey but the dealer wanted $150 to do 4 of them. One of the best benefits of the better tool is that you can view the battery status. Of course with the complete kit you connect it to your laptop and download all the data. I think that is really nice. I plan on recording which sensor number is in which sensor and then create a table in Word or Excel so I can record all the data and track my rotations too.

    It's a little nerdy and overkill considering I grew up without any of this tech and survived all that time ok. However, I learned firsthand what the TPMS system is really designed to do with a rental in Florida last year. 30 minutes into our trip from Tampa to Key West the TPMS warned me there was only 25 psi in one of the rear tires. It was enough of a warning to get off the highway to a gas station with a pump. Then a way to monitor it for the rest of the week.

    Being lazy and not wanting to do it manually on my truck has nothing to do with anything :anonymous:
     
    Outdoorsy_Yota likes this.
  14. Jul 31, 2020 at 2:41 PM
    #54
    Outdoorsy_Yota

    Outdoorsy_Yota Hella-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Member:
    #259229
    Messages:
    545
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    duhbondo JIW Local 378
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    17 DCLB TRD OR LOL

    I completely agree. Someone said it this morning, "Im not a boomer, but i was raised by one" lol

    and there is a reason TPMS is mandated in all vehicles after Sept 1, 2007
     
    RobP62 likes this.
  15. Jul 31, 2020 at 2:46 PM
    #55
    RobP62

    RobP62 Bla Bla Bla

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Member:
    #220718
    Messages:
    35,147
    First Name:
    Rob
    Street, Md.
    Vehicle:
    TTC Member #0125
    Information is power. :thumbsup:
     
    Outdoorsy_Yota likes this.
  16. Jul 31, 2020 at 4:44 PM
    #56
    Outdoorsy_Yota

    Outdoorsy_Yota Hella-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Member:
    #259229
    Messages:
    545
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    duhbondo JIW Local 378
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    17 DCLB TRD OR LOL
    Alright fellas.... I got home. Installed the new sensor, reprogrammed it, the truck accepted all 5 but only show record of 4.... I’m driving this bitch now to get my daughter pizza.... the PSI showed up before I hit the block....

    When I get home, I’ll rotate the spare in... leave the one I’m rotating at home to avoid the truck picking it up on the rear carrier....


    I’ll hit the little magic button beneath the dash and we will see if the truck recognizes a 5th tire in a 4 slot memory.... fingers crossed
     
    RobP62 likes this.
  17. Jul 31, 2020 at 4:47 PM
    #57
    Smacky2020

    Smacky2020 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Member:
    #326715
    Messages:
    119
    Southwest VA
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD ORDC - Cement
    Stock wheels and suspension. Random "utilitarian" mods featured on this great forum.
    If the car blows up on you after you hit the button, I'm going back and editing my post to hide evidence. Impressive getting the sensor installed that quickly; do you have a tire machine at your place?
     
  18. Jul 31, 2020 at 4:50 PM
    #58
    Outdoorsy_Yota

    Outdoorsy_Yota Hella-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Member:
    #259229
    Messages:
    545
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    duhbondo JIW Local 378
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    17 DCLB TRD OR LOL
    LOL I thought about that post LOL

    and nah, man... hi-lift jack off my rear bumper.... I’ll post photos.... I’m used to fixing things on the trail LOL actually.... I have a photo....

    B232BED4-044A-4A88-872E-3503665DAC5C.jpg
    2CDACAA3-9F86-4AB2-AA29-BB3714B1DEA8.jpg
     
  19. Jul 31, 2020 at 4:54 PM
    #59
    Smacky2020

    Smacky2020 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Member:
    #326715
    Messages:
    119
    Southwest VA
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD ORDC - Cement
    Stock wheels and suspension. Random "utilitarian" mods featured on this great forum.
    Fancy. As long as you don't pinch your sensor in the rubber... er, tire.
     
  20. Jul 31, 2020 at 5:01 PM
    #60
    Outdoorsy_Yota

    Outdoorsy_Yota Hella-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Member:
    #259229
    Messages:
    545
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    duhbondo JIW Local 378
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    17 DCLB TRD OR LOL
    Yeah, that was the broken sensor.... I believe.... now I just keep the sensor on the opposite side.... and even with a broken bead.... the other bead is so tight that the tire won’t spin on the rim.... tire won’t go out of balance....
     
    RobP62 likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top