1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS ISSUE?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Munnyshot, Apr 26, 2017.

  1. Apr 26, 2017 at 7:10 AM
    #1
    Munnyshot

    Munnyshot [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Member:
    #217245
    Messages:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    Lakewood, CA
    Vehicle:
    2018 SR5 DCSB 2wd
    I just bought my 2008 a few days ago and the Low Tire pressure light has come on. Upon starting the vehicle, it will flash for a bit then stay on. It did not do this when I initially bought it, so I thought I might have a slow leak. I took it to America's Tire to check the psi of all the tires and, they were all at correct psi.

    The guy there checked all of my tpms sensors with their remote device and it showed that all 4 of my tire tpms sensors were working. He then checked to see if the spare had a sensor and the remote showed that there was a sensor and it was bad. I had them change it out and sync it, but the light still comes on, and has been for the past few days.

    Is there anything else that could cause the light to stay on like this?

    I am going back in today to see if there is anything else they can do or, at the very least, get my moey back. Im just hoping that I dont have to go to the dealership because that can get pricey.

    Any info is much appreciated!! Thanks
     
  2. Apr 26, 2017 at 7:16 AM
    #2
    Doughnut Spaghetti

    Doughnut Spaghetti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Member:
    #211939
    Messages:
    2,594
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kristofer
    Lansing, Michigan
    Vehicle:
    2009 Tacoma SR5
    Could be one of the batteries are going out on one of them.
     
    TRDSport10 and Kyitty like this.
  3. Apr 26, 2017 at 7:17 AM
    #3
    Munnyshot

    Munnyshot [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Member:
    #217245
    Messages:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    Lakewood, CA
    Vehicle:
    2018 SR5 DCSB 2wd
    that wouldnt show in the remote device, would it. Not sure if all of the tpms sensors are original oem ones, which makes them almost 10 years old. Wonder if i should just replace them all and go from there.
     
  4. Apr 26, 2017 at 7:18 AM
    #4
    tomwil

    tomwil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Member:
    #129887
    Messages:
    8,048
    Gender:
    Male
    East Coast USA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Reg Cab 4x4
    I would go back to America's Tire and have them double-check the TPMS programming in the ECU. Being 1 digit off on the ID code would fail the programming with the TPMS module.
     
    TRDSport10 likes this.
  5. Apr 26, 2017 at 7:26 AM
    #5
    Munnyshot

    Munnyshot [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Member:
    #217245
    Messages:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    Lakewood, CA
    Vehicle:
    2018 SR5 DCSB 2wd
    Yeah... I am going to start there. Thanks
     
  6. Apr 26, 2017 at 8:37 AM
    #6
    PzTank

    PzTank "We got all the data we needed!" EM 12/9/20

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Member:
    #43250
    Messages:
    2,832
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    New England
    Vehicle:
    ‘15 AC SR5 4X4 4.0 Auto
    ‘07 OR leather shift knob. Bob’s Gentex 453. KBB Bed Rail Caps Diamondback HD
    Consider aftermarket TPMS sensors for a significant savings :cheers:
     
  7. Apr 26, 2017 at 8:40 AM
    #7
    Alexely999

    Alexely999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Member:
    #175203
    Messages:
    1,853
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCSB 4X4
    Just checking....
    did you reset the tpms after all of this was done?
     
  8. Apr 26, 2017 at 8:41 AM
    #8
    Alexely999

    Alexely999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Member:
    #175203
    Messages:
    1,853
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCSB 4X4
    Ah I see they reset it. Maybe try it again yourself just to be sure.

    Before spending more money.
     
  9. Apr 26, 2017 at 1:44 PM
    #9
    Munnyshot

    Munnyshot [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Member:
    #217245
    Messages:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    Lakewood, CA
    Vehicle:
    2018 SR5 DCSB 2wd
    Ok. So America's Tire could not figure out what the problem is. Their remote sensor read that all of the sensors were good and no amount of resetting fixed the light. So they suggested to take it to the dealer to see if they could figure it out.
    I dropped it off and they just called me back saying that they couldn't figure it out either and they would need to do a deeper analysis of the wiring harness or whatever could be the problem. The only problem is that they want at least $330.00 to do that.
    Does anyone here know what I could try myself to try and figure this out? Worst case scenario I will just drive with the tire psi light always on... Annoying, but I'm not spending that much.
    Or is there any way to shut of the sensors completely to not trip this light?
     
  10. Apr 26, 2017 at 1:47 PM
    #10
    EatSleepTacos

    EatSleepTacos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Member:
    #151688
    Messages:
    52,265
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    Hampton Roads, VA
    Vehicle:
    4x4 2005 SR5 AC 6MT
    I would just leave it be. You can take apart the dash and remove the LED that lights up the TPMS light, so it doesn't come one anymore. Or take apart the dash and put a piece of tape over it.
     
    PackCon likes this.
  11. Apr 26, 2017 at 1:58 PM
    #11
    tomwil

    tomwil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Member:
    #129887
    Messages:
    8,048
    Gender:
    Male
    East Coast USA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Reg Cab 4x4
    If possible, I would remove the spare tire TPMS ID from the ECU, and see if the problem clears up. Toyota Techstream is your friend here.
     
    TRDSport10 likes this.
  12. Apr 26, 2017 at 4:59 PM
    #12
    stickyTaco

    stickyTaco Fuck Cancer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Member:
    #92904
    Messages:
    4,072
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zack
    Reno
    Vehicle:
    '12 DCSB TRD-OR
    Fox/Dakar with Relentless goodies
    Disconnect the battery and let it sit for a few minutes to clear everything then reconnect and see if you still get the tpms light.
     
    TRDSport10 likes this.
  13. Apr 26, 2017 at 5:04 PM
    #13
    Dimestore55

    Dimestore55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Member:
    #197833
    Messages:
    1,120
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    William
    Richmond, VA
    Vehicle:
    2007 TRD OR Prerunner DCSB
  14. Apr 26, 2017 at 6:33 PM
    #14
    Tcomaboy

    Tcomaboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Member:
    #43160
    Messages:
    3,825
    Gender:
    Male
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 DCLB TRD Sport Prerunner
    Inflate your tires to a higher psi and see if that solves it. This happened to me a few years ago and I was racking my brain trying to figure it out. Just pumped an extra 2 psi into each tire and that solved it
     
    TRDSport10 likes this.
  15. May 3, 2017 at 3:13 AM
    #15
    Munnyshot

    Munnyshot [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Member:
    #217245
    Messages:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    Lakewood, CA
    Vehicle:
    2018 SR5 DCSB 2wd
    I've tried disconnecting the battery, inflating and deflating tires to different psi and resetting the monitor. Nothing works so far. I was thinking though, if all of the tire sensors are functioning, but it is still throwing a light, is the receiver bad? I checked the price of the receiver at the dealership and that part is $500!!!! I think that I am just going to deal with having the little tire psi light on my dash unless someone has some insight on this, other than putting tape over the light or taking it out altogether.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top