1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS need another set

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by phat_ride_69, Sep 10, 2010.

  1. Sep 10, 2010 at 7:03 AM
    #1
    phat_ride_69

    phat_ride_69 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Member:
    #25362
    Messages:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jack
    Calgary, AB
    Vehicle:
    2010 TRD Sport DCLB w/ JBL
    Westin Bull Bar with KC off road lamps, Nfab step bars, 5100's All Around, 1" Rear Spacer, 77 Series K&N Polished Intake,
    I was wondering if anyone can recommend a good website/dealership where I can pick up a set of sensors for my winter wheels. I've tried searching online and on the forum, but could not get any prices.
    OR if anyone has any experience with the cheap aftermarket ones on ebay. I called my local dealer and he told me each sensor would be $105, on ebay a set of 4 is going for ~$60.

    Any advice is appreciated!
     
  2. Sep 10, 2010 at 7:32 AM
    #2
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,321
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    Do you want to use TPMS?
    My winter set is oem steelies & sensors. Summer set oem alloys no sensors. So during the summer, I get no light unless the truck gets out of range of the stored wheels/sensors in the shed. It resets overnight once back home. I have parked 20 miles away from sensors & not triggered a light. Further than that triggers the light, no big deal once home will go off.
    It was funny once, it went off to let me know my stored set tires were low. lol...
    This my experience over the last 3 seasons. It works for me. :)

    Now, if you want use the system, its buy sensors & get them reprogrammed every time you swap. Only 5 codes can get stored in the system I learned here.

    One of the guys here worked a deal with a tire shop to get the reprogramming done since he bought the sensors locally or something like that.

    This system is nice but did not want to deal with $$$. Maybe folks have other ideas where to buy & ideas on the programming.
     
  3. Sep 10, 2010 at 8:37 AM
    #3
    Guess2010

    Guess2010 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Member:
    #36413
    Messages:
    236
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    DAVE
    Saskatchewan
    Vehicle:
    2010 trd tacoma double cab
    Just a few dont tell the wife!!!
    i orderd last week a set off ebay hopefully there here soon once i get them installed ill let u know how they work
    The dealer here wanted $95 each also
     
  4. Sep 10, 2010 at 8:48 AM
    #4
    ImpulseRed008

    ImpulseRed008 Gone But Not Forgotten

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Member:
    #9104
    Messages:
    42,610
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Susan
    SC
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner SR5 V6 w/tow pkg
    OEM SS tube steps, Access LE tonneau cover, pop n'lock, AVS in-channel vent visors, stubby antenna, Wet Okole seat covers, bed mat, rear diff breather mod, 4 extra d rings in bed, K&N air filter.
    Check the B/S/T thread. People post them for sale there occasionally
     
  5. Sep 10, 2010 at 2:47 PM
    #5
    phat_ride_69

    phat_ride_69 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Member:
    #25362
    Messages:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jack
    Calgary, AB
    Vehicle:
    2010 TRD Sport DCLB w/ JBL
    Westin Bull Bar with KC off road lamps, Nfab step bars, 5100's All Around, 1" Rear Spacer, 77 Series K&N Polished Intake,
    If you could let me know how those ebay ones workout for you I'd appreciate it. I've got my original ones in my aftermarket summer wheels, looking to use the original rims in the winter.
    I've been keepinf an eye for a set but it seems like no one wants to sell right now.
     
  6. Sep 10, 2010 at 6:40 PM
    #6
    Jere

    Jere Outdoorsman

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Member:
    #38814
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Chester County, PA
    Vehicle:
    '10 Access SR5 4x4 4cyl
    Maybe it is already clear to you, and it was mentioned in one of the replies above, but I think it bears repeating:

    The ECM of your Tacoma can only hold, and therefore recognize a maximum of 5 unique TPMS sensor codes at a time. Newest Tacomas no longer need the fifth as the spare no longer has a TPMS installed but:

    In order for you to take advantage of a spare set of TPMS in wheels you intend to rotate off twice a year, you will need to get your ECM reprogrammed twice a year. Local Toyota dealers here in PA are quoting $50 to complete this reprogramming. If you switch twice a year, for instance switching to a winter set of tires in fall, and back to your other set again in the spring, you should factor in an extra $100 and a pair of time wasting visits to the dealer annually.

    You might decide you enjoy the companionship of the stupid dash light during one or the other season. Maybe it can be your daylight saving buddy.
     
  7. Sep 16, 2010 at 2:16 PM
    #7
    supertaco8

    supertaco8 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Member:
    #43040
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma Supercharged
    TRD Supercharger, DTLT Headers, TRD Catback exhaust
    I just bought a set of wheels and tires and TPMS sensors from Tirerack.com
    They charged me $188 for a set of 4 sensors.

    You will have the TPMS light come on if you don't reprogram the ECU. My local toyota dealer said it would take them an hour and charge me $110. You would have to do this each time you swapped out your tires.
    I bought a TPM Quickset tool from Tirerack.com for $135. It can hold up to 4 vechicles tire information and now I can swap tires anytime and clear the light myself.
     
  8. Sep 16, 2010 at 8:36 PM
    #8
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,321
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    That is a great workaround especially if you want to use sensors in your other set of wheels/tires.
     
  9. Sep 16, 2010 at 10:15 PM
    #9
    evile

    evile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Member:
    #1290
    Messages:
    576
    Gender:
    Male
    Orlando, Fl
    Vehicle:
    2006 DoubleCab TRD OffRoad PreRunner
    Bug shield vent visors Westin Chrome bull bar K&N Airfilter Pioneer CD/MP3/Ipod/DVD head unit KC Daylighters, LED map and dome lights, secondary airfilter removed. Black tube steps, 110v outlet in cab
    I have some thing you can try I have seen this done with Fords.

    get you some PVC pipe take your sensors out of the tires (gonna need 2 pipes) place your front sensors in one pipe rears in the other cap off the ends and pressurize each pipe to the correct tire PSI train the sensors and throw the pipe in the back seat. The TPMS system is just looking for a certain voltage from the pressure it doesn't know if the sesnors are in a wheel or in a pipe
     
To Top