1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS Options for Multiple Wheel Sets (I.e., Winter/Summer, Street/Off-Road, etc.)

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by Hot Taco, Jan 9, 2013.

  1. Jun 7, 2013 at 9:27 PM
    #81
    Mr.Gadget

    Mr.Gadget Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Member:
    #92418
    Messages:
    553
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    2011 DC 4x4 SR5 SB/2012 DC 4x4 SR5 LB
    Or does anyone make a program, chip, or programer that you can turn the light off, fool the system or just cut it out as an option.
     
  2. Jun 8, 2013 at 2:21 AM
    #82
    Kilted Taco

    Kilted Taco Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Member:
    #103099
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    Woodbridge VA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Speedway Blue XRunner
    Not certain if it is what you want but here are a few links to TPMS tools.

    http://ateqtpm.com/products#comparison :D

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/ATEQ-TPMS-VT55-OBDII-/261225975195 :D

    http://www.tooltopia.com/ATEQ-vt15....utm_term=ATQVT15&utm_campaign=pricegrabber_r1 :D

    http://www.amazon.com/ATEQ-QuickSet-TPMS-Reset-Tool/dp/B008SCWXN4 :D

    Just a little something for every wallet size!
     
  3. Jun 8, 2013 at 7:20 AM
    #83
    Mr.Gadget

    Mr.Gadget Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Member:
    #92418
    Messages:
    553
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    2011 DC 4x4 SR5 SB/2012 DC 4x4 SR5 LB
    I get what those do, but it does not look like you can turn the function off on the truck so the light never comes on and system does not work.
    Those are to reset the codes.
     
  4. Jun 8, 2013 at 9:35 AM
    #84
    hoarder23

    hoarder23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Member:
    #84787
    Messages:
    738
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shay
    Fort Worth, TX
    Vehicle:
    11 Black DCSB TRD OffRoad
    Inside: WeatherTech FloorLiner DigitalFit, RCBS204 4x4 LED Light, ImMrYo Rear-View Mirror Lift Bracket, Wet Okole Seat Covers Outside: 6000K HID Headlights and Fogs, OKLEDLIGHTBAR 20” CREE Combo Light Bar, Dodge Sprinter D-Rings, CMC, Steel Extended Brake Lines, BORA 1" Spacers, Homer Raptor Grille, Relentless Hi-Lift Mount w/ 48" Hi-Lift Armor: Elite Offroad Products Aluminum plate front bumper, Pelfreybilt rear standard plate bumper, BAMF 80"” sliders w/ kickout, Relentless aluminum IFS skid, Relentless aluminum mid skid, Relentless Transfer Case skid Suspension: Front: ADS Extended Coilovers w remote reservoirs, Light Racing UCAs Rear: 12" travel Icon 2.0 smoothbody shocks, OME Dakar Leafs, ATO Shackle Flip. Wheels: SCS F-5s with Goodyear MT/R in 285/75R16
    The problem with disabling it is that in most states your car wouldn't be legal and you would set yourself up for liability issues, especially if you were to sell the vehicle in that condition.

    And I'm not sure what kind of nails you have on the road in NC but I got one in my tire the other day and didn't notice it until the next morning when my tire was low in my driveway. Plus the systems aren't designed with people that pay attention to their cars in mind, they are for people that barely know how to put gas in htem.
     
  5. Jun 8, 2013 at 2:42 PM
    #85
    Hot Taco

    Hot Taco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Member:
    #26526
    Messages:
    290
    Gender:
    Male
    Richfield, WI
    Vehicle:
    2013 Base Regular Cab
    Beefed Taco 3" Lowering Blocks Bilstein Shocks/Struts DJM 3" Front Lowering Kit Custom C-Notch Intermittent Wipers LED tail lights
    So I've been trying to figure-out why shops like Discount Tire are keeping it a secret that they can clone sensors. From the customer's perspective (at least those of us that drive Toyotas), it's the best solution for the TPMS problem.

    Then in dawned on me. If the tire shop clones the sensors, then that's two times a year less that they'll be able to get the customer into the shop to poentially spend more money. Even though Discount Tire will do the sensor/ECU updates for free, when you come in to the shop, that's their chance to sell you something. If you don't come in, they can't sell. Therefore, they probably aren't going to push their clone-able sensors!

    This is all just a theory, but I don't see why else they wouldn't be promoting the clone-able sensors over the non-cloneable.
     
  6. Jul 20, 2013 at 4:43 PM
    #86
    doc1187

    doc1187 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Member:
    #101621
    Messages:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
    new york
    Vehicle:
    sr5 4x4
    Just a thought, if you take one "summer wheel" with a tpms in it. Swap it with the spare. then use your four "winter tires" without a tpms. Would that work???
     
  7. Jul 20, 2013 at 4:51 PM
    #87
    KenLyns

    KenLyns Lord of War

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Member:
    #37674
    Messages:
    21,236
    Gender:
    Male
    Belly of the Beast
    Vehicle:
    4x4 TRD Off Road Full-Auto
    All-Pro Front Bumper, CBI Sliders, Icon ET Coilovers, aFe Intake, Icon VS Rear Shocks, TSB Leafs, Timbren Bumpstops, All-Pro UCAs, ViAir Compressor, Klearz LED 3rd Brake Light, Pop-N-Lock Tailgate Handle, Husky Front Flaps, Deeza HD Sway Bar Links
    ^Nope. The truck would detect this as 3 out of 4 sensors have malfunctioned.
     
  8. Jul 20, 2013 at 5:01 PM
    #88
    doc1187

    doc1187 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Member:
    #101621
    Messages:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
    new york
    Vehicle:
    sr5 4x4
    Thanks For the Help
     
  9. Aug 16, 2013 at 6:58 AM
    #89
    Greenbean

    Greenbean B.S. Goodwrench

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Member:
    #84332
    Messages:
    1,553
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zack
    Western NC
    Vehicle:
    2015 AC 4cyl MT 4x4 Utility Package
    I have a question regarding the factory sensors in the 16" 4x4 steel wheels,

    Figured it's just best to ask it here then start a thread,

    Can anyone confirm that the steel wheel sensors will work in a 16" steel wheel from ProComp,

    I am looking at the series 52, because they are cheaper for a set of 4 versus finding and buying a set of Gen 1 16" spare wheels.

    Thanks gang!
     
  10. Sep 5, 2013 at 8:26 AM
    #90
    Greenbean

    Greenbean B.S. Goodwrench

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Member:
    #84332
    Messages:
    1,553
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zack
    Western NC
    Vehicle:
    2015 AC 4cyl MT 4x4 Utility Package
    And can anyone confirm they only read every 20 minutes or so, does anything trip the system into reading them faster, say a large decrease in pressure or something like that.

    If this is the case I am better off just disabling it and going without,
     
  11. Sep 7, 2013 at 11:02 AM
    #91
    KenLyns

    KenLyns Lord of War

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Member:
    #37674
    Messages:
    21,236
    Gender:
    Male
    Belly of the Beast
    Vehicle:
    4x4 TRD Off Road Full-Auto
    All-Pro Front Bumper, CBI Sliders, Icon ET Coilovers, aFe Intake, Icon VS Rear Shocks, TSB Leafs, Timbren Bumpstops, All-Pro UCAs, ViAir Compressor, Klearz LED 3rd Brake Light, Pop-N-Lock Tailgate Handle, Husky Front Flaps, Deeza HD Sway Bar Links
    ^What I wrote earlier:
    Looks like the current polling rate is around 3 minutes, but the TPMS ECU needs multiple samples to get a reliable reading. I imagine more frequent sampling can also shorten the sensor's battery life.

    The TPMS system was not intended to alert the driver of punctures; it was intended solely to make up for lax maintenance.
     
  12. Sep 7, 2013 at 12:24 PM
    #92
    Greenbean

    Greenbean B.S. Goodwrench

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Member:
    #84332
    Messages:
    1,553
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zack
    Western NC
    Vehicle:
    2015 AC 4cyl MT 4x4 Utility Package
    So so true,

    So I AM better off just wiring around it and putting good ole'fashioned rubber valve stems in my Tunda 16" TRD wheels!

    Thanks for the info,

    "Public Citizen this and that, lol... "

     
  13. Sep 7, 2013 at 12:46 PM
    #93
    dafloydboy

    dafloydboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Member:
    #82785
    Messages:
    176
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    M.L. Evans
    lancaster s.c.
    Vehicle:
    15' base access cab
    Are camper shell
    These sensors don't help me a bit because this is just more of the same old regulation that just cost us more money for our trucks, this TPMS thing came about because back in the 90's some people were too lazy to check there tire pressure On there explorers and coupled with some less than quality tires you get rollovers and deaths. Now we are stuck with these things that nobody wants. All you have to do is walk around your car every few times you drive and check your tire pressure once a month, in fact mine have never changed in the year I've had it. Well that's my rant for the day.
     
  14. Sep 7, 2013 at 1:11 PM
    #94
    KenLyns

    KenLyns Lord of War

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Member:
    #37674
    Messages:
    21,236
    Gender:
    Male
    Belly of the Beast
    Vehicle:
    4x4 TRD Off Road Full-Auto
    All-Pro Front Bumper, CBI Sliders, Icon ET Coilovers, aFe Intake, Icon VS Rear Shocks, TSB Leafs, Timbren Bumpstops, All-Pro UCAs, ViAir Compressor, Klearz LED 3rd Brake Light, Pop-N-Lock Tailgate Handle, Husky Front Flaps, Deeza HD Sway Bar Links
    Yes, there's a mod to disable power to the idiot light. http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/2nd-gen-tacomas/284690-2012-tpms-light-disabled.html

    I consider TPMS a convenience feature, so I paid for sensors when I got new wheels. Bi-weekly manual tire pressure checks sound trivial until the weather turns bad or you are running late.
     
  15. Sep 7, 2013 at 1:20 PM
    #95
    Greenbean

    Greenbean B.S. Goodwrench

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Member:
    #84332
    Messages:
    1,553
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zack
    Western NC
    Vehicle:
    2015 AC 4cyl MT 4x4 Utility Package
    Thanks,

    I am actually thinking about doing that this Monday on my day off,
     
  16. Sep 7, 2013 at 1:27 PM
    #96
    Greenpants

    Greenpants Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Member:
    #108886
    Messages:
    121
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 Tacoma 4 banger
    The tailgate mod
  17. Sep 8, 2013 at 2:25 PM
    #97
    replica9000

    replica9000 Ich bin Offiziersbursche!

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Member:
    #5782
    Messages:
    7,295
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Southern New England
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport 6spd
    The 1999 Grand Am I had was my first car to have these sensors. I believe the tires had to be rotating though for the sensors to get a reading. 1999 was the only year the Grand Am had this system because it didn't work well. It was always throwing false alarms, especially if you were driving on bad roads.
     
  18. Sep 15, 2013 at 4:11 PM
    #98
    fj40taz

    fj40taz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Member:
    #88845
    Messages:
    290
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Carl
    Voorhees, NJ
    Vehicle:
    10 Toyota Tacoma
    Flowmaster Exhaust
  19. Sep 16, 2013 at 7:16 AM
    #99
    fj40taz

    fj40taz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Member:
    #88845
    Messages:
    290
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Carl
    Voorhees, NJ
    Vehicle:
    10 Toyota Tacoma
    Flowmaster Exhaust
    i was speaking with a buddy from who has an xterra and inquired as to weather or not he had the tps snsors on his rig cause i know he switches tires and rims..

    he said he does but does not worry about it, he just deals with the light on the dash..

    but anyway he said s few of the guys he knows found another way around it.. he said to take one of the sensors and put it in a piece of pipe and seal it then pressurize it and put it in the truck somewhere.

    i figure to get a piece of black threaded pipe and put a shrader valve on one side so u can pump it up to 35psi and mount it to the frame rail or inside of the spare tire...
     
  20. Sep 16, 2013 at 7:21 AM
    #100
    Greenbean

    Greenbean B.S. Goodwrench

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Member:
    #84332
    Messages:
    1,553
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zack
    Western NC
    Vehicle:
    2015 AC 4cyl MT 4x4 Utility Package
    If I am not mistaken all the sensors the system is programmed to "see" have to be in the "Pipe Bomb" lol... Someone else on here did that, PVC pipe with a valve on the end,

    worked for him.
     
To Top