1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Tpms problem

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Smoke2, Jun 27, 2012.

  1. Jun 27, 2012 at 6:53 PM
    #1
    Smoke2

    Smoke2 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Member:
    #79379
    Messages:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Tacoma
    Vehicle:
    07 DC 4X4 LB
    Rear TSB, Firestone Air bags
    I got new tires and now my tpms system light is on. I had the tire shop reset the system. The tpms scanner shows that the left rear tire pressure to be 78psi but the tire has 35psi in it. They says (tire shop) the sensor is bad but they didn't damage it. They said either the battery is low or the sensor pressure is stuck on 78psi. I did have my tire up to 78psi at one time. So without making it a big deal, I'm looking to replace the sensor. Where is the best place to buy a new sensor or used? I have offroad wheels so I need the 20 degree ones. Does it matter mixing non OEM with OEM? Any brands I should stay away from?
     
  2. Jun 27, 2012 at 6:54 PM
    #2
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    109,221
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2019 Rubicon 4 Door,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    have you tried to reset the sensors yet?
     
  3. Jun 27, 2012 at 6:56 PM
    #3
    TacoTitan11

    TacoTitan11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Member:
    #67842
    Messages:
    579
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mr. C
    North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma
    just buy a used one on ebay $18
     
  4. Jun 27, 2012 at 6:56 PM
    #4
    jw1983

    jw1983 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Member:
    #63738
    Messages:
    3,038
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Alberta
    Vehicle:
    13' Tacoma Access 4x4 OR
    78 psi sounds like too much air.
     
  5. Jun 27, 2012 at 7:05 PM
    #5
    Smoke2

    Smoke2 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Member:
    #79379
    Messages:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Tacoma
    Vehicle:
    07 DC 4X4 LB
    Rear TSB, Firestone Air bags
    I had load range E's. The take 80psi max. I had 1100 lbs in the bed and pulling a 2500lb trailer. I was trying to get the tires up to 72psi...
    The tire shop reset tpms system two times. They deflated the tire and remove the sensor and installed it again. Also they tried to put another sensor in but it didn't work.
    Is there a way to rebuild or replace the batteries in the OEM sensors? I was told they need to be replaced every five to seven years.
     
  6. Jun 27, 2012 at 7:10 PM
    #6
    landphil

    landphil Wishin' I was Fishin'

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Member:
    #52290
    Messages:
    2,766
    Gender:
    Male
    BC, Canada
    Vehicle:
    RIP 2006 Tacoma DCSB
    Tundra 5.7 mod
    Still too much pressure for that weight. 45-55 would be plenty, depending on the size of those E's. I suspect the high pressure is what damaged the sensor. A bit odd it seemed OK until the new tires though. Stupid question, you checked the pressure in the spare, right?
     
  7. Jun 27, 2012 at 7:29 PM
    #7
    Smoke2

    Smoke2 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Member:
    #79379
    Messages:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Tacoma
    Vehicle:
    07 DC 4X4 LB
    Rear TSB, Firestone Air bags
    Yes, I had the tire shop replace the spare with correct size tire to match the others.
    I didn't like the E tires. They were to stiff or to spongy. I got rid of them and bought some D range. The last 2 years my tpms system was not coded because the tire shops didn't have a way to reset them. Now some of the shops have a computer that can re-code the system. I wasn't going to pay the Toyota dealer $150 re-code the system. I hope the C rated tires will work for my application.:confused:
     
  8. Jun 28, 2012 at 7:13 PM
    #8
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    9,706
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5
    Have you actually tried the reset procedure in the owners manual?
     
  9. Jun 28, 2012 at 7:27 PM
    #9
    Steves104x4

    Steves104x4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Member:
    #35468
    Messages:
    10,680
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Buffalo NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 RC 2.7 4x4
    BUCKLE UP! It makes it harder for Aliens to pull you out of your Truck.
    Every 5 years you should replace the batteries in the sensors (similar to your smoke detector) they don't last forever. [​IMG]
     
  10. Jun 28, 2012 at 7:30 PM
    #10
    jgwheeler17

    jgwheeler17 I'm a zit. Get it?

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Member:
    #47112
    Messages:
    10,031
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    07 Double Cab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    neglect, mostly.
    honestly it's easier to just live with the light and check your tires regularly when you cant figure it out as opposed to spending hours at tire shops and spending money you don't have to IMO.
    <--- what this guy has been doing for nearly two years.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top