1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS Programmer

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by whitedlite, Jan 5, 2019.

  1. Jan 5, 2019 at 11:27 AM
    #1
    whitedlite

    whitedlite [OP] Insta @loadedtacos.. budget built

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Member:
    #192033
    Messages:
    7,120
    Gender:
    Male
    Central AL
    Vehicle:
    Inferior TRD 4WD
    what computer or device is needed to program new oem sensors to a truck?
     
  2. Jan 5, 2019 at 3:00 PM
    #2
    trdt44

    trdt44 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Member:
    #31238
    Messages:
    347
    First Name:
    Trent
    Utah
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma TRD OR
    I have the ATEQ Quickset TPMS tool and it works great. It will read the existing sensors stored in the computer and then allows a new set to be loaded into the truck. Both sets of sensor id's are stored on the computer and it is a quick process to switch. I used this with stock sensors and Denso (same as OEM). It will also work with 3 other vehicles.

    Eta: It is required to get the sensor id's off the new sensors before they are mounted. Otherwise a tool that can read the sensor id's is required.
     
  3. Jan 5, 2019 at 4:02 PM
    #3
    Armed in Utah

    Armed in Utah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Member:
    #231704
    Messages:
    2,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Utah's High Desert.......
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tacoma DCSB..Pyrite Mica...6 sp MT
    try these.......they work great !

    place directly over that silly azz light on the dash
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Jan 5, 2019 at 4:54 PM
    #4
    whitedlite

    whitedlite [OP] Insta @loadedtacos.. budget built

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Member:
    #192033
    Messages:
    7,120
    Gender:
    Male
    Central AL
    Vehicle:
    Inferior TRD 4WD
    https://www.ebay.com/ulk/itm/152878359386

    So is this all I need? I took a photo of the sensor I removed and the new one I put in. Only one sensor was replaced.

    8CD51EC8-35B3-4E8B-9140-D40A4F68359B.jpg
     
  5. Jan 5, 2019 at 5:13 PM
    #5
    trdt44

    trdt44 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Member:
    #31238
    Messages:
    347
    First Name:
    Trent
    Utah
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma TRD OR
    Yep, the codes are the numbers that start with 86c and 1c8. Fyi, Tirerack has the quickset for $119. In your case you would pull the codes from the truck and then change the one you swapped out
     
    whitedlite [OP] likes this.
  6. Jan 5, 2019 at 9:16 PM
    #6
    whitedlite

    whitedlite [OP] Insta @loadedtacos.. budget built

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Member:
    #192033
    Messages:
    7,120
    Gender:
    Male
    Central AL
    Vehicle:
    Inferior TRD 4WD
    Thank you sir
     
  7. Jan 7, 2019 at 7:53 AM
    #7
    TWTaco

    TWTaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Member:
    #172601
    Messages:
    3,479
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    STUFF!
    Carista works great for programming!Plus all the other functions it has.
     
  8. Jan 14, 2019 at 3:40 PM
    #8
    whitedlite

    whitedlite [OP] Insta @loadedtacos.. budget built

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Member:
    #192033
    Messages:
    7,120
    Gender:
    Male
    Central AL
    Vehicle:
    Inferior TRD 4WD
    How do I know if programmed correctly? I haven’t driven truck yet. But after running the programming the TPMS flashed a minute then stayed on solid?

    It may go away with driving but idk
     
  9. Jan 14, 2019 at 3:53 PM
    #9
    trdt44

    trdt44 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Member:
    #31238
    Messages:
    347
    First Name:
    Trent
    Utah
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma TRD OR
    If remember right I had to go for a drive for the light to go off. For the pressure readings to show up I had to jump on the freeway for a minute.
     
    whitedlite [OP] likes this.
  10. Jan 14, 2019 at 4:09 PM
    #10
    whitedlite

    whitedlite [OP] Insta @loadedtacos.. budget built

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Member:
    #192033
    Messages:
    7,120
    Gender:
    Male
    Central AL
    Vehicle:
    Inferior TRD 4WD
    Do I wanna go see my gf or not :anonymous:

    Thanks man. So far it was a super easy process. Just need to drive it to make sure the code took
     
    trdt44 likes this.
To Top