1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS question

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by tacoma08MZ, Jul 29, 2008.

  1. Jul 29, 2008 at 8:02 AM
    #1
    tacoma08MZ

    tacoma08MZ [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Member:
    #7661
    Messages:
    683
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Levi
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Access Cab 4x4
    tinted head/tail lights-blacked out badges-3 inch tuff country lift 33 inch nittos-black steelies custom spare bed mount-hilift-weathertechs-kenwood dnx5120 dvdnav headunit-remote start-painted grille surround-fog lights-grillcraft black mesh grille
    i bought new rims and tires for my 08. can i just swap them out with the stock ones and not worry about the tpms? will anything happen besides maybe the light staying on in the dash?
     
  2. Jul 29, 2008 at 8:35 AM
    #2
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Lead, follow, or get the hell o Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,351
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '13 Silverado ext cab
    that all depends on the type of rim and if it will accept the sensor or not. you can always get around putting the tpms sensors back in though!!!! and yeah, if you dont do a mod to keep them aired up......the light will stay on, thats all.
     
  3. Jul 29, 2008 at 8:59 AM
    #3
    SocalMan22

    SocalMan22 Founder Socaltacomas.com Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1146
    Messages:
    8,155
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve-0
    So*Cal
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner Dbl Cab
    What Mods!
    yeah like tacoma man said see if they can put them in your new rims i have the sensors in my mojave's before my light was on for 9months no problems
     
  4. Jul 29, 2008 at 1:50 PM
    #4
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    27,109
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    ditto....if not, all that'll happen is the light stays on...thats it
     
  5. Jul 29, 2008 at 2:23 PM
    #5
    SocalMan22

    SocalMan22 Founder Socaltacomas.com Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1146
    Messages:
    8,155
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve-0
    So*Cal
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner Dbl Cab
    What Mods!
    and if the light bugs you do the black tape mod put a piece of electrical over the light lol
     
  6. Jul 29, 2008 at 5:51 PM
    #6
    tacoma08MZ

    tacoma08MZ [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Member:
    #7661
    Messages:
    683
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Levi
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Access Cab 4x4
    tinted head/tail lights-blacked out badges-3 inch tuff country lift 33 inch nittos-black steelies custom spare bed mount-hilift-weathertechs-kenwood dnx5120 dvdnav headunit-remote start-painted grille surround-fog lights-grillcraft black mesh grille
    hahaha yep i did that on the check engine light on the vw i had right before i traded it in. thanks for the replys
     
  7. Jul 29, 2008 at 5:59 PM
    #7
    SocalMan22

    SocalMan22 Founder Socaltacomas.com Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1146
    Messages:
    8,155
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve-0
    So*Cal
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner Dbl Cab
    What Mods!
    No worries man i was in your shoes not to long ago.
     
  8. Jul 29, 2008 at 8:52 PM
    #8
    Imrubicon

    Imrubicon Wife thinks I am done Modding truck

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Member:
    #7442
    Messages:
    173
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    08 Access 4X4 SR5
    Shhh! the wife thinks I dont do mods on trucks anymore
    Why couldnt you just put them in your glove box and push the button to set them at 0 ???????????????
     
  9. Jul 30, 2008 at 5:46 AM
    #9
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Lead, follow, or get the hell o Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,351
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '13 Silverado ext cab
    because the sensor reads air pressure that is contained. there is a mod involving pcv piping and some caps, and you keep the sensors in there and it seems to work pretty good. it has a tire stem valve on it too, for adding air to it.
     
  10. Jul 30, 2008 at 6:19 AM
    #10
    4x4x4trd

    4x4x4trd My other ride weighs 200 tons

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Member:
    #4267
    Messages:
    1,197
    North Texas
    Vehicle:
    08 White Access Cab TRD OR, Debadged
    AFE oil free drop in, Secondary removed, tint, front D-rings, Toyota bed mat, Undercover tonneau, TRD seat covers and floor mats, Pioneer speakers, Westin Platinum bars, Fumoto oil valve, short antena, Nifty Xtreme's, TSB leaf springs, Bilstein 5100's set at .85" in the front
    That's my thought. Don't plan on other rims just yet but figured you could just reset to 0 psi?
     
  11. Feb 19, 2010 at 12:32 PM
    #11
    jeremiekc

    jeremiekc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16031
    Messages:
    802
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremie
    Vilseck, Germany
    Vehicle:
    07 Regular Cab Base Model
    Secondary Air Filter removed, Painted Brake Calipers, AFN Drop in air cleaner, OEM Chrome Bumper, OEM Chrome grilll, OEM Cruise Control, OEM Interval Wipers, Hard Wired Garmin Nuvi 670, X-Runner Rims, Devil Horns, 6000w HID's, Bling Light Fogs with Blue Halo, OEM Bilstein Rear Shocks, 12V Plug in Truck Bed pocket. Debagged, 13" Antennax, Color Matched Satoshi Grill, URD Short Shifter, WeatherTech Floor Mats, PainLess Wiring Switched Fuse Box, Black Sand Pearl X-Runner Badges
    Like most subjects on this forum this there is a ton of information on this. If you want more information type in TPMS in the search and go from there.

    That being said I have done a ton of research on this, including contacting the manufacturer of the TPMS.

    There are two types of TPMS that are found on the Tacoma and they are based on the type of rim that you have. Either Aluminum or stock steel wheels. They will work on one another but you will have problems with them down the road. The steel ones will work on most custom steel rims but alot depends on the angle of the valve stem replacement on the rim, the same with the aluminum ones.

    Here on the fixes for the TPMS that I have discovered so far.

    Black electrical tape MOD.

    Tacoma World Business card MOD. (Thanks Neontrail)

    Removing the ECU. Not advisable on anything other then an 06 when it was a subsystem of the main ECU, it became an integrated system in 07.

    Pipe Bomb or putting the TPMS in some sort of pressurized container and locating on the vehicle. Thus creating another thing that you have rolling around in the inside of your truck.

    Changing the angle of the TPMS on the rim. OK if you dont plan on getting a flat, if you break it they are $175 a piece from the dealer. You can find them occasionally in the WTS/WTB section.

    I found a site that sales a strap that locates the TPMS in the center of the rim. It is essentially a really large hose clamp with a mount on it. It works really well and I have had no problems with it. I am in no way connected with this site.
    http://www.tpmssource.com/strapkit.aspx

    If you would like any more information I would be willing to help you out.
     
  12. Feb 23, 2010 at 9:10 PM
    #12
    Bobcat

    Bobcat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Member:
    #19116
    Messages:
    424
    Gender:
    Male
    Montana
    Vehicle:
    2000
    Ok I am an idiot, but how would I know if I have TPMS in my sport wheels. I do now that the guy I bought the truck from did something to disable the light so it never comes on. I also know that the wheels have had different tires on them so they could have been removed I guess. So I am wanting to know if there is anything visible that would tell me.
     
  13. Feb 23, 2010 at 9:11 PM
    #13
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    27,109
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    metal valve stem=TPMS rubber=regular
     
  14. Feb 24, 2010 at 4:58 AM
    #14
    TacoSupreem

    TacoSupreem Dirty Trucker

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Member:
    #27935
    Messages:
    2,444
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Hayden
    Kentucky
    Vehicle:
    2013 MGM DCSB 4x4 Sport
    Bobcat, your truck came with tpms. The previous owner shouldn't have removed them just to put on new tires. You can look at your valve stem. If it looks like a light gray metal stem then you still have the sensors. If it's black and rubber then you don't.
     
  15. Feb 24, 2010 at 8:15 AM
    #15
    Bobcat

    Bobcat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Member:
    #19116
    Messages:
    424
    Gender:
    Male
    Montana
    Vehicle:
    2000
    Thanks guys.
     
  16. Feb 24, 2010 at 8:17 AM
    #16
    Rexio_Mty

    Rexio_Mty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Member:
    #31955
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Monterrey, Mexico
    Vehicle:
    PreRunner
    None
    Guys,

    when you replace the sensor Tpms ON a new tire, if this needs to be program according the rest of them??
     
  17. Feb 24, 2010 at 9:56 AM
    #17
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    27,109
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    if u introduce a new sensor to the system, the dealer has to program that sensor into the computer to look for the signal from that specific sensor. just swapping tires or rims and using the same sensors, no
     
To Top