1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS Questions

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by Big tall dave, Oct 29, 2018.

  1. Oct 29, 2018 at 1:48 PM
    #1
    Big tall dave

    Big tall dave [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Member:
    #269210
    Messages:
    473
    Gender:
    Male
    Elora, Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tacoma TRD OR DCLB
    I have basically zero experience with TPMS systems so i’ve been doing some reading but have a few questions.........
    I bought some cheap, mint looking steel Tacoma rims for my winter tires that came with Pacific PA66-GF33 sensors already installed. From what i’ve read here, they won’t work with my 2018 truck so I need to buy four PMV-C015 sensors or aftermarket equivalent. My wife has a 13 Lexus ES350; are those used sensors programmable and can I use them for her winter rims instead?
    I’ve also been looking at aftermarket, programmable sensors and TPMS scan tools. I’d rather not spend the money twice a year at the dealer so i’m willing to invest in the programming tool and eight sensors if anyone has any suggestions? If I do end up buying a scan tool, is it worth cloning sensors to match my OEM ones or is it just as easy and cheaper to use the scan tool to reprogram each time I switch over rims/tires?
     
  2. Oct 29, 2018 at 2:49 PM
    #2
    MrBrooks

    MrBrooks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Member:
    #232988
    Messages:
    1,145
    Midwest
    Vehicle:
    2018 SS DCSB 2018 Rav4 XLE
    PMV-C015 is correct. I've seen a set of 4 on eBay for really cheap. I should have bought them & now they're gone. Keep an eye out. If your going to be swapping wheels a lot I would get the extra sensors & programming tool. There's a thread on here somewhere about programming & what tools work best
     
    shakerhood likes this.
  3. Oct 29, 2018 at 2:57 PM
    #3
    RichVT

    RichVT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Member:
    #146329
    Messages:
    661
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Northern Vermont
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma TRD Off Road 4X4 AC Grey
    Clone-able sensors would be great if they exist and if they work. I got an extra set of OEM sensors (from Tire Rack) and the ATEQ quickset tool to reprogram the truck at each changeover.
     
  4. Oct 29, 2018 at 5:25 PM
    #4
    Big tall dave

    Big tall dave [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Member:
    #269210
    Messages:
    473
    Gender:
    Male
    Elora, Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tacoma TRD OR DCLB
    So according to ATEQ’s website, if I bought TireRack’s sensors, i’d have to buy a second scan tool as well as the Quickset tool to ‘obtain wheel sensor ID’s’ before programming. Am I reading that right?
     
  5. Oct 29, 2018 at 6:11 PM
    #5
    RocTaco

    RocTaco Free stun!

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Member:
    #202199
    Messages:
    1,982
    First Name:
    Pete
    Rochester NY
    Vehicle:
    2017 Taco (sold) 2007 4runner Limited 4.7L 4x4
    I think, but I could definitely be wrong, you should be able to get the sensor codes for your original wheels from the ATEQ when you plug it in. My thinking is if you have to type in the new codes for the new sensors, it should display what is currently programmed in.
     
  6. Oct 29, 2018 at 6:16 PM
    #6
    MrBrooks

    MrBrooks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Member:
    #232988
    Messages:
    1,145
    Midwest
    Vehicle:
    2018 SS DCSB 2018 Rav4 XLE
    Aren't the sensor ID's written on the black housing?

    sensor-lexus-107j[1].jpg
     
  7. Oct 30, 2018 at 4:30 AM
    #7
    RichVT

    RichVT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Member:
    #146329
    Messages:
    661
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Northern Vermont
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma TRD Off Road 4X4 AC Grey
    The quickset tool will read the I.D. numbers that are already programmed in the Truck's ECU (i.e. your original sensors). The I.D. numbers of your new sensors will be printed on the body of the sensors. If you record those numbers prior to mounting, then you won't need the additional tool.

    I installed my new sensors on my new wheels and used a Sharpie to write the I.D. numbers on the inside of each wheel before having the tires mounted.

    Any tire shop will have a tool that can read already installed sensors. Some sensors need to be activated or woken up before use (using the same tool) so it would probably be best to have your tire shop use their tool to read and activate each sensor after mounting. Getting a reading on each sensor will also insure that they did not get broken during mounting.
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2018
    MrBrooks likes this.
  8. Oct 30, 2018 at 10:27 AM
    #8
    MrBrooks

    MrBrooks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Member:
    #232988
    Messages:
    1,145
    Midwest
    Vehicle:
    2018 SS DCSB 2018 Rav4 XLE
    That's a good idea marking the ID#'s on the inside of the wheel. I'm planning on buying the ATEQ to use & borrow out. Should pay for itself pretty quick!
     
  9. Nov 4, 2018 at 9:26 AM
    #9
    Big tall dave

    Big tall dave [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Member:
    #269210
    Messages:
    473
    Gender:
    Male
    Elora, Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tacoma TRD OR DCLB
    Ok...just to confirm before I pull the trigger......if I buy four PMV-C015 sensors, I will be able to install them on my steel wheels and use the ATEQ Quickset tool to make them work on my Tacoma (without needing to program them first)? Same goes for my wife’s Lexus if I buy the appropriate, OE PMV-C010 sensors for her snow tires/rims?
    Also, Walmart broke two of her original sensors while changing tires (I know, I know....I should have known better. Don’t get me started) They installed regular valve stems so now she has an error light and no individual pressure read outs on the dash. Can I just buy two extra PMV-C010 and use the same ATEQ tool to replace the two broken OEM sensors?
     
  10. Nov 4, 2018 at 10:17 AM
    #10
    MrBrooks

    MrBrooks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Member:
    #232988
    Messages:
    1,145
    Midwest
    Vehicle:
    2018 SS DCSB 2018 Rav4 XLE
    Don't pull that trigger yet!!! The PMV-C015 sensors are not for steel wheels. I'm not sure what those part #'s are but those are for the Sport or Off Road alloy style wheels not the steelies. Maybe check part #'s from online Toyota parts places

    @Big tall dave

    Edit check this place out to find part #'s for the steelies & then look them up on Ebay or somewhere.

    The ID's will be printed on the plastic housing & then you can use the ATEQ to program to either vehicle.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2018
  11. Nov 5, 2018 at 8:01 PM
    #11
    Big tall dave

    Big tall dave [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Member:
    #269210
    Messages:
    473
    Gender:
    Male
    Elora, Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tacoma TRD OR DCLB
    Wow. Ok, thanks for the save McB.....
    More reading and I think I finally have this sorted. If anyone cares, I called my dealer and the Toyota part numbers are as follows:
    ~16-18 Tacoma with alloy wheels- 42607-06030
    ~16-18 Tacoma with steel wheels- 42607-04020
    I checked the usual online places and the sensors are fairly expensive so I called the local tire shop where I’ll be buying my Blizzaks and they said they can program and install Schrader or Dill universal sensors for $30/wheel. I think i’m good to go now. Thanks for the tips.
     
  12. Nov 5, 2018 at 8:36 PM
    #12
    MrBrooks

    MrBrooks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Member:
    #232988
    Messages:
    1,145
    Midwest
    Vehicle:
    2018 SS DCSB 2018 Rav4 XLE
    Ok glad you got it sorted out. I guess I didn't know you were going to steal wheels until you said that.

    I'll probably pick some up of eBay soon. I saw a set of 4 for $60. Instead of the ATEQ I might do a bluetooth OBDII adapter & either the Carista app or Torque Pro. These apps will setup TPMS ID's & much much more so it's kinda of a win win & cheaper route than buying the ATEQ that only does 1 thing
     
  13. Nov 6, 2018 at 3:55 AM
    #13
    DarkFire989

    DarkFire989 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Member:
    #229243
    Messages:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ian
    Worcester, MA
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRDOR DCLB
    I've seen mixed opinions on the Universal / Ebay TPMS. I recently bought some TRD wheels and went with OEM TPMS(42607-06030). I bought them at the same time as the wheels from the dealer so they helped me out on price. Got them programmed with no issues.
     
  14. Nov 6, 2018 at 4:23 AM
    #14
    CITY TACO

    CITY TACO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Member:
    #55128
    Messages:
    109
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Greater New Brunswick
    Vehicle:
    15 TRD Barcelona Red
    The ATEQ system is what I use as you set it up on your computer and tell it to pull off the codes on your truck, go out to the truck plug it into the OBD port and press the summer button. Green light will flash then go solid, unplug the tool go back to your computer and rehook it up click on complete and the codes are stored in your computer. If you purchase other sensors copy off their codes and input them manually into the ateq program as the winter ones. Make sure you mark the tires to know where the specific sensors are as the program will indicate RF RR LF LR and the trucks computer needs those sensors in the correct location. You can juggle the codes around in the program for tire rotation then reupload them to the truck. The ATEQ system will handle 4 vehicles. Why doesn’t Toyota use the relearn process like some of the other company’s out there. The system isn’t really expensive to purchase and they provide free online updates to it. Another route is the AUTEL max TPMS tool that will read the sensor and provide you the ID’s, battery life, tire pressure, will program a sensor ID or clone one, explain how to relearn the sensors on vehicles that can do it but will not upload the codes to a vehicle. I have that tool also but it’s expensive.
     
    tonered likes this.
  15. Nov 7, 2018 at 11:44 AM
    #15
    Big tall dave

    Big tall dave [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Member:
    #269210
    Messages:
    473
    Gender:
    Male
    Elora, Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tacoma TRD OR DCLB
    Ok then......I was gonna go with the ATEQ tool but now i’m tempted by these adapters/apps. The Carista app apparently does do TPMS relearn but I don’t like the yearly membership updates that i’ll have to buy (FYI- I haven’t updated my personal SnapOn Brick since 2001. Lol) Can’t find any confirmation about the Torque Pro app as to the TPMS stuff. Do you know for sure that it can read and replace sensor ID’s in the trucks computer?
     
  16. Nov 7, 2018 at 2:46 PM
    #16
    MrBrooks

    MrBrooks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Member:
    #232988
    Messages:
    1,145
    Midwest
    Vehicle:
    2018 SS DCSB 2018 Rav4 XLE
    Yea I kinda wanted to throw that out there. To pay that much for something that only does one thing & then sits on the shelf seemed pointless when I started reading up about those apps. The Torque Pro app seems like something that could be used a lil more often than the Carista app for monitoring. I'm still reading up on these & haven't gotten one yet...
     
  17. Nov 7, 2018 at 2:55 PM
    #17
    tonered

    tonered tacorider

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    21,746
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    If you haven't snagged one yet, take a look at OBD Fusion. I really like Torque, but Fusion is a lot more flexible.
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2018
  18. Nov 7, 2018 at 4:40 PM
    #18
    Big tall dave

    Big tall dave [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Member:
    #269210
    Messages:
    473
    Gender:
    Male
    Elora, Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tacoma TRD OR DCLB
    Same boat as the Torque Pro, I can’t find any info about what capabilities it has with the TPMS system.....
    Can you use it when replacing TPMS sensors?
     
  19. Nov 7, 2018 at 4:42 PM
    #19
    tonered

    tonered tacorider

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    21,746
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    I will try to dig deeper tomorrow.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top