1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS Reset tool recommendations

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by DiggerDan, Jan 13, 2016.

  1. Jan 13, 2016 at 12:45 PM
    #1
    DiggerDan

    DiggerDan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Member:
    #158851
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    Does anyone have any recommendation for a tool to reset my Tire Pressure Monitor System (TPMS) each time I swap my wheel set?

    I learned the hard way that even once you pay $215 for TPMS on your new wheels, they still don't work until they are paired at the dealership (to the tune of $100 each time). The cost of swapping wheels every 6 months really adds up.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Jan 13, 2016 at 1:23 PM
    #2
    BlindingWhiteTac.

    BlindingWhiteTac. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Member:
    #87292
    Messages:
    409
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Thomas
    Vancouver, WA
    Vehicle:
    '12 DCSB AT TRD OR
    Just the essentials and no extra fluff.
    ATEQ Quickset is what I use for my Honda. You need to know the sensor ID numbers. If you don't you should be able to have a shop scan them for you. Or you could get a ATEQ VT30 or similar to ping the sensors and get the ID numbers.
     
    Norton likes this.
  3. Jan 13, 2016 at 1:45 PM
    #3
    DiggerDan

    DiggerDan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Member:
    #158851
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
  4. Jan 13, 2016 at 1:48 PM
    #4
    gottaToy

    gottaToy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Member:
    #152654
    Messages:
    1,375
    First Name:
    JJ
    movin' on up to the east side
    Vehicle:
    1985 Moped
    Rancho RS66903R7 @2.5", 2x4 block in rear. strait pipe, 37" super swampers
    do the tpms delete mod
     
  5. Jan 13, 2016 at 1:54 PM
    #5
    DiggerDan

    DiggerDan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Member:
    #158851
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    @gottaToy no sorry, that doesn't address the question at hand.
     
  6. Jan 13, 2016 at 1:58 PM
    #6
    gottaToy

    gottaToy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Member:
    #152654
    Messages:
    1,375
    First Name:
    JJ
    movin' on up to the east side
    Vehicle:
    1985 Moped
    Rancho RS66903R7 @2.5", 2x4 block in rear. strait pipe, 37" super swampers
    15 minutes and never have the tpms warning again and won't cost anything but time
     
  7. Jan 13, 2016 at 3:06 PM
    #7
    Revelations

    Revelations Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Member:
    #127895
    Messages:
    470
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 MGM DCSB
    I have the quickset and it's able to scan the oem TPMS that was installed in the wheels from the factory. That's the caveat. I believe it reads the numbers off the ECU and not the actual sensors. So, if you have original sensors in the wheels, then you're ok. I wouldn't spend more money on just reading the sensors. Especially for how much that VT30 costs. Either see if Tirerack still has the numbers they sold you or get the dealership to get the codes for you. After that, you just store the codes in the quickset software and swap back and forth.
     
    Norton likes this.
  8. Jan 13, 2016 at 3:13 PM
    #8
    Unchained 5150

    Unchained 5150 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Member:
    #139054
    Messages:
    43,549
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    Auburn Ma
    Where is said Mod please?
     
  9. Jan 13, 2016 at 3:26 PM
    #9
    gottaToy

    gottaToy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Member:
    #152654
    Messages:
    1,375
    First Name:
    JJ
    movin' on up to the east side
    Vehicle:
    1985 Moped
    Rancho RS66903R7 @2.5", 2x4 block in rear. strait pipe, 37" super swampers
    Unchained 5150 likes this.
  10. Jan 13, 2016 at 3:30 PM
    #10
    Unchained 5150

    Unchained 5150 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Member:
    #139054
    Messages:
    43,549
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    Auburn Ma
  11. Jan 13, 2016 at 4:25 PM
    #11
    vssman

    vssman Rocket Engineer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Member:
    #106440
    Messages:
    7,459
    Gender:
    Male
    Naugatuck, CT
    Vehicle:
    2013 SR5 double cab
    I use the Techstream software and cable from epay along with an old laptop I had running Windows XP. Cost about 30 bucks and I just reprogram the tpms ecu when I flip my winter wheels on/off. The software also lets you customize items via the PC instead of through the truck like no seatbelt buzzer & customizeable stuff like that.
     
    Norton likes this.
  12. Jan 13, 2016 at 4:32 PM
    #12
    gottaToy

    gottaToy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Member:
    #152654
    Messages:
    1,375
    First Name:
    JJ
    movin' on up to the east side
    Vehicle:
    1985 Moped
    Rancho RS66903R7 @2.5", 2x4 block in rear. strait pipe, 37" super swampers
    the 2015 might be different config, but the wire colors that need to be jumped are the same. there was a better thread somewhere, but same deal. pink/black and white/black
     
    Unchained 5150 likes this.
  13. Jan 13, 2016 at 5:13 PM
    #13
    BlindingWhiteTac.

    BlindingWhiteTac. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Member:
    #87292
    Messages:
    409
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Thomas
    Vancouver, WA
    Vehicle:
    '12 DCSB AT TRD OR
    Just the essentials and no extra fluff.
    The Quickset connects to the OBDII plug. If you connect it with the summer wheels on there is a way to have it learn the sensor IDs from the truck computer. You can manually program the winter IDs or have the dealer install the new sensors and have the Quickset learn the winter IDs. From then on when you change between the two sets you just press the winter or summer button.

    I have the VT30 because I have three vehicles I use them both on. When I rotate tires on the Chevrolet I use the VT30 to ping the sensors so the ECU learns the new tire locations.
     
    Norton likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top