1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

tpms ?

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by grizzbear, Feb 25, 2010.

  1. Feb 25, 2010 at 7:37 PM
    #1
    grizzbear

    grizzbear [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Member:
    #27420
    Messages:
    380
    Gender:
    Male
    will the tpms only allow you to put 60psi in?
    im running 35s and it calls for 65psi.
    how does the tpms work ?
     
  2. Feb 25, 2010 at 7:41 PM
    #2
    grizzbear

    grizzbear [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Member:
    #27420
    Messages:
    380
    Gender:
    Male
    i can only put 60psi in tho
     
  3. Feb 25, 2010 at 7:41 PM
    #3
    rzimm001

    rzimm001 Tearmytaco

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Member:
    #14812
    Messages:
    989
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bobby
    Wildomar
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner SR5 Long-Travel
    King 2.5 coilovers w/ resi. 3.5" over long travel kit. Factory spindles w/ ALLPRO gussets. Total Chaos tower gussets. Energy Poly cab mounts and steering rack mounts. Glassworks fenders. DMZ bed cage. King 2.5x14 smoothbody remote resi shocks in the rear. DMZ long travel rear end. Race radio (2meter). Removed front mud flaps. Removed secondary carbon air filter. Magnaflow exhaust. Phram fresh air cabin filter. Remote start system. K&N replacement filter, After market stereo with 10" subwoofer, Grillcraft grill, custom fabled roof rack with 7" HID's, TRD seat covers.
    65psi....??? That's insanely high. Are you sure that's not just a max pressure at max load carrying capacity?
     
  4. Feb 25, 2010 at 7:41 PM
    #4
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    105,477
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    65 is the MAX psi for those tires. Do a Chalk test, and see what psi you need to run. Odds are, 32 or so is fine. The TPMS can be reset by airing the tires to whatever psi you want (spare included), and push the "Rest" button under the dash.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Feb 25, 2010 at 8:56 PM
    #5
    grizzbear

    grizzbear [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Member:
    #27420
    Messages:
    380
    Gender:
    Male
    65 is what the tire guy said to put them at. i thought that was kinda high
     
  6. Feb 25, 2010 at 9:38 PM
    #6
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    105,477
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Use the Chaulk method. Google it, and it will show you how to get the propper tire psi for your truck.
     
To Top