1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

tpms ?

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by grizzbear, Feb 25, 2010.

  1. Feb 25, 2010 at 7:37 PM
    #1
    grizzbear

    grizzbear [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Member:
    #27420
    Messages:
    380
    Gender:
    Male
    will the tpms only allow you to put 60psi in?
    im running 35s and it calls for 65psi.
    how does the tpms work ?
     
  2. Feb 25, 2010 at 7:39 PM
    #2
    whippersnapper02

    whippersnapper02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Member:
    #27905
    Messages:
    35,214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Christian
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Vehicle:
    10 MGM TRD OR 4wd Auto DCSB
    Banks Monster Exhaust, Pop n Lock tailgate lock, Hook-Ups tie down brackets, USA Spec Ipod adaptor, WO seat covers, color matched grill with Grillcraft insert, Tuffy locking bed box
    TPMS works by monitoring tire pressure. When it falls below a specific pressure it triggers the light. You can run more pressure with no problem. Also don't go by what the tire says. 65 is max pressure if you are reading it on the side of the tire.
     
  3. Feb 25, 2010 at 7:41 PM
    #3
    grizzbear

    grizzbear [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Member:
    #27420
    Messages:
    380
    Gender:
    Male
    i can only put 60psi in tho
     
  4. Feb 25, 2010 at 7:41 PM
    #4
    rzimm001

    rzimm001 Tearmytaco

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Member:
    #14812
    Messages:
    967
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bobby
    Wildomar
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner SR5 Mid-travel
    King 2.5 coilovers w/ resi and adjustable compression. Factory spindles w/ ALLPRO gussets. Total Chaos tower gussets. Energy Poly cab mounts and steering rack mounts. Light Racing UCA's. Glassworks fenders. DMZ bed cage. King 2.5x14 smoothbody remote resi shocks in the rear. Icon progressive add a leaf 1.5" lift. Race radio (2meter). Removed swaybar. Removed front mud flaps. Removed secondary carbon air filter. Magnaflow exhaust. Phram fresh air cabin filter. Sirius satellite radio. HID headlights high/low beam and fog lights. Remote start system. K&N replacement filter, After market stereo with 10" subwoofer, Grillcraft grill, custom fabled roof rack with 7" HID's, TRD seat covers.
    65psi....??? That's insanely high. Are you sure that's not just a max pressure at max load carrying capacity?
     
  5. Feb 25, 2010 at 7:41 PM
    #5
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    104,100
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    65 is the MAX psi for those tires. Do a Chalk test, and see what psi you need to run. Odds are, 32 or so is fine. The TPMS can be reset by airing the tires to whatever psi you want (spare included), and push the "Rest" button under the dash.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Feb 25, 2010 at 8:56 PM
    #6
    grizzbear

    grizzbear [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Member:
    #27420
    Messages:
    380
    Gender:
    Male
    65 is what the tire guy said to put them at. i thought that was kinda high
     
  7. Feb 25, 2010 at 9:38 PM
    #7
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    104,100
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Use the Chaulk method. Google it, and it will show you how to get the propper tire psi for your truck.
     
To Top