1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Trailer Brake Controller Issue

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Jimkana, Jun 5, 2015.

  1. Jun 5, 2015 at 9:43 PM
    #1
    Jimkana

    Jimkana [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Member:
    #43877
    Messages:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    Alaska
    Vehicle:
    06 Lifted 4x4
    6" Fabtech lift Dirt Logic 2.5s 4:88 Yukon Gears 35" Toyo MTs 18" KMC Misfits All Pro APEX leaf springs All Pro APEX bumper Custom Grillcraft grill Stainless Exaust K&N intake Wet Okole seat covers Alpine audio deck and subs Protech tool box
    I went to wire in my Tekonsha P3 brake controller with the pigtail adapter that plugs directly into the factory plug in for a brake controller and have no power. I know it's grounded properly so I tested the black prong of the plug that goes to the battery and have no power. I checked all the fuses and nothing is obviously wrong. Any ideas?
     
  2. Jun 5, 2015 at 10:06 PM
    #2
    Jimkana

    Jimkana [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Member:
    #43877
    Messages:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    Alaska
    Vehicle:
    06 Lifted 4x4
    6" Fabtech lift Dirt Logic 2.5s 4:88 Yukon Gears 35" Toyo MTs 18" KMC Misfits All Pro APEX leaf springs All Pro APEX bumper Custom Grillcraft grill Stainless Exaust K&N intake Wet Okole seat covers Alpine audio deck and subs Protech tool box
    Yeah and hooked up to the trailer
     
  3. Jun 5, 2015 at 11:14 PM
    #3
    DormaTaco

    DormaTaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Member:
    #149372
    Messages:
    229
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shawn
    MN
    Vehicle:
    '15 TRD Sport DCLB 4X4
    I am wiring mine up this weekend. I did notice that the OEM pigtail has an extra wire than the tekonsha pigtail. Not sure if that might be an issue
     
  4. Jun 6, 2015 at 12:00 AM
    #4
    Wyoming09

    Wyoming09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Member:
    #153833
    Messages:
    12,483
    Gender:
    Male
    New Tripoli Pa
    Vehicle:
    2000 Work truck 5 speed 4x4 3.4
    Super Springs
    Is it possible your adapter is the wrong one or just pinned wrong.

    Then perhaps corroded on your truck side I have run into corrosion I was unable to see.

    You just need to follow the circuit till you see where it is open.

    I liked the old style controllers that were plumbed into the brake hydraulic line.
     
  5. Jun 6, 2015 at 5:18 AM
    #5
    Capt Jrod

    Capt Jrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Member:
    #143748
    Messages:
    897
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jarrod
    Northern Ohio
    Vehicle:
    15 WHITE DCSB 4x4 TRD SPORT
    Just did this 2 days ago. I ordered a tekonsha 3040 cable. It plugged in to the factory plug under the dash and into the controller. Make sure you have a good ground. I have a 2015 DCSB TRD Sport. This truck has the factory tow package. I think that the SR5 models without the tow don't have these plugs. You list a 2006, so I don't know how different these are. Make sure you have a good ground, that is where I would start. FWIW it is an awesome controller and is absolutely worth the head aches of getting it to work!!!
     
  6. Jun 6, 2015 at 5:25 AM
    #6
    Capt Jrod

    Capt Jrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Member:
    #143748
    Messages:
    897
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jarrod
    Northern Ohio
    Vehicle:
    15 WHITE DCSB 4x4 TRD SPORT
  7. Jun 6, 2015 at 7:42 AM
    #7
    koditten

    koditten Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Member:
    #112077
    Messages:
    14,669
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kirk
    Central Michigan
    Vehicle:
    04 trd x-cab 4 x 4 3.4l
    Reserected from the dead.
    I don't know for sure on the 2nd gen Tacoma's, but on the 2nd gen Tundra's, there is a relay in the fuse box under the hood, that must be present. On the Tundra the relay is next to the fuel pump relay. I'm sure the 2nd gen Tacoma's have similar fuse box arrangements. To check cost nothing.

    Maybe you are missing that relay. FYI, those 2 relays are the same, so for testing purposes, you can swap them out. Of course the truck wont start, but you can see if the trailer lights work. BTW, those relays are a bitch to pull. You are gonna need pliers.

    The reason I know this: I deal quite a bit in trailer repairs. If I tow someones trailer with an effed up wiring harness, it kills this relay. I keep a couple on hand now.
     
    DoorDing likes this.
  8. Jun 6, 2015 at 11:12 PM
    #8
    Jimkana

    Jimkana [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Member:
    #43877
    Messages:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    Alaska
    Vehicle:
    06 Lifted 4x4
    6" Fabtech lift Dirt Logic 2.5s 4:88 Yukon Gears 35" Toyo MTs 18" KMC Misfits All Pro APEX leaf springs All Pro APEX bumper Custom Grillcraft grill Stainless Exaust K&N intake Wet Okole seat covers Alpine audio deck and subs Protech tool box
    I had a good ground but I figured it out. I was missing a 30A fuse in the TRLR BRK socket in the fuse panel under the hood. Put one in and everything works now. But is the P3 supposed to have constant power? It's on even when he key is off. I checked and it's only drawing .08 or .008 volts I can't remember but it's not much. The way I have it set up its pretty much permanently in place... Unless I want to tear out the Dash/ steering column/ radio again. But I'm just going to disconnect the pigtail when I'm not using it.
     
  9. Jun 6, 2015 at 11:19 PM
    #9
    Jimkana

    Jimkana [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Member:
    #43877
    Messages:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    Alaska
    Vehicle:
    06 Lifted 4x4
    6" Fabtech lift Dirt Logic 2.5s 4:88 Yukon Gears 35" Toyo MTs 18" KMC Misfits All Pro APEX leaf springs All Pro APEX bumper Custom Grillcraft grill Stainless Exaust K&N intake Wet Okole seat covers Alpine audio deck and subs Protech tool box
    I broke the damn clip that lines up the two place pieces and you can kind of see how they don't match perfect but I like where it's mounted.

    image.jpg
     
  10. Jun 7, 2015 at 3:54 AM
    #10
    Capt Jrod

    Capt Jrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Member:
    #143748
    Messages:
    897
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jarrod
    Northern Ohio
    Vehicle:
    15 WHITE DCSB 4x4 TRD SPORT
    Yes mine powers up if you hit the brake with the key off. No harm to anything. I swap my controller across from a sequoia to the taco. V-8 tow pkg for the camper and boat, taco for the little dump trailer and local close stuff. It will never kill your battery, just a little annoying
     
  11. Jun 7, 2015 at 11:41 AM
    #11
    Jimkana

    Jimkana [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Member:
    #43877
    Messages:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    Alaska
    Vehicle:
    06 Lifted 4x4
    6" Fabtech lift Dirt Logic 2.5s 4:88 Yukon Gears 35" Toyo MTs 18" KMC Misfits All Pro APEX leaf springs All Pro APEX bumper Custom Grillcraft grill Stainless Exaust K&N intake Wet Okole seat covers Alpine audio deck and subs Protech tool box
    I'm towing a 7x14 enclosed tandem axle trailer from Alaska to Washington. I towed a VW Jetta up with me several years ago with no trailer brakes so this go around should be a little easier. I'm geared down to 4:88 but I'm still not planning on towing more than 5000 lbs.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top