1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Trouble code P0705- will dealer help?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Zizo, Feb 3, 2010.

  1. Feb 3, 2010 at 3:17 PM
    #1
    Zizo

    Zizo [OP] Engineer Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Member:
    #27391
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    Greenville, SC
    Vehicle:
    '06 Doublecab 4x4 TRD Sport
    TRD Supercharger, 3" lift, Pioneer Sound System, Remote Start, Avid Off Road Bumpers, All Pro Sliders, LED light bar, HID headlights and fogs, much more...
    OK, I Installed a Viper 5901 a few weeks back and it works great. But after about 1-2 weeks I noticed the MIL come on. I check it out and its code P0705, which is a Transmission range circuit malfunction. Doing My research, this light is tripped when the ECM detects two signals from the transmission range sensors. For instance, if the PNP says its in park but the Drive indicator says its in drive.

    I ran through the TSB out on this code, looking at freeze data, and the TSB does not apply because I am only getting one (1) "On" signal from the PNP indicating it is in park. SO I have eliminated the possibility of it being the TSB recall of replacing a harness wire.

    Here comes the question: Would the addition of a new car alarm have anything to do with this. It is kind of weird that it came on only after the alarm was done, so I am trying to determine if it is something I did or did the switch just happen to go by coincidence.

    Any ideas would be helpful. I don't wanna drag it to the dealer only for them to tell me I did something. Thanks for the help guys...
     
  2. Feb 3, 2010 at 3:47 PM
    #2
    pataco

    pataco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Member:
    #12092
    Messages:
    2,070
    Gender:
    Male
    Down by the lake
    Vehicle:
    05 4x4 trd dc white
    FOX 2.0 RESIS,LRUCAS,BILLY 5100S ON THE REAR.MAGNAFLOW 11264,COLOR MATCHED GRILL,YELLOW FOG MOD.OVER HEAD DVD,FEDERAL COURAGIA M/T
    some one else on here just had the same issue.let me look.
     
  3. Feb 3, 2010 at 4:00 PM
    #3
    pataco

    pataco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Member:
    #12092
    Messages:
    2,070
    Gender:
    Male
    Down by the lake
    Vehicle:
    05 4x4 trd dc white
    FOX 2.0 RESIS,LRUCAS,BILLY 5100S ON THE REAR.MAGNAFLOW 11264,COLOR MATCHED GRILL,YELLOW FOG MOD.OVER HEAD DVD,FEDERAL COURAGIA M/T
    i cant find it.its somewhere under tech. chat i think.
     
  4. Feb 3, 2010 at 4:16 PM
    #4
    Jon M

    Jon M Wax nostalgic.

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Member:
    #18781
    Messages:
    99
    Gender:
    Male
    SE MinneSNOWta
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma SR5 TRD Sport w / Towing Pkg
    Deactivate alarm system and see if it goes away.
     
  5. Feb 3, 2010 at 4:18 PM
    #5
    Jon M

    Jon M Wax nostalgic.

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Member:
    #18781
    Messages:
    99
    Gender:
    Male
    SE MinneSNOWta
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma SR5 TRD Sport w / Towing Pkg
    As in, "unhook" it completely.
     
  6. Feb 3, 2010 at 9:04 PM
    #6
    Zizo

    Zizo [OP] Engineer Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Member:
    #27391
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    Greenville, SC
    Vehicle:
    '06 Doublecab 4x4 TRD Sport
    TRD Supercharger, 3" lift, Pioneer Sound System, Remote Start, Avid Off Road Bumpers, All Pro Sliders, LED light bar, HID headlights and fogs, much more...
    Any other suggestions? I went over the install and nothing gets connected to this circuit. The signal wire for the brake is attached, but that's it. I hope its just the sensor itself...
     
  7. Feb 4, 2010 at 6:07 AM
    #7
    Zizo

    Zizo [OP] Engineer Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Member:
    #27391
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    Greenville, SC
    Vehicle:
    '06 Doublecab 4x4 TRD Sport
    TRD Supercharger, 3" lift, Pioneer Sound System, Remote Start, Avid Off Road Bumpers, All Pro Sliders, LED light bar, HID headlights and fogs, much more...
    The weirdest thing happened. Went to the truck today and the light is off. Drove to school the whole way and it did not once come back. When I get home I'm gonna hook the scanner to it and check what happened. I wonder if it just re-learned and cleared it on its own. That made my day!
     
  8. Feb 8, 2010 at 5:41 AM
    #8
    Zizo

    Zizo [OP] Engineer Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Member:
    #27391
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    Greenville, SC
    Vehicle:
    '06 Doublecab 4x4 TRD Sport
    TRD Supercharger, 3" lift, Pioneer Sound System, Remote Start, Avid Off Road Bumpers, All Pro Sliders, LED light bar, HID headlights and fogs, much more...
    Ok, the light is back and I cannot figure out why. It went away for a day and now it is back. I found this quote from another site that I thought would explain the problem:

    "I had that exact same CEL code. P0705. Mine was because of the remote start that was installed. It turned out that the Black-white wire coming out of the ignition switch was being used by the remote start, but this was grounding out and reducing the voltage to .45v. The ECU needs to see 10-14v from this wire when it's in any position except for P or N. I basically disconnected that lead from the Black-White and that solved my problem. Now I have to go back and find a new source for the remote start. Just so you know the P/N switch is on the passenger side of the transmission. It has a plug with about 7 or 8 wires coming out of it. There is a whole procedure on how to diagnose the error.
    I also drove around for over a month with that error. The trans goes into a "limp" mode and will shift harder than normal, and can sometimes take a few seconds to get into drive. But other than that it drove normal and I didn't notice and slipping."

    I don't know if this guy is right, but I also have it hooked up to the Black/white wire so I think this would be my problem. Any ideas guys??? Please help me out!!!!!
     
  9. Feb 8, 2010 at 5:45 AM
    #9
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 is gooder 'en chicken Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    49,857
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+250k AND COUNTING), 88 SR5 PU (SOLD), 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    Disconnect that wire and see what happens.
     
  10. Feb 8, 2010 at 7:22 AM
    #10
    Zizo

    Zizo [OP] Engineer Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Member:
    #27391
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    Greenville, SC
    Vehicle:
    '06 Doublecab 4x4 TRD Sport
    TRD Supercharger, 3" lift, Pioneer Sound System, Remote Start, Avid Off Road Bumpers, All Pro Sliders, LED light bar, HID headlights and fogs, much more...
    HAS ANYONE ELSE WHO INSTALLED THEIR REMOTE START HAD THIS ISSUE? I followed people's instructions on this site for installing it and it works well. Why should I have this problem if no one else does?
     
  11. Feb 8, 2010 at 11:33 AM
    #11
    Zizo

    Zizo [OP] Engineer Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Member:
    #27391
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    Greenville, SC
    Vehicle:
    '06 Doublecab 4x4 TRD Sport
    TRD Supercharger, 3" lift, Pioneer Sound System, Remote Start, Avid Off Road Bumpers, All Pro Sliders, LED light bar, HID headlights and fogs, much more...
    Anyone at all??
     
  12. Feb 8, 2010 at 1:45 PM
    #12
    Semperfi

    Semperfi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Member:
    #22675
    Messages:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Angel Fire, New Mexico
    Vehicle:
    2010 Off Road S/B
    I have the 5901 with remote start. No problems here.
     
  13. Feb 9, 2010 at 10:43 AM
    #13
    Zizo

    Zizo [OP] Engineer Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Member:
    #27391
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    Greenville, SC
    Vehicle:
    '06 Doublecab 4x4 TRD Sport
    TRD Supercharger, 3" lift, Pioneer Sound System, Remote Start, Avid Off Road Bumpers, All Pro Sliders, LED light bar, HID headlights and fogs, much more...
    How did you hook up the ignition wires? Do you remember? There are 2 starter wires and I tapped into both. did you?
     
  14. Feb 9, 2010 at 10:46 AM
    #14
    Semperfi

    Semperfi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Member:
    #22675
    Messages:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Angel Fire, New Mexico
    Vehicle:
    2010 Off Road S/B
    I had an installer put the system in. Go to Viper web site and look for a dealer close to you and have them look at it.
     
  15. Feb 13, 2010 at 3:08 PM
    #15
    TXTACO915

    TXTACO915 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Member:
    #7092
    Messages:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    ary
    El Paso, TX
    I just installed remote start autopage system, and my check engine light came on...went to auto zone and the did the diagnostic and the code was P0705. Probable causes: open or short circuit condition, poor electrical connection, misadjusted tr sensor, failed tr sensor. TR Sensor could either be Transmission Range sensor or Transaxle sensor...help!:confused:
     
  16. Feb 13, 2010 at 3:14 PM
    #16
    BlueT

    BlueT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Member:
    #15341
    Messages:
    5,645
    Gender:
    Male
    NorthEast
    Vehicle:
    07 Dbl Cab LB with LSD
    I moded 1999 Taco so much it had turned to Land Cruiser
    What system you installed? Can you post electrical diagram of the system connections?
     
  17. Feb 13, 2010 at 6:21 PM
    #17
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 is gooder 'en chicken Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    49,857
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+250k AND COUNTING), 88 SR5 PU (SOLD), 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    http://www.ncttora.com/fsm/05+/data/ileaf/06toyrm/06toypdf/06rmsrc/rm2006ta/0280013.pdf

    The ECM is getting two signals from the switch when it should only be getting one.
     
  18. Feb 13, 2010 at 8:45 PM
    #18
    TXTACO915

    TXTACO915 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Member:
    #7092
    Messages:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    ary
    El Paso, TX
  19. Apr 24, 2010 at 7:31 AM
    #19
    scrinch

    scrinch New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Member:
    #18428
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Toronto
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport
    ZIZO / TXTACO915 - I have the same issue on my 2005 TRD. What was the solution?

    Thanks.
     
  20. Nov 27, 2010 at 3:10 PM
    #20
    obsidian

    obsidian New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Member:
    #46782
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Toronto
    Vehicle:
    2011 Tacoma TRD Sport Doublecab V6 4x4
    Roll-n-lock Tonneau, Running boards, Krown Rust Proof
    Hi guys,

    You're not the only one with a P0705 error code - I have the EXACT same issue with the EXACT same remote start module.

    My situation is still unresolved. Hoping someone figured this out before I go to the installer tomorrow to have him take everything out.

    2011 Toyota Tacoma Doublecab V6 4x4 trd sport.

    Had an installer put in the 5901. He put a bypass module in behind the glove compartment - where the datawires and cpu apparently are.

    The engine light went on - he said it was likely because he started the car w/o plugging something in.

    He cleared the error code, but the engine light came back on. I'm having the same symptoms - 5 second delay to get into 'drive'. When easing off the gas, the engine 'chokes'/brakes slightly. Otherwise, drives fine.

    The installer took the brain and the bypass out and taped up his splices.

    Took the truck into the dealer. They said the computer was pooched (tried a new computer, ran but still had engine light, plugged my original computer into the harness, and truck refused to start). They were concerned about the wiring job of the installer. They warrantied me a new computer (apparently 3000$ part), but the engine light is still on. They won't do any more work under warranty until the installer takes out all his cables etc.

    So, I've been asking around to people who had a Viper 5901 installed on a 2011 tacoma, but no responses yet. I'm hoping someone can shed some light on the issue. How they went about the install, what bypass they used.

    Maybe it is wiring... I have no idea. I really don't want to see the time wasted getting everything wired into the truck, only to see it taken out, but I also don't like the idea of a brand new 2011 not being covered under warranty either.

    Let us know if anyone has any ideas/thoughts/experience installed the 5901 into a 2011 Tacoma!
     
To Top