1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Trouble shifting after modification

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by MacTaco, Jan 12, 2009.

  1. Jan 12, 2009 at 7:28 AM
    #1
    MacTaco

    MacTaco [OP] Mustache May

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Member:
    #9314
    Messages:
    548
    Gender:
    Male
    Pensacola, Florida
    Vehicle:
    06 Indigo, Lifted, Flowmaster
    Skyjacker 3" Lift, 285/75/R16 Toyo M/T tires/ Eagle Alloy Wheels, Flowmaster 50 Series, Pioneer Din Head Unit, Viper Alarm/Remote Start System, Debadged, DT Headers, True Flow Intake
    I just had a new CAI and my DT Long Tubes installed, and I really love them. But my truck has occasionally been hanging up in third, and sometime fourth gear.

    It usually happens when I accelerate from a dead stop. But besides that I haven't really found a common variable that could cause it(accelerating too hard, blah blah)

    I have found a solution, which is to just manually flip the shifter from drive to fourth and back to drive. But I know there is a reason for why it is doing it.

    Is my engine having trouble getting used to the mass air flow?
    Should I just consider getting my hands on a MAF Calibrator?
     
  2. Jan 12, 2009 at 7:31 AM
    #2
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,187
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Did you disco the battery when the install was performed?
     
  3. Jan 12, 2009 at 7:33 AM
    #3
    MacTaco

    MacTaco [OP] Mustache May

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Member:
    #9314
    Messages:
    548
    Gender:
    Male
    Pensacola, Florida
    Vehicle:
    06 Indigo, Lifted, Flowmaster
    Skyjacker 3" Lift, 285/75/R16 Toyo M/T tires/ Eagle Alloy Wheels, Flowmaster 50 Series, Pioneer Din Head Unit, Viper Alarm/Remote Start System, Debadged, DT Headers, True Flow Intake
    Not when the actual installation happened, but when the 02 Sim was installed I did.
     
  4. Jan 12, 2009 at 7:36 AM
    #4
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,187
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Only thing I can think of right now is to disco your negative battery cable for a while, and see if it resets the ECU. Also, make sure all vaccume connections are propperly connected, and there is no leaks.
     
  5. Jan 12, 2009 at 7:39 AM
    #5
    MacTaco

    MacTaco [OP] Mustache May

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Member:
    #9314
    Messages:
    548
    Gender:
    Male
    Pensacola, Florida
    Vehicle:
    06 Indigo, Lifted, Flowmaster
    Skyjacker 3" Lift, 285/75/R16 Toyo M/T tires/ Eagle Alloy Wheels, Flowmaster 50 Series, Pioneer Din Head Unit, Viper Alarm/Remote Start System, Debadged, DT Headers, True Flow Intake
    Are there any particular connection you can think of that I should look out for?

    I mean, my truck is running like a dream all the time except for this.
     
  6. Jan 12, 2009 at 7:40 AM
    #6
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,187
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    I cant think of anything else to check right now. I may have a bit more insight as I wake up.
     
  7. Jan 12, 2009 at 7:49 AM
    #7
    MacTaco

    MacTaco [OP] Mustache May

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Member:
    #9314
    Messages:
    548
    Gender:
    Male
    Pensacola, Florida
    Vehicle:
    06 Indigo, Lifted, Flowmaster
    Skyjacker 3" Lift, 285/75/R16 Toyo M/T tires/ Eagle Alloy Wheels, Flowmaster 50 Series, Pioneer Din Head Unit, Viper Alarm/Remote Start System, Debadged, DT Headers, True Flow Intake
    Alright.

    Thanks Chris.
     
  8. Jan 15, 2009 at 8:50 AM
    #8
    MacTaco

    MacTaco [OP] Mustache May

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Member:
    #9314
    Messages:
    548
    Gender:
    Male
    Pensacola, Florida
    Vehicle:
    06 Indigo, Lifted, Flowmaster
    Skyjacker 3" Lift, 285/75/R16 Toyo M/T tires/ Eagle Alloy Wheels, Flowmaster 50 Series, Pioneer Din Head Unit, Viper Alarm/Remote Start System, Debadged, DT Headers, True Flow Intake
    Bump

    Chris, did you ever think of anything?
     
  9. Jan 15, 2009 at 9:07 AM
    #9
    itsmyturn

    itsmyturn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Member:
    #5502
    Messages:
    414
    Gender:
    Male
    Victorville, CA
    Vehicle:
    08 dbl cab TRD sport
    afe Pro-Dry S dropin, Readylift leveling kit, TRD skid plate, Alpine CDA-9887, 6K D2S HID
    this works for new VW's so i'm not sure it will work on your taco(although VW transmissions are made by aisian, which is toyota).

    turn on ignition only, do not start your truck. hold accelerator pedal down for at least 3 seconds. turn key off and release pedal. test drive.

    somtimes this procedure causes the tcm(trans control module) to relearn its shift points. as chris stated sometimes just a simple disconnect of the battery will do it, sometimes it won't. if the tcm doesn't relearn then the next step might be a dealer(or dealer scan tool) to preform the adaptation. hope either of these things helps.:)
     
  10. Jan 15, 2009 at 9:09 AM
    #10
    MacTaco

    MacTaco [OP] Mustache May

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Member:
    #9314
    Messages:
    548
    Gender:
    Male
    Pensacola, Florida
    Vehicle:
    06 Indigo, Lifted, Flowmaster
    Skyjacker 3" Lift, 285/75/R16 Toyo M/T tires/ Eagle Alloy Wheels, Flowmaster 50 Series, Pioneer Din Head Unit, Viper Alarm/Remote Start System, Debadged, DT Headers, True Flow Intake
    I'll have to try that. Thanks
     
  11. Jan 15, 2009 at 9:23 AM
    #11
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,187
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    I havent. Not sure why this problem is happening. Everything is hooked up propperly, right? :confused:
     
  12. Jan 15, 2009 at 9:25 AM
    #12
    MacTaco

    MacTaco [OP] Mustache May

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Member:
    #9314
    Messages:
    548
    Gender:
    Male
    Pensacola, Florida
    Vehicle:
    06 Indigo, Lifted, Flowmaster
    Skyjacker 3" Lift, 285/75/R16 Toyo M/T tires/ Eagle Alloy Wheels, Flowmaster 50 Series, Pioneer Din Head Unit, Viper Alarm/Remote Start System, Debadged, DT Headers, True Flow Intake
    Yea, Everything is great. Nothing in my engine was touched besides the intake and headers, and everything that they entail looks great. I might just go undo the battery and try what itsmyturn said.
     
  13. Mar 30, 2009 at 1:42 PM
    #13
    Toyota_hic

    Toyota_hic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Member:
    #2692
    Messages:
    69
    First Name:
    Grant
    Vehicle:
    07 offroad red tacoma SR5 ac./cab
    westin bull bar, tube steps, BFG MT, silver ceramic coated JBA shortys, tru dual flowmaster 40series with magnaflow tips, 77series K&N intake, allpine head unit, 10" type R sub, 500w/4 amp
    i am having this same problem with my 07 tacoma and i too just installed a CAI and already had JBA shortys

    so when u figure it out please post
     
To Top