1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Trouble wiring Hella 500s

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by aggieshooter, Mar 29, 2010.

  1. Mar 29, 2010 at 9:13 PM
    #1
    aggieshooter

    aggieshooter [OP] Registered Chet-head

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Member:
    #19041
    Messages:
    70
    Gender:
    Male
    College Station, TX
    Vehicle:
    '09 Double Cab V6 SR5 4x4
    OME 3" lift, ToyTec rear AAL, 16" Moto Metal 951's, 285/75R/16 BFGoodrich KM2's, Aries Grill Guard, Hella 500's, Flowmaster 40
    My buddy and I were installing my Hella 500s this evening and although it seems like we've got everything right, the lights don't come on. The only problem I might could see is not having a good ground on the lights themselves, but after some tinkering with the wiring to the switch, the light on the switch doesn't light up (I bought the Toyota illuminated fog switch). It did come on at first. I have no idea where else we could be going wrong. Anybody got anything?
     
  2. Mar 29, 2010 at 10:32 PM
    #2
    Manlaan

    Manlaan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Member:
    #30054
    Messages:
    1,029
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Riverton, Utah
    Vehicle:
    2002 XtraCab SR5 V6 4x4 Black
    See Signature
    Tell us how things are wired up and I'm sure we can offer some suggestions.

    Basics of how it should be wired:

    Loop 1: Battery (+) -> fuse -> Relay (30,87) -> Lights -> Ground
    Loop 2: Battery (+) (or something else to determine when the lights can turn on: acc fuse, HL fuse, etc) -> fuse -> switch -> relay (85, 86) -> Ground

    If the switch is lighted, it will also have its own ground for the led.

    If you have it wired up as above, do some tests.

    1. Bypass the relay to test lights. Connect wire from the battery (to 30 on the relay) to the wire going to the lights (87 on the relay). The lights should turn on. If they dont, probably a ground problem at the lights. Double check fuse and broken wires as well.

    2. Double check the relay is working. Connect your lights and battery back up to 30/87. Connect 86 to the ground. Run a test wire from 85 to the battery. The relay should click and the lights will turn on. If this doesn't, double check the ground. Relay may be dead.

    3. Check the switch. Plug everything into the relay as mentioned above. Make sure you have 12v incoming into the switch. You can also test by bypassing the switch and see if the lights turn on. If only the led doesn't work, make sure the ground is correct.
     
  3. Mar 30, 2010 at 1:01 PM
    #3
    aggieshooter

    aggieshooter [OP] Registered Chet-head

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Member:
    #19041
    Messages:
    70
    Gender:
    Male
    College Station, TX
    Vehicle:
    '09 Double Cab V6 SR5 4x4
    OME 3" lift, ToyTec rear AAL, 16" Moto Metal 951's, 285/75R/16 BFGoodrich KM2's, Aries Grill Guard, Hella 500's, Flowmaster 40
    great post dude, thanks. Fixin to take another look at it as we speak. What about if I wanna be able to turn on the Hellas anytime and not hook them up to the high beams, etc. ?
     
  4. Mar 30, 2010 at 1:15 PM
    #4
    tacovic

    tacovic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Member:
    #24279
    Messages:
    666
    Gender:
    Male
    MN/WI
    Vehicle:
    00 4x4 TRD
    stock for now
    jeez i was thinking about picking up some hellas but the more i look into it, the harder it looks to install.
     
  5. Mar 30, 2010 at 1:23 PM
    #5
    solus

    solus HOME!!!

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Member:
    #20487
    Messages:
    4,496
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Bremerton, WA
    Vehicle:
    RR 4wd SR5
    its probably a ground... or your taps are not penetrating, thats what I had trouble with.
     
  6. Mar 30, 2010 at 2:36 PM
    #6
    aggieshooter

    aggieshooter [OP] Registered Chet-head

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Member:
    #19041
    Messages:
    70
    Gender:
    Male
    College Station, TX
    Vehicle:
    '09 Double Cab V6 SR5 4x4
    OME 3" lift, ToyTec rear AAL, 16" Moto Metal 951's, 285/75R/16 BFGoodrich KM2's, Aries Grill Guard, Hella 500's, Flowmaster 40
    OK, got the lights working. Only thing now is that the switch doesn't light up. It did yesterday at one point and it's still grounded in the same spot inside the cab...would it be better to run a wire into the engine compartment and ground it inside there somewhere?
     
  7. Mar 30, 2010 at 8:45 PM
    #7
    BUZZ5

    BUZZ5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Member:
    #16074
    Messages:
    292
    Gender:
    Male
    S.Carolina
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner DC TRD Sport
    Many
    I had a similar problem with my Hellas & it was the ground inside the cab. I finally grounded the switch to a bolt behind the left kick panel & all is fine. I have the OE switches for my Hellas.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  8. Mar 31, 2010 at 2:32 PM
    #8
    solus

    solus HOME!!!

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Member:
    #20487
    Messages:
    4,496
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Bremerton, WA
    Vehicle:
    RR 4wd SR5
    I grounded mine inside the engine compartment
     
To Top