1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Turbogauge, like Scangauge but 1/2 the cost, any good?

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by pablotaco, Apr 21, 2020.

  1. Apr 21, 2020 at 1:35 PM
    #1
    pablotaco

    pablotaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Member:
    #148995
    Messages:
    54
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    02 PreRunner
  2. Apr 21, 2020 at 1:40 PM
    #2
    se7enine

    se7enine MCMLXXIX

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Member:
    #102322
    Messages:
    19,752
    Gender:
    Male
    Reno, NV
    Vehicle:
    98 Tacoma SR5 Xtra Cab 3.4L
    If your worried about price try an UltraGauge. It's only $79 and tons on here have it.
     
    BrownMike and Taco critter like this.
  3. Apr 21, 2020 at 1:42 PM
    #3
    jbrandt

    jbrandt ......LOADING

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Member:
    #51038
    Messages:
    15,534
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    '04 TRD Tacoma 4x4 DC
    Kings, J59's Total Chaos UCAs Custom skids Sticker mod
    Well, with "turbo" in the name, it's gotta be good!:devil:

    Depending on what features you MUST have, I just run Torque Pro ($5) on my phone with a $20 bluetooth OBDII reader.
     
    Taco critter likes this.
  4. Apr 21, 2020 at 1:52 PM
    #4
    Wulf

    Wulf web wheeler

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Member:
    #147523
    Messages:
    35,650
    First Name:
    Jake
    24400 E Smoky Hill Rd, Aurora, CO 80016
    Vehicle:
    96 Tacoma WIP
    yes
    X2

    I prefer the screen of the UG over the SG2. Needed a SG2 for custom PID support on my 6.oh though

    These can be handy. YMMV with cheapy ELM327 adapters. It seems like my adapters don't last more than a couple uses before they stop connecting.

    Torque pro is the shit though, so nice to create custom layouts with the exact gauges and presentation you want
     
  5. Apr 21, 2020 at 1:54 PM
    #5
    pablotaco

    pablotaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Member:
    #148995
    Messages:
    54
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    02 PreRunner
    I like $60 bucks in my pocket but also like the scangauge "look" better than ultragauge. Saw the turbogauge looked similar to scangauge but only $60 bucks. Couldn't find another mention of it anywhere and you can't trust ebay reviews
     
  6. Apr 21, 2020 at 1:58 PM
    #6
    pablotaco

    pablotaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Member:
    #148995
    Messages:
    54
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    02 PreRunner
    Really all I want is a good temp gauge, the
    Really all I need is a good temp gauge and having the code reader is nice too!
     
  7. Apr 21, 2020 at 2:24 PM
    #7
    jbrandt

    jbrandt ......LOADING

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Member:
    #51038
    Messages:
    15,534
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    '04 TRD Tacoma 4x4 DC
    Kings, J59's Total Chaos UCAs Custom skids Sticker mod
    I've only had connection issues when I bought a 2nd reader for my 4runner. Then my phone (or the readers) would get confused on which one it was trying to connect to. I would have to completely delete the connections and re-authenticate each time I got in the other truck. It was annoying, so I actually just stopped logging anything in either truck. Would be nice if there was a way to rename each of the readers.

    I've seen people use like an Ipad to completely replace the dash console with fully custom gauges. It's pretty slick.

    The only thing I don't like is that I couldn't figure out a way to get the trans temp on my 2004 DC. I got it on my 4Runner, but was hoping I could get it on the Taco, too...
     
  8. Apr 21, 2020 at 2:25 PM
    #8
    jbrandt

    jbrandt ......LOADING

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Member:
    #51038
    Messages:
    15,534
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    '04 TRD Tacoma 4x4 DC
    Kings, J59's Total Chaos UCAs Custom skids Sticker mod
    which temp?

    engine temp, you're all good in the hood, but if you want trans temp, that's a different story. I haven't been able to figure that one out for 1st gens.
     
  9. Apr 22, 2020 at 7:08 AM
    #9
    pablotaco

    pablotaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Member:
    #148995
    Messages:
    54
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    02 PreRunner
    Yes engine temp, but I’m not really interested in the features for this discussion, I just want to know if anyone has purchased and used a Turbogauge, and what they think of it.
     
  10. Apr 22, 2020 at 7:12 AM
    #10
    se7enine

    se7enine MCMLXXIX

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Member:
    #102322
    Messages:
    19,752
    Gender:
    Male
    Reno, NV
    Vehicle:
    98 Tacoma SR5 Xtra Cab 3.4L
    I don't think anybody here has bought it. Looks like a chinese knockoff of a ScanGauge. I personally wouldn't risk it.
     
    Wulf and pablotaco [OP] like this.
  11. Apr 22, 2020 at 9:06 AM
    #11
    jbrandt

    jbrandt ......LOADING

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Member:
    #51038
    Messages:
    15,534
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    '04 TRD Tacoma 4x4 DC
    Kings, J59's Total Chaos UCAs Custom skids Sticker mod
    Just be careful with the engine temp. I've seen numerous people on this site install a temp gauge with any of the methods outlined already, then freak out when they see the temps fluctuate. Like, "OMG my temp went from 185 to 195, is that normal?"

    This is totally normal. The "idiot" gauge on the dash purposefully doesn't move with the temp fluctuations that are in that "normal" range. So in essence, the engine temp doesn't really matter unless the needle on the dash starts moving.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top