1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TV tuner advice

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by OhYeah, Jul 16, 2012.

  1. Jul 16, 2012 at 4:28 PM
    #1
    OhYeah

    OhYeah [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78989
    Messages:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    so cal
    Vehicle:
    2006 DCSB
    I know, TV tuners aren't all that great while driving, but i figured it was worth a shot if I could catch a game in a parking lot somewhere if I needed to..

    With that said, I wanted to see if anyone has an add on tv tuner in their truck. Just wana get some advice on where to mount the unit, run the antenna wire through, and where to mount the remote receiver. Also, if anyone knows which wires to tap for power and ground on a pioneer avh 4300 (I think I heard blue for power, and black for ground but I want to make sure).

    This is the tv tuner I bought:
    http://www.amazon.com/PYLE-PLTVATSC...qid=1342481230&sr=8-1&keywords=PYLE+PLTVATSC1
     
  2. Jul 16, 2012 at 4:30 PM
    #2
    Aw9d

    Aw9d That one guy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Member:
    #66635
    Messages:
    18,587
    Gender:
    Male
    Az
    I had one in my old car and never could get a good enough signal to where it was worth the money. I mounted the main unit in my glove box and ran the wire up the windshield and had it stopped by the review mirror. I never really did try and stop to watch TV, but in motion it was just in and out all the time.
     
  3. Jul 16, 2012 at 9:18 PM
    #3
    OhYeah

    OhYeah [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78989
    Messages:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    so cal
    Vehicle:
    2006 DCSB
    thanks for the reply. i got the unit for about $60 but im kinda weighing my options to see if it's even worth installing..
     
  4. Jul 16, 2012 at 9:30 PM
    #4
    ruler

    ruler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Member:
    #4503
    Messages:
    1,999
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal - Los Angeles - SGV
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma, TRD Sport, DC 4x4
    Fox Extended Travel Coilovers 2.5 (front), Fox 2.0 shocks (rear),Total Chaos UCA's, AllPro Expedition leaf pack, AllPro front plate style bumper,BHLM, GrillCraft MX series Grill, ATX Thug 17inch rims, Toyo Open Country MT (295,70,17), TRD CAI,Rear smoked LED tail lights, slimcubby HID Head Lights (50w 1200k), ADVMonster 60 Series 3600 Lumen LED Off Road Lights , Pioneer Avic-F700bt (navigation,head unit)
    Thinking of doing the same thing, my head unit has a few aux inputs. Already connected a dvd player/ps 3, now I need a tv tuner, preferably a small sized one with quality reception
     
  5. Jul 18, 2012 at 12:05 AM
    #5
    OhYeah

    OhYeah [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78989
    Messages:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    so cal
    Vehicle:
    2006 DCSB
    so, i gave it a shot this evening and got stuck. I was able to get the unit to power up (there is a red LED that turns green when you press power on the remote). I put the RCAs to the output on the tv unit and the input behind the HU. But that was about it, switched it to AUX on the HU but nothing.

    Is there something I need to switch the HU to if I want to watch tv? or is it just aux? This is for the Pioneer AVH 4300. HELP!!
     
  6. Jul 18, 2012 at 3:18 PM
    #6
    Aw9d

    Aw9d That one guy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Member:
    #66635
    Messages:
    18,587
    Gender:
    Male
    Az
    I know when I hooked up a PS2 to my HU I just plugged the RCA's into the AUX channel on the back, then went to the aux menu on the deck. AVH3200BT.

    If you don't have the override you will have to be in park to get any video. Do you get any messages at all or anything on the display? If you pull the cables out while the deck is on does the screen change colors?

    Can you hook up your tuner to a TV and see if it working maybe?
     
  7. Jul 19, 2012 at 11:47 AM
    #7
    OhYeah

    OhYeah [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78989
    Messages:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    so cal
    Vehicle:
    2006 DCSB
    i have the override. the screen is just black.. maybe i've got a defective unit. ill keep messing with it over the weekend see if anything changes.
     
  8. Jul 20, 2012 at 4:09 PM
    #8
    Aw9d

    Aw9d That one guy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Member:
    #66635
    Messages:
    18,587
    Gender:
    Male
    Az
    Hook it up to a tv and see if you get any type of output, that will tell you if the tuner is the problem or not.
     
  9. Jul 31, 2012 at 8:42 PM
    #9
    OhYeah

    OhYeah [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78989
    Messages:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    so cal
    Vehicle:
    2006 DCSB
    what power source can i use to hook it up to a tv? I tried it again and didnt have anymore luck than last time.

    Am I missing something with my headunit? Does anyone know how to walk me through the AVH4300?
     
  10. Aug 2, 2012 at 7:01 PM
    #10
    OhYeah

    OhYeah [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78989
    Messages:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    so cal
    Vehicle:
    2006 DCSB
    ok, so im sitting in front of a tv i moved into the garage to hook up the tv tuner (I've got it powered by the truck battery). IT WORKS!! Really well, as a matter of fact!

    Now I'm really stumped...
     

Products Discussed in

To Top