1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

UltraGauge

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by timkins42, Mar 10, 2011.

  1. Mar 10, 2011 at 6:22 AM
    #1
    timkins42

    timkins42 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Member:
    #45980
    Messages:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Fishers, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma SR5 Access Cab 4x4
    Is the Ultra Gauge worth the money and hype?
     
  2. Mar 10, 2011 at 1:45 PM
    #2
    DonL

    DonL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Member:
    #26507
    Messages:
    198
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Don
    Prescott, AZ
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma TRD
    Monster Exhaust, Shell, 5100's all around, Airlift airbags, Hankook Atm, K&M air filter
    I think they're great!!!! Just make sure you calibrate it correctly and download the manual off the website.
     
  3. Mar 10, 2011 at 1:53 PM
    #3
    Sawick

    Sawick Still not worthy!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Member:
    #50642
    Messages:
    342
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Bedford, MA
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Sport
    HID Retrofit, Smoked Tails, Tint, Running Boards, Satoshi, XD Cranks, 285/70 Duratracks, In-Dash Navigation, aFe Pro Dry CAI, 2525XL, 5100's+ coils, Socked and Millerd!
    Just got mine the other day, does alot of interesting stuff. I still need to calibrate mine before I can say just how awesome it is.
     
  4. Mar 12, 2011 at 9:43 AM
    #4
    riderrace

    riderrace Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Member:
    #52857
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ty
    NOCO
    Vehicle:
    99 TRD SR5 V6 4x4
    ARB bumper, ARE topper. All the mods go on the jetski trailer I pull all summer.
    I'm interested as well... Any other opinions?
     
  5. Mar 12, 2011 at 9:47 AM
    #5
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    104,113
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Yes. WELL worth the money.
     
  6. Mar 13, 2011 at 6:04 AM
    #6
    riderrace

    riderrace Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Member:
    #52857
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ty
    NOCO
    Vehicle:
    99 TRD SR5 V6 4x4
    ARB bumper, ARE topper. All the mods go on the jetski trailer I pull all summer.
    They look super BA, it just seems a little sketchy being so much cheaper than a scangaugeII. I supposed I just dismissed the idea of getting one, once I saw the SG's price.

    Definitely going to have to get one. :cool:
     
  7. Mar 13, 2011 at 7:54 AM
    #7
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    29,090
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    Well worth the money! I finally got mine calibrated and it's dead on. I use it more for mileage because I needed some help changing my driving habits but it can display a whole range of information.
     
  8. Mar 14, 2011 at 9:56 AM
    #8
    riderrace

    riderrace Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Member:
    #52857
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ty
    NOCO
    Vehicle:
    99 TRD SR5 V6 4x4
    ARB bumper, ARE topper. All the mods go on the jetski trailer I pull all summer.
    ^^^ That's mainly what I'm interested in. I feel like my MPG's suffer a bit too much, but I also should do a complete tune-up here soon.

    I'd like a number for my battery voltage as well, and would like tranny temp, etc. but as long as she's a-goin good I guess it isn't a problem.
     
  9. Mar 14, 2011 at 9:58 AM
    #9
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    104,113
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    None of the real time gauges support a tranny temp function. IIRC, the temp sender on teh Tacoma is a "Good/Bad" sensor, and doesnt give real time temp info.
     
  10. Mar 14, 2011 at 8:05 PM
    #10
    Anthony250

    Anthony250 E-Fabber

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Member:
    #44016
    Messages:
    3,100
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    San Gabriel Ca
    Vehicle:
    99 Tacoma LT Prerunner
    Eagle Alloy's 058 on Goodyear BFG All Terrians . 265/75/16. Kenwood Stereo, 12" JL Audio Sub. Led Lighting interior. Led Turn Signals. Custom Bumper ,Total Chaos Long travel Sway away shocks, glassworks fenders, ,Spintech Super Pro street muffler, Hellas 500ff HID Converted, Window Tint,Black Emblems, Deckplate, , Deaver Prerunner Pack, Bilstein 7100's 12" SB's and Sway Away 2" Air Bumps
    Well worth it just got mine like 3 days ago. Except they are sold out now. Buhahah
     
  11. Mar 14, 2011 at 10:28 PM
    #11
    riderrace

    riderrace Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Member:
    #52857
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ty
    NOCO
    Vehicle:
    99 TRD SR5 V6 4x4
    ARB bumper, ARE topper. All the mods go on the jetski trailer I pull all summer.
    I didn't convey my knowledge of this quite well enough, but that was the point on the if it's running why worry about it comment.

    I've got a decent amount of shop experience, and have access to some pretty expensive computer scanners. I assume anything the nice OBDII readers can pick up, so can this one.

    I suppose if I really wanted a tranny temp sensor, I could install one myself and do a fancy gauge on the column... But that's just not for poor college kids. :annoyed:
     
  12. Mar 16, 2011 at 6:37 AM
    #12
    Sawick

    Sawick Still not worthy!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Member:
    #50642
    Messages:
    342
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Bedford, MA
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Sport
    HID Retrofit, Smoked Tails, Tint, Running Boards, Satoshi, XD Cranks, 285/70 Duratracks, In-Dash Navigation, aFe Pro Dry CAI, 2525XL, 5100's+ coils, Socked and Millerd!
    Not sure if its just mine or what, but my Ultragauge states it cannot find my fuel sensor. Anyone else run into this? It still calculates my Fuel levels pretty good off miles, but I cant use any of the added fuel options aside from adding gallons after a fill up.
     
  13. Mar 16, 2011 at 6:59 AM
    #13
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,383
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    It's worth the money to me just to be able to read codes. The rest of the features are a bonus :D
     
  14. Mar 16, 2011 at 11:04 AM
    #14
    DonL

    DonL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Member:
    #26507
    Messages:
    198
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Don
    Prescott, AZ
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma TRD
    Monster Exhaust, Shell, 5100's all around, Airlift airbags, Hankook Atm, K&M air filter
    Our trucks don't have a fuel sensor. Just a fuel gauge that doesn't run off the ECU. That's why the UltraGauge needs to know your engine size and tank size.
     
  15. Mar 16, 2011 at 11:36 AM
    #15
    Sawick

    Sawick Still not worthy!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Member:
    #50642
    Messages:
    342
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Bedford, MA
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Sport
    HID Retrofit, Smoked Tails, Tint, Running Boards, Satoshi, XD Cranks, 285/70 Duratracks, In-Dash Navigation, aFe Pro Dry CAI, 2525XL, 5100's+ coils, Socked and Millerd!
    Makes sense why it coudnt find it then!
     
  16. Mar 25, 2011 at 5:03 PM
    #16
    rab89

    rab89 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Member:
    #12578
    Messages:
    5,506
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ross
    Kelowna b.c canada
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCLB
    Grillcraft mx black upper and lower BHLM with Gloss black 265 70 17 bfg a/t center console light mini mag mounted in center console debadged bed lights 35W 5000k HID's
    the website says it can read outside temperature... is this applicable on a 1st gen? I don't see how it could be...
     
  17. Mar 29, 2011 at 6:30 AM
    #17
    riderrace

    riderrace Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Member:
    #52857
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ty
    NOCO
    Vehicle:
    99 TRD SR5 V6 4x4
    ARB bumper, ARE topper. All the mods go on the jetski trailer I pull all summer.
    It also states that the actual gauges present are vehicle dependent. Must be for a car that runs ambient temp through the ECU, but I'm not aware of that being present on a 1st gen...

    Also their "Vehicle Gauge Availability Estimator" doesn't show an ambient (outside) temp gauge available.
     
  18. Mar 31, 2011 at 6:44 AM
    #18
    timkins42

    timkins42 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Member:
    #45980
    Messages:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Fishers, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma SR5 Access Cab 4x4
    Got my Ultra Gauge yesterday in the mail. I'll let you know how it works out after I take my annual trip to St Louis which is about 900 miles one way.
     
  19. Mar 31, 2011 at 11:13 AM
    #19
    Southern01Taco

    Southern01Taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Member:
    #40457
    Messages:
    1,956
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    Holden, La
    Vehicle:
    01 V6 4x4 Xtra Cab SR5
    I use the air intake temp gauge for that. I have the deckplate mod and it is usually pretty close as long as I'm driving or the truck hasn't been sitting still very long.
     
  20. May 18, 2011 at 2:25 PM
    #20
    polar

    polar Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Member:
    #56502
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Polar
    Syracuse, NY
    Vehicle:
    2011 Tacoma SR5 4x4
    SR5, EV, TO
    Damn, the truck doesn't have a fuel sensor and the electronic gauge isn't tied in? I wish I read this before I bought the damn thing. I kinda thought that was the most useful feature. Okay, I really wanted to know what the intake air temperature is. :)

    I hardly fill up my tank because I usually use cash, $20 here, $40 there, (more like $50/$60 these days), so using the fill-up short cut doesn't do me much good. So much for being "automatic". Damn.
     
To Top