1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Unused circuits in the fuse block

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by bmgreene, Jan 27, 2016.

  1. Jan 27, 2016 at 6:02 PM
    #1
    bmgreene

    bmgreene [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Member:
    #26145
    Messages:
    937
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    L.A. Westside
    Vehicle:
    2010 PreRunner V6 SR5/OR
    Alcan Leaf Packs, OME884 Coils, 5100 shocks, U.S. Offroad Winch Mount w/Winch, Trail Gear Rear H/C Bumper, Prinsu Cabrack, DIY custom in-bed storage/sleeping deck, Sway bar delete, hidden "snorkel" intake mod, In-dash CB, Bestop Supertop, Undercover Swingbox, hood lifters, assorted lights and front spotting camera
    I've tried to search for this a half dozen ways and can't find anything related, so does anyone know if there's a way to utilize the circuits in the factory fuse block (inside the cab) which come from the factory "empty" aside from add-a-circiuts?

    I've already got one add-a-fuse in there, and I'm wondering if there's a cleaner way to do some additional wiring work I have coming up (and maybe clean up the one I've got already in the process).
     
  2. Mar 6, 2016 at 4:39 PM
    #2
    OutlawwTorn

    OutlawwTorn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Member:
    #180418
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Maryland
    Vehicle:
    2010 SR5 CrewCab
    I'm looking for the same thing. It's getting cramped with add-a-fuses.
     
  3. Mar 6, 2016 at 5:45 PM
    #3
    bmgreene

    bmgreene [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Member:
    #26145
    Messages:
    937
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    L.A. Westside
    Vehicle:
    2010 PreRunner V6 SR5/OR
    Alcan Leaf Packs, OME884 Coils, 5100 shocks, U.S. Offroad Winch Mount w/Winch, Trail Gear Rear H/C Bumper, Prinsu Cabrack, DIY custom in-bed storage/sleeping deck, Sway bar delete, hidden "snorkel" intake mod, In-dash CB, Bestop Supertop, Undercover Swingbox, hood lifters, assorted lights and front spotting camera
    I just broke down and got an additional 8 line fuse block to put in the engine bay, I'm rewiring a few things onto relays and putting all the new stuff on relays as well, so I'll probably even be pulling out one of the in line fuses I've got in there (probably leave the one for the horn, that one's been there so long the wires are too grimy to bother consolidating)
     
  4. Mar 6, 2016 at 5:58 PM
    #4
    jbrnigan

    jbrnigan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Member:
    #146935
    Messages:
    1,123
    Gender:
    Male
    Midwest
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport, 4X4, 4.0L, Auto - Access Cab
    Sourced fuse block from Amazom. Ran a fused 12ga wire from batt post located under the fuse / power distribution box on the left, to the battery post on the fuse block. You can then source fused 12v power from the fuse block. I have driving lights, underhood lighting and aux hella fogs wired to my fuse block w/ one open power spade left. Could easily be located under the dash.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    bmgreene [OP] likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top