1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

URD MAF Sensor Calibrator?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by hail-bop Command, Apr 25, 2008.

  1. Apr 25, 2008 at 11:27 AM
    #1
    hail-bop Command

    hail-bop Command [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Member:
    #4692
    Messages:
    205
    Vehicle:
    I Don't Crawl I Haul A$$!
    Anyone have one? Is it worth the money, Does anyone use the DB gauge and a laptop to tune it?????

    I have a CAI, Magna Flow cat back & Doug Thorley Long tube headers and I read that the URD MAF will really help these mods meet their expectations.

    Thanx
     
  2. Apr 25, 2008 at 11:37 AM
    #2
    hail-bop Command

    hail-bop Command [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Member:
    #4692
    Messages:
    205
    Vehicle:
    I Don't Crawl I Haul A$$!
    I'll have to see if he still has it but what i'm really interested in is the performance of the thing. It just seems really complicated:confused: The laptop and software its pretty crazy to me.
     
  3. Apr 25, 2008 at 11:42 AM
    #3
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,165
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
  4. Apr 25, 2008 at 11:46 AM
    #4
    hail-bop Command

    hail-bop Command [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Member:
    #4692
    Messages:
    205
    Vehicle:
    I Don't Crawl I Haul A$$!
  5. Apr 25, 2008 at 11:49 AM
    #5
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,165
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    My truck is pretty quick compared to stock. I asked URD to ship it with the map for just an intake. I've heard that the headers don't affect the map too much. I don't have the equipment (or know how) to tune it further.

    No gauge.
     
  6. Apr 25, 2008 at 12:19 PM
    #6
    hail-bop Command

    hail-bop Command [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Member:
    #4692
    Messages:
    205
    Vehicle:
    I Don't Crawl I Haul A$$!
    Man it seems complicated.... :eek: I'm not sure WTF to do. I did some graphics work for URD in exchange for the URD TCAI and I have been considering the MAF Calibrator but I also dont want to cut in to any more ECU wires. I had enough after the O2 sim install! So its nice to know that there is a plug and play kit.

    I guess bottom line is,, you did not really notice any difference in the power/speed of your truck with the maf calibrator installed???? Then the programming of it all depends on what mod(s) you have and it seems like it would be difficult to tune with no dyno or heavy knowledge base of this type of stuff.
     
  7. Apr 25, 2008 at 12:39 PM
    #7
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,165
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    I can tell a difference between just the intake and then with intake and calibrator. You just reminded me that I have yet to get an additional 0-60 run. I'll try to get one this weekend.

    URD now has the wiring harness that allows you to just plug it in. It costs a good bit of money though. In my mind, I'd just soon pay for the harness and be able to remove it, in case there are warranty issues.
     
  8. Apr 25, 2008 at 1:10 PM
    #8
    hail-bop Command

    hail-bop Command [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Member:
    #4692
    Messages:
    205
    Vehicle:
    I Don't Crawl I Haul A$$!
    So I just got off the phone with URD and I spent a good chunk of change. I think I have a disease:(

    I bought a Maf Calibrator with plug and play harness & DB gauge. Cant wait till it all gets here! and according to Brian the MAF Calibrator does need to be tuned for DT long tube headers but its pretty slight.
     
  9. Apr 25, 2008 at 1:52 PM
    #9
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,165
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    Did they have a map that they could load to accommodate that change?
     
  10. Apr 25, 2008 at 4:11 PM
    #10
    zmtnbik

    zmtnbik FMLYHM

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Member:
    #2534
    Messages:
    259
    Vehicle:
    4x4 Trd Off-road
    Donahoe (Icon) C/O, TC UCA's, Dakar leafs, BilStein 5125's, 285/70/17 BFG MT KM2's, Raceline Renegade 17x9's, u-bolt flip kit, debadged, TRD CAI, TRD exhaust, URD MAF controller, 20% front window tint, 3M clear bra on bumper, cam locks in all storage compartments, fog light mod, Alpine X100 deck, Co
    If you did the O2 sim, then this won't be that much more difficult, it's actually pretty easy, and enough people done it over at TN that if you run into a problem they'd be able to help.
    There is a detailed thread over on TN with gobs of info on the MAF calibrator:
    http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/showthread.php?t=174366
    Be sure to check out Gadget's posts in that thread, as he knows the calibrator inside and out and how to tune it.
     
  11. Apr 25, 2008 at 4:40 PM
    #11
    hail-bop Command

    hail-bop Command [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Member:
    #4692
    Messages:
    205
    Vehicle:
    I Don't Crawl I Haul A$$!
    I told him all the mods I have and he said that they will map the MAF for those mods.
     
  12. Apr 25, 2008 at 4:43 PM
    #12
    hail-bop Command

    hail-bop Command [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Member:
    #4692
    Messages:
    205
    Vehicle:
    I Don't Crawl I Haul A$$!
    Thanks I will have to check that out. As for the install of the MAF calibrator i was not worried about being able to do it I just did not want to cut in to my ECU wires anymore. The o2 sim was enough for me..
     
To Top