1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

V6-How much coolant needed for full change? Dealer said 2 gallons is enough

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by bruce1271, Feb 22, 2010.

  1. Feb 22, 2010 at 10:37 AM
    #1
    bruce1271

    bruce1271 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23629
    Messages:
    84
    Gender:
    Male
    Dealer said 8 quarts is more than enough. but capacity in manual says 9.6 quarts. Anyone have any idea how much it takes to re-fill after a drain and flush? dont want to get done and be low.

    Thanks
     
  2. Feb 22, 2010 at 10:47 AM
    #2
    bruce1271

    bruce1271 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23629
    Messages:
    84
    Gender:
    Male
    Ok, but I only bought 2 gallons. dont want to be at home 20 miles form dealer and realize i dont have enough. Maybe I should buy another gallon to be safe.
     
  3. Feb 22, 2010 at 10:48 AM
    #3
    bruce1271

    bruce1271 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23629
    Messages:
    84
    Gender:
    Male
    And, once I flush, how do I flush out the water from the system? Can I hook up my air compressor and blow it out of the engine block via a hose? Will that work?
     
  4. Feb 22, 2010 at 10:49 AM
    #4
    BakoTruck

    BakoTruck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Member:
    #16674
    Messages:
    2,823
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Herbie Hancock
    Bakersfield, CA
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD
    Mostly stock for now, I have added a cb radio, various cheap mods and I plan on adding aftermarket wheels and other items in the future.
    Have you tried looking in the back of your manual? It should say the proper amount, and it would be a good idea to have a little extra.
     
  5. Feb 22, 2010 at 10:51 AM
    #5
    BakoTruck

    BakoTruck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Member:
    #16674
    Messages:
    2,823
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Herbie Hancock
    Bakersfield, CA
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD
    Mostly stock for now, I have added a cb radio, various cheap mods and I plan on adding aftermarket wheels and other items in the future.
    No, there should be a valve to open on the bottom of the radiator.
     
  6. Feb 22, 2010 at 10:53 AM
    #6
    DeeKay21

    DeeKay21 Lieutenant Dan.

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Member:
    #10651
    Messages:
    14,188
    Gender:
    Male
    Nevada/Utah
    Vehicle:
    06' TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah if I were you I would be another gallon just to play it safe, that way you can top it off here and there if need be.;)
     
  7. Feb 22, 2010 at 11:53 AM
    #7
    bruce1271

    bruce1271 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23629
    Messages:
    84
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah, i know about the valve on the radiator and engine block. But how do you get it all out without adding something to push it out. then how do you get what you used to push it out out. Ha!
     
To Top