1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Viair Compressor mount in engine bay

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Builds (2005-2015)' started by tommypjr, Dec 21, 2017.

  1. Dec 21, 2017 at 8:05 AM
    #1
    tommypjr

    tommypjr [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Member:
    #15619
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    All:

    I just got one of these: http://amzn.to/2DnHU3N

    I want to mount it in the engine bay where many people mount their second battery (opposite from the stock location back next to the firewall).

    What i need is a platform or ideas for a platform like offgrid does for the battery. something like this but just the platform: https://goo.gl/6aYXFH

    Any good suggestions?

    thanks!!!
     
  2. Dec 21, 2017 at 8:05 AM
    #2
    EatSleepTacos

    EatSleepTacos East Coast Conner

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Member:
    #151688
    Messages:
    44,129
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    Chesapeake, VA
    Vehicle:
    4x4 2005 SR5 AC 6MT
    Not exactly what you're looking for, but similar.

    https://www.tacomaworld.com/threads/poor-mans-oba.489090/
     
  3. Dec 21, 2017 at 8:17 AM
    #3
    tommypjr

    tommypjr [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Member:
    #15619
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    thanks. I'm just looking for something simple. i'll just the alligator clips for power, and just pop the hood to air stuff up. so all i need is a mount. the driver's side of my truck, is gone; double battery, lighting electronics. so gotta mount on the other side...
     
  4. Dec 21, 2017 at 12:18 PM
    #4
    stickyTaco

    stickyTaco Fuck Cancer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Member:
    #92904
    Messages:
    3,541
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zack
    Reno
    Vehicle:
    '12 DCSB TRD-OR
    Fox/Dakar with Relentless goodies
    I don't understand the point of mounting it then. Why not just leave it as a portable unit if you have no intention of hardwiring it?
     
  5. Dec 21, 2017 at 12:21 PM
    #5
    tommypjr

    tommypjr [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Member:
    #15619
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    #1 the last one was stolen out of my cab.
    #2 no good place to store it other than in the engine bay.
     
  6. Dec 21, 2017 at 6:21 PM
    #6
    tommypjr

    tommypjr [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Member:
    #15619
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Done. found a nylon barrel spacer that i threaded and stuck on the single post and then used to bolt down the front of the tray. then used a piece of alum stock for a strap. $10 / 1 hour - done. thanks for the suggestions....

    nes2jf4LUBTkaJG8eiZtgXyg.jpgaXgLC1vhSCCF4X%0MvoSxg.jpg
     
  7. Dec 3, 2019 at 1:33 AM
    #7
    thedzeffect

    thedzeffect Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Member:
    #130902
    Messages:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Danny
    Bridgetown
    Vehicle:
    14' DCSB TRD OR 2WD, 18 DCSB TRD OR 4X4
    The driver.
    Need more pics on how you made the mount lol
     

Products Discussed in

To Top