1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

VSS aka Vehicle Speed Sensor

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by na5m, Sep 14, 2013.

  1. Sep 14, 2013 at 1:09 AM
    #1
    na5m

    na5m [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Member:
    #93744
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Sacramento
    Vehicle:
    V-6 4x4 6-speed manual
    Bone stock, except for my TaoTronics HD back-up camera & KW-NT810HDT audio HU...
    Totally: Sorry to all if the answer to this question is googleable, but I haven't
    been able to find a single satisfying hit. Today is September 14th, 2013.

    Question: What am I missing out on by not patching my JVC head unit into my 2011 Tacoma's VSS?
    VSS... hell, do we really need to connect our head-unit to the vehicles' VSS for "proper" GPS
    navigation/location functionality?

    In other words: Does VSS enhance my head-units' GPS mojo? :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2013
  2. Sep 14, 2013 at 3:21 AM
    #2
    Riverdog

    Riverdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Member:
    #90152
    Messages:
    697
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Collin
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    '05 Double Cab PreRunner
    Which JVC do you have? And yes, in order for some GPS's mojo to work properly they need to be connected to the VSS wire. ;) Without making that connection the GPS unit might not know the car is even moving. Some units work solely off the GPS antenna, but others use the GPS antenna and the VSS to work.

    If you happen to have the KW-NT310HDT, KW-NT510HDT, or KW-NT810HDT you need to connect the VSS wire for the navigation to work properly. In the installation manuals for these head units it says the following:

    If you do not connect the speed signal lead, the Navigation System works with the GPS signal only. In this case, "Speed pulse not detected. System works as GPS only mode until speed pulse is detected." appears on the screen when the power is turned on. Press [OK] to use the Navigation System.​
     
  3. Sep 15, 2013 at 2:22 PM
    #3
    na5m

    na5m [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Member:
    #93744
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Sacramento
    Vehicle:
    V-6 4x4 6-speed manual
    Bone stock, except for my TaoTronics HD back-up camera & KW-NT810HDT audio HU...
    I have the KW-NT810HDT. And I have its GPS antenna mounted up on the cab's roof.
    The NAV totally works just fine right now without having the VSS wire attached.
    The NAV system tracks my Taco just fine as I drive around. And it also seems to know when
    my Taco is moving or not, as DVD movies will not display video while the truck
    is in motion, but will display video once I've come to a stop.

    I did see the message that you refer to, Riverdog: "... will work in GPS mode only...."

    That begs the question, what the devil is "GPS Mode"?
    And what other Mode (or Modes) am I missing out on?

    Please help to shed more light on this
     
  4. Sep 15, 2013 at 5:45 PM
    #4
    Riverdog

    Riverdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Member:
    #90152
    Messages:
    697
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Collin
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    '05 Double Cab PreRunner
    I had the same question about the GPS mode, but I couldn't find out what it was or how it differed from the full navigation mode. I looked at the list of features for your deck on JVC's website, here, and I can only see a few things that could possibly be affected the VSS wire. Although I'm just guessing, to me it seems like the VSS wire would only affect the Speed Limit Display, Speed Alert, and Adaptive Volume Control. Other than that, I don't see anything that seems like it would be affected by knowing the speed of the car. Maybe look at that list and see if there are any other features that are unavailable to you.
     
  5. Sep 16, 2013 at 11:22 PM
    #5
    na5m

    na5m [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Member:
    #93744
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Sacramento
    Vehicle:
    V-6 4x4 6-speed manual
    Bone stock, except for my TaoTronics HD back-up camera & KW-NT810HDT audio HU...
    Thanks, Riverdog. I'm on pretty much the same page as you are. Since there is no compelling
    motive to connect my HU's VSS wire, I'm just gunna leave it unattached.
     
  6. Sep 17, 2013 at 1:38 AM
    #6
    Riverdog

    Riverdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Member:
    #90152
    Messages:
    697
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Collin
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    '05 Double Cab PreRunner
    Sorry I couldn't give you something more definitive than "it seems to me like...." But good luck with your new fancy headunit and welcome to TW!
     
  7. Apr 6, 2015 at 10:53 AM
    #7
    sfcacique

    sfcacique Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Member:
    #115750
    Messages:
    274
    Gender:
    Male
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    4WD TRD Access Cab
    Thule Racks with Hullavator, Pioneer Stereo/Nav
    The speed sensor also provides "dead reckoning" input, which helps keeps you on track when in GPS-compromised areas. The accuracy of your GPS is also enhanced... that said, I have had my Pioneer AVIC-X9115BT installed and running without problems for over three years. The GPS unit even showed my speed, calculated internally by the GPS, similar to hand held units I would imagine.

    I just noticed that the installers did a poor job of connections, to include not connecting the reverse wire and also the speed sensor... I am searching the forums here to ascertain where the VSS/Speed Sensor is located, just to do it all while I have the dash and other trim apart connecting up a rear camera. The Pioneer system has a neat trick, it automatically turns the rear camera on (like most units) when you put the truck into reverse, AND ALSO you can change your AV view to rear camera to check on trailer you are towing etc.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top