1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Want to install cruise control on a 2012 tacoma

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by fox408, Apr 3, 2012.

  1. Apr 3, 2012 at 4:52 PM
    #1
    fox408

    fox408 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Member:
    #76206
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Hey guys.
    My dad recently bought a 2012 tacoma, on the way home he realized how much he wished he had got one that had cruise control. He's helped me out a lot lately, so if possible, I'd like to somehow get cruise in his truck.

    Is this reasonably possible? I'm no mechanic, but I don't mind working on things, (rebuild dirt bike motors and such)

    It's a regular cab, short bed, 4 cylinder, automatic.
    Very base truck, with exception of 4x4.

    Thank you
     
  2. Apr 3, 2012 at 6:41 PM
    #2
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,477
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    Pre-2012, all you need is the CC stalk and about 15 minutes of your time for most trucks.
    SOME of the Mexican trucks are missing a wire from the steering column to the ECU, but it's not too difficult to add that.

    On the '12, you're in uncharted territory.
    Worst case, buy the parts (it'll run around $120) and if it doesn't work, sell them on the marketplace.

    On the earlier models, you need:

    84632-08021 Cruise Control Switch
    45186-0C020-B1 Steering Wheel Cover
    84633-04020 Cruise Control Wire
    90080-15079 (need two) 1/2x10-32 screws

    On a manual trans, you'll also need
    88280-14030 Clutch Switch
    And a little more time to add that.

    http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/1566446-post1.html
     
  3. Apr 4, 2012 at 5:07 PM
    #3
    fox408

    fox408 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Member:
    #76206
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks for the reply.
    I read the link, looks fairly simple.

    Is there a way I can find out if the parts are the same/if it will work for the 2012? That is, without tearing into it myself.
     
  4. Apr 4, 2012 at 7:37 PM
    #4
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,477
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    Search and see if you can find someone that's already done it.
    Partial tear-in... remove the airbag and see if the connector is the same.

    If the connector is the same, it's worth it to give it a try.

    Like I said, if it doesn't work, they should sell easily.
     
  5. Apr 12, 2012 at 2:33 PM
    #5
    fox408

    fox408 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Member:
    #76206
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    I cannot for the life of me get the two steering wheel covers off.
    any tips? I read the write up, but I have no idea where the clips are that hold the pieces on.
    The diagram i believe was for an older steering wheel.
     
  6. Apr 12, 2012 at 4:56 PM
    #6
    fox408

    fox408 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Member:
    #76206
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Finally got it installed.

    Perhaps I did something wrong, but it seemed pretty straight forward and easy.

    Everything hooked and bolted up as easy as can be. However, I still have no cruise. The cruise light doesn't come on or anything when I press "on/off"

    Thoughts?
     
  7. Apr 12, 2012 at 7:04 PM
    #7
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,477
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    Check your VIN plate... if it's a Mexico truck it could be missing a wire from the column to the ECU.
    There was a thread discussing this issue. It's not a problem on the California trucks.
     
  8. Jan 25, 2013 at 3:57 PM
    #8
    cgsomoza

    cgsomoza Rocky Mountain Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Member:
    #94433
    Messages:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Longmont, Colorado and Ontario, California
    Vehicle:
    2013 4x4 DCSB V6 Tacoma
    I added the cruise control to my 2013 Tacoma...everything fit and worked perfectly except for the cover. This one (45186-0C020-B1 Steering Wheel Cover) does not fit the 2013 model. I'm still searching for this online, so far no luck.
     
  9. May 4, 2013 at 9:50 PM
    #9
    Netrader

    Netrader Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Member:
    #103518
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    North West Indiana
    Vehicle:
    2013 Toyota Tacoma Regular Cab 4x4 2.7
    part number 45186-04030-B0
     
  10. May 5, 2013 at 7:26 AM
    #10
    Jetman1979

    Jetman1979 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Member:
    #101109
    Messages:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Michael
    North Texas
    Vehicle:
    2009 tacoma 4X4
    Is there a fuze that might need to be installed?
     
  11. May 5, 2013 at 8:52 AM
    #11
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,477
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    Nope.

    But some trucks made during the transition from California to Mexico are missing a blue wire that runs from the connector at the base of the column to the ECU (behind the glove box).
    Manual trans will need the clutch cancel switch.

    If you plug in and it's not working, that is likely the problem. Check the sticker on your driver's door pillar to see where yours was made.
     
  12. May 5, 2013 at 3:07 PM
    #12
    Jetman1979

    Jetman1979 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Member:
    #101109
    Messages:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Michael
    North Texas
    Vehicle:
    2009 tacoma 4X4
    Mexico? I thought when they closed the Freemont plant in California San Antino Texas was there birthplace next to there big brother the Tundra.
     
  13. May 5, 2013 at 5:09 PM
    #13
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,477
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    There was a transition where the Tacoma was made in Mexico.
    Fremont production of the Corolla/Prizm continued until the plant was closed (and sold to Tesla) in 2010.
     
  14. May 5, 2013 at 8:36 PM
    #14
    05Moose

    05Moose Middle-Aged Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Member:
    #29613
    Messages:
    2,461
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    In the snow (NorCal)
    Vehicle:
    '05 4x4 DC LB SR5 #8 (LSD, Tow Pkg)
    '05 4x4 DC LB SR5 (LSD & Tow Pkg), Timbrens, AAL, 5100s (.85), Owned: 12/3/04 Mods: Fog, Map/Dome Light, Illuminated 4wd Switch, Washable Cabin Air Filter
    The NUMMI plant in Fremont did not make all of them. Some were made in Mexico. Stats I've seen online were that 15% were made in Mexico (and 100% of the composite beds). I don't believe anything has changed in that regard just because the US production was moved to Texas.
     
  15. May 5, 2013 at 8:49 PM
    #15
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,477
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    Mexican production is nothing new.
    The wiring harnesses in my '03 Tundra were made in Mexico, even though the truck was made at TMMI in Indiana.

    Mexico...
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_Motor_Manufacturing_de_Baja_California
    Started in 2002, capacity upgraded to 50,000 trucks and 200,000 beds in 2006.
    Apparently, they currently only produce the V6 Double Cab.
     
To Top