1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Welder wiring hook up help :)

Discussion in 'Garage / Workshop' started by wolfgang123, Jan 18, 2010.

  1. Jan 19, 2010 at 5:41 AM
    #21
    i love tacos

    i love tacos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Member:
    #20732
    Messages:
    75
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    St. Louis, MO
    Vehicle:
    01 PreRunner TRD
    Bull Bar, Hella Lights, AiRaid cold air intake
    You can't make an extension cord for a welder. You can have a cord that connects to an outlet that is permanently secured to the wall.

    Second thing is if your welder will pull 25 amps you can no smaller than 8 gauge copper to it. (it needs to be connected to a 40 amp two pole breaker.) The maximum ampacity of the device should not exceed 80% of the circuits capability. your outlet and cord also need to be rated at 40 amps.

    Lastly you should have a 8/3 with ground this will give 2 120 volt legs and 1 neutral plus the grounding conductor.

    Also do not connect directly to the premise wiring. you will definitely need a means of disconnecting the welder should you need to service it other than cutting the wires or circuit breaker.
     
  2. Jan 19, 2010 at 5:47 AM
    #22
    wolfgang123

    wolfgang123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Member:
    #19369
    Messages:
    1,360
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Skyler
    Statesboro, GA
    Vehicle:
    1997 TACOMA - 4x4
    so i should do an 8/3 gauge service wire going to the 10/3 gauge plug wires?? why does the outlet need to be 40 amp when the maximum amp output on the welder is only 25? (the outlet i plan to use is currently 30 amp).
     
  3. Jan 19, 2010 at 5:51 AM
    #23
    Afwrestler1986

    Afwrestler1986 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6768
    Messages:
    3,684
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Johnstown, NY
    Vehicle:
    01 trd 4X4 ex cab manual
    Gray wire, Some lights in the bed area, and some character marks throughout.
    It needs to be able to take any peaks you may have. If you use just the rated 25 amps and you get say a 30 amp peak in there you may very well see sparks. In which case you would want to take JDMCQ's advice and buy a fire extinguisher.
     
  4. Jan 19, 2010 at 5:52 AM
    #24
    JDMcQ

    JDMcQ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Member:
    #10561
    Messages:
    38,685
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    The Mushroom Capital of the World
    Vehicle:
    2006 Toyota 4Runner SR5 V8
    It is always a good idea to have a fire extinguisher nearby, just ask Chris.
     
  5. Jan 19, 2010 at 5:54 AM
    #25
    wolfgang123

    wolfgang123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Member:
    #19369
    Messages:
    1,360
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Skyler
    Statesboro, GA
    Vehicle:
    1997 TACOMA - 4x4
    uhh ok. i am so confused right now. i understand what your saying afwrestler1986. so what should i do?? what kind of wire should i buy to replace the current wire in the welder? and how should i go about hooking the plug up to this new wire?
     
  6. Jan 19, 2010 at 6:21 AM
    #26
    i love tacos

    i love tacos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Member:
    #20732
    Messages:
    75
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    St. Louis, MO
    Vehicle:
    01 PreRunner TRD
    Bull Bar, Hella Lights, AiRaid cold air intake
    Yes you need to change to a 8/3 copper. If the wire you are using to connect the welder is aluminum it must be 6 gauge (the next size up).

    If you connect the welder to a 30 amp circuit you may very pop the breaker alot or worse start a fire. You are dealing with a very large load on the electrical system. I would highly recommend consulting a qualified electrician.
     
  7. Jan 19, 2010 at 1:21 PM
    #27
    wolfgang123

    wolfgang123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Member:
    #19369
    Messages:
    1,360
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Skyler
    Statesboro, GA
    Vehicle:
    1997 TACOMA - 4x4
    ok i think i am going to try, see what happens. so i will replace the exsisting welder wire with 8/3 service wire then hook the plug up to the new wire. we will see what happens...after reading over the safety manuel it says there is some kind of peak shut off or protection so it wont go over 30 amp.
     
To Top