1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

What do I need to look for in a new Head Unit?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by J Tex, Apr 14, 2011.

1. Apr 14, 2011 at 3:26 PM
    J Tex

J Tex [OP] Member

Member:
    Houston
    Cabela's bug/hood guard Westen step bars Grom auido ipod adaptor Cabela's truck floor mats
    Hi, I am very new to the whole sound system thing but all I know is that I want a good sounding stereo system and I am looking to gain some knowledge. Hopefully yall can help me out. I am planning on building my own system step by step. First I want to get a new Head Unit. Nothing too fancy for example the ones with the GPS or touch screen or anything. Then eventually I want to get new speakers, amplifier and a sub.

I keep on seeing this JBL stock system thing and this might be a dumb question but how do I find out if I have one or not. I honestly don't know if I have a JBL system in my truck. I have a 2008 Double cab Taco, stock HU with a 6 CD changer.

Also as far as a new Head Unit what do I need to look for. I saw somewhere that someone recommended that the CD signal noise be above 100 DB, 2V on the line outs and a low THD% ex under .1%

So far is this guy on the right track? Also what do you suggest in a good Head Unit. And what features or accessories have you seen to be helpful.

2. Apr 14, 2011 at 3:34 PM
    jtav2002

jtav2002 Kenny Fuckin Powers

Member:
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reading, PA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tundra DBL Cab TRD OR