1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

What fuse for CB Add-A-Circuit?

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by Cows Have Claws, Jan 14, 2020.

  1. Jan 14, 2020 at 9:59 PM
    #1
    Cows Have Claws

    Cows Have Claws [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Member:
    #172257
    Messages:
    185
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2020 Army Green TRD-Pro
    I'm installing a Cobra 75 WX ST and I've decided to use an add-a-circuit to tap electrical from the fuse box under steering wheel using an ATM-LP, however I'm not sure which one of the fuses to double up on. I understand the bottom fuse in the add-a-circuit needs to be a higher voltage but what should the top fuse be? It already comes with an inline fuse.

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00I0MWPXU/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
     
  2. Jan 14, 2020 at 10:08 PM
    #2
    windsor

    windsor Just a guy

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Member:
    #145322
    Messages:
    5,985
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Myrtle Creek OR
    Vehicle:
    2008 Tundra Crewmax 5.7L
    Canopy, fitted seat covers.
    Does your truck have a sun roof? If not, check power at that slot. If so, Id still use it. It should be a relatively high amp circuit that isnt used a lot/continuously.
     
    Cows Have Claws [OP] likes this.
  3. Jan 14, 2020 at 10:13 PM
    #3
    Cows Have Claws

    Cows Have Claws [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Member:
    #172257
    Messages:
    185
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2020 Army Green TRD-Pro
    I like this idea. Looks like S/Roof is 20A What should the other fuse be? 10A? less?
     
  4. Jan 14, 2020 at 10:21 PM
    #4
    windsor

    windsor Just a guy

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Member:
    #145322
    Messages:
    5,985
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Myrtle Creek OR
    Vehicle:
    2008 Tundra Crewmax 5.7L
    Canopy, fitted seat covers.
    Check what size the inline fuse is on the harness. Id guess it is a 2a or 3.5a. Id guess youd be good with a 5a.
     
  5. Jan 14, 2020 at 10:23 PM
    #5
    windsor

    windsor Just a guy

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Member:
    #145322
    Messages:
    5,985
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Myrtle Creek OR
    Vehicle:
    2008 Tundra Crewmax 5.7L
    Canopy, fitted seat covers.
    Also, check which side of the circuit has power with the fuse pulled. The pigtail of the add-a-fuse goes on the side without power.
     
    Cows Have Claws [OP] likes this.
  6. Jan 15, 2020 at 3:10 AM
    #6
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    2,563
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    The sliding roof fuse is constant power (always ON).
     
  7. Jan 15, 2020 at 11:07 AM
    #7
    Cows Have Claws

    Cows Have Claws [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Member:
    #172257
    Messages:
    185
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2020 Army Green TRD-Pro
    Are you saying that fuse shouldn't be used?
     
  8. Jan 15, 2020 at 11:09 AM
    #8
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    2,563
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    No. Just so you know it's always ON, as in battery drain if you leave the CB ON.
     
    danielgonzzz likes this.
  9. Jan 15, 2020 at 12:53 PM
    #9
    vicali

    vicali tirekicker

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Member:
    #37503
    Messages:
    1,010
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mike
    Kam,BC
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Sport 1D6
    P/Outlet No.1 or No.2 -> 7.5 amp would be my choice.
    Up near the top;
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Jan 15, 2020 at 2:30 PM
    #10
    nvnv

    nvnv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Member:
    #188803
    Messages:
    854
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Connor
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma TRD OFF ROAD
    You don’t double any of the fuses. They are separate. The stock fuse should remain the same and the fuse for your CB should be sized appropriately for the wire size used. To find that you take the wire size and the length of the wiring run and cross reference it with one of the charts online (Blue Sea has a good one).
     
  11. Jan 15, 2020 at 2:49 PM
    #11
    PhenixFord

    PhenixFord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    Member:
    #300917
    Messages:
    858
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    Arkansas
    Vehicle:
    2019 MGM SR5 4WD DCSB
    All electrical devices have documented electrical specifications. This is the first thing that should be researched when designing an electrical supply circuit.
     
  12. Jan 15, 2020 at 3:03 PM
    #12
    vicali

    vicali tirekicker

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Member:
    #37503
    Messages:
    1,010
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mike
    Kam,BC
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Sport 1D6
    https://www.cobra.com/pages/frequently-asked-questions

    Make sure that you are using the correct size fuse. Model 148 takes a 3 amp fuse, and all other models take a 2 amp fuse. Do not install a fuse larger than these! Doing so will void the warranty.
     
  13. Jan 15, 2020 at 3:20 PM
    #13
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    2,563
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    https://www.amazon.com/Profile-Modu...=2+amp+low+profile+fuse&qid=1579130374&sr=8-1

    https://www.amazon.com/Amp-Violet-L...=3+amp+low+profile+fuse&qid=1579130419&sr=8-2
     
    vicali likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top