1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

What fuse should I tap into ?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by redtaco17, Apr 27, 2010.

  1. Apr 27, 2010 at 8:06 AM
    #1
    redtaco17

    redtaco17 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Member:
    #3051
    Messages:
    7
    I am upgrading my truck's audio system and need to run two 12v remote turn on wires; one for the amp and one for the powered sub. I am considering using a fuse tap for this purpose, as it seems to be the easiest way to tap into a 12v source. Is this ok to do? What would be a good fuse to tap into?

    Thanks in advance!

    2006 Prerunner Access Cab
    TRD Off Road / Towing Packages
     
  2. Apr 27, 2010 at 8:10 AM
    #2
    Daudio

    Daudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Member:
    #32940
    Messages:
    400
    Gender:
    Male
    North Jersey
    Vehicle:
    '02 SR5
    avic-d1 sirius tuner Ipod adapter
    Is it an aftermarket or factory radio?
     
  3. Apr 27, 2010 at 8:12 AM
    #3
    redtaco17

    redtaco17 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Member:
    #3051
    Messages:
    7
    Factory
     
  4. Apr 27, 2010 at 1:04 PM
    #4
    Gingrbredman

    Gingrbredman Love the Tick!

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Member:
    #19469
    Messages:
    321
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    G
    Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab Sport 4WD
    What kind of powered sub are you putting in?
     
  5. Apr 27, 2010 at 1:06 PM
    #5
    BradleyScottETC

    BradleyScottETC Class IV Category 8 Elite VIP Member (Only)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Member:
    #20521
    Messages:
    1,754
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bradley
    Lake County, FL
    Vehicle:
    10 4.0 AC 4x4
    You don't want a 12v source tapped for the remote, you want it to only come on when the stereo is on so as your amp/powered sub aren't on all the time. the one and only wire you should be tapping into should be the IGN wire for the stereo.
     
  6. Apr 27, 2010 at 1:09 PM
    #6
    Daudio

    Daudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Member:
    #32940
    Messages:
    400
    Gender:
    Male
    North Jersey
    Vehicle:
    '02 SR5
    avic-d1 sirius tuner Ipod adapter
    Agreed, use the grey wire in radio harness. make sure you put a meter or test light on it first though.
     
  7. Apr 27, 2010 at 1:14 PM
    #7
    BradleyScottETC

    BradleyScottETC Class IV Category 8 Elite VIP Member (Only)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Member:
    #20521
    Messages:
    1,754
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bradley
    Lake County, FL
    Vehicle:
    10 4.0 AC 4x4
    Also note that this wire does not need to be 8 or 6 AWG, 18 or 20 is ok. :)
     
  8. Apr 27, 2010 at 4:34 PM
    #8
    redtaco17

    redtaco17 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Member:
    #3051
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks guys! One more question: can I connect both turn on wires to this grey wire, or will it over load it?
     
  9. Apr 27, 2010 at 5:36 PM
    #9
    tunedx

    tunedx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Member:
    #23264
    Messages:
    132
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    X-Runner
    I'm running two amps? Do I need to run two remote wire to the back of the hu or can I just tap into remote wire under ds?
     
  10. Apr 28, 2010 at 7:12 AM
    #10
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    11,072
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    I have two amps running off of the single power antenna lead on my HU. Works fine.
     
To Top