1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

What kind of amp for my subs?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by YeahBoyyy, Nov 28, 2010.

  1. Nov 28, 2010 at 1:24 PM
    #1
    YeahBoyyy

    YeahBoyyy [OP] I <3 Taco's

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Member:
    #33555
    Messages:
    189
    Gender:
    Male
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2010, Sport, 4 door, Mag Grey
    Pioneer AVH-P3200BT head unit, Two 10" Rockford Fosgate p3 subs, Westin chrome bull bar, Westin chrome tube steps
    I got two 10" rockford fosgate p3's dual 4 ohm. The guy at the place i bought it from has me down for a rockford power amp 500 watt, but i can change anything if i want to. Is that enough? I thought i would need like 800 watts. But I'm new to this type of thing.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Nov 28, 2010 at 1:32 PM
    #2
    dman21

    dman21 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Member:
    #45815
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Derek
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    04 Prerunner SR5
    Custom stereo
    I have 2 10" rockford p3 shallows in my access cab tacoma. I have them running on 4 ohms with a 700 watt rockford amp. Its more than enough and can hardly turn it up. I'm sure 500 would push them well, as the max for those subs is around 300-400 watts each.
     
  3. Nov 28, 2010 at 1:44 PM
    #3
    YeahBoyyy

    YeahBoyyy [OP] I <3 Taco's

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Member:
    #33555
    Messages:
    189
    Gender:
    Male
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2010, Sport, 4 door, Mag Grey
    Pioneer AVH-P3200BT head unit, Two 10" Rockford Fosgate p3 subs, Westin chrome bull bar, Westin chrome tube steps
    Thanks.. do yours get like a popping noise when you turn them up too much? Because when my friends turn theirs up too much they pop.
     
  4. Nov 28, 2010 at 2:13 PM
    #4
    DevL

    DevL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Member:
    #31952
    Messages:
    1,923
    Gender:
    Male
    My buddies did the same in an F350. I thought it sounded like shit, personally, and it steered me away from Fosgate subs. SOme others I heard in a demo room did the same thing. I dont know if it was over excursion from too much power, too large a sealed box, or what. Its a rattley papper popping sound right? Like a fluttering pop?
     
  5. Nov 28, 2010 at 6:00 PM
    #5
    dman21

    dman21 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Member:
    #45815
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Derek
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    04 Prerunner SR5
    Custom stereo
    Ive never heard mine do that, but I normally dont turn them up to loud. So, if you are wanting loud, this system might not be for you. I put mine in just for quality!!!
     
  6. Nov 29, 2010 at 5:13 AM
    #6
    YeahBoyyy

    YeahBoyyy [OP] I <3 Taco's

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Member:
    #33555
    Messages:
    189
    Gender:
    Male
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2010, Sport, 4 door, Mag Grey
    Pioneer AVH-P3200BT head unit, Two 10" Rockford Fosgate p3 subs, Westin chrome bull bar, Westin chrome tube steps
    But i've also heard some really good fosgates that my friend has in his truck.. And this man insists these are the ones i need, so i guess ill just trust him.
     
  7. Dec 2, 2010 at 3:10 PM
    #7
    YeahBoyyy

    YeahBoyyy [OP] I <3 Taco's

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Member:
    #33555
    Messages:
    189
    Gender:
    Male
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2010, Sport, 4 door, Mag Grey
    Pioneer AVH-P3200BT head unit, Two 10" Rockford Fosgate p3 subs, Westin chrome bull bar, Westin chrome tube steps
    Bump..
     
  8. Dec 5, 2010 at 12:10 PM
    #8
    YeahBoyyy

    YeahBoyyy [OP] I <3 Taco's

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Member:
    #33555
    Messages:
    189
    Gender:
    Male
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2010, Sport, 4 door, Mag Grey
    Pioneer AVH-P3200BT head unit, Two 10" Rockford Fosgate p3 subs, Westin chrome bull bar, Westin chrome tube steps
    Bump again.. Please people do i need a bigger amp to power them? People at school have been saying get 1000. But other people have also said 500 is perfect.
     
  9. Dec 6, 2010 at 10:35 AM
    #9
    Mr Marv

    Mr Marv 1-831-383-0308 Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Member:
    #1009
    Messages:
    940
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marv
    Monterey Bay California
    Those subs are rated at 400RMS each so in order to get the "most" from them an amp around 800 watts rms at 4 ohms or 1 ohm would be good. Also, if you hear a sub "pop" at high volumes it is getting too much power/bottoming out and if you don't turn it down you will run the risk of letting out "the magic smoke" (in others words you'll blow it up)
     
  10. Dec 7, 2010 at 4:59 AM
    #10
    YeahBoyyy

    YeahBoyyy [OP] I <3 Taco's

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Member:
    #33555
    Messages:
    189
    Gender:
    Male
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2010, Sport, 4 door, Mag Grey
    Pioneer AVH-P3200BT head unit, Two 10" Rockford Fosgate p3 subs, Westin chrome bull bar, Westin chrome tube steps
    I freaking love you.. (no homo haha)
     
  11. Dec 7, 2010 at 4:01 PM
    #11
    Mr Marv

    Mr Marv 1-831-383-0308 Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Member:
    #1009
    Messages:
    940
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marv
    Monterey Bay California
    Hope it worked out and thanks for clarifying that! :eek:
     
  12. Dec 7, 2010 at 4:04 PM
    #12
    YeahBoyyy

    YeahBoyyy [OP] I <3 Taco's

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Member:
    #33555
    Messages:
    189
    Gender:
    Male
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2010, Sport, 4 door, Mag Grey
    Pioneer AVH-P3200BT head unit, Two 10" Rockford Fosgate p3 subs, Westin chrome bull bar, Westin chrome tube steps
    Haha just makin sure ;)

    One last question, the amp he wanted to get is the 500 watt rockford power series. Do you know if they make an 800 watt power series?
     
  13. Dec 7, 2010 at 5:02 PM
    #13
    Mr Marv

    Mr Marv 1-831-383-0308 Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Member:
    #1009
    Messages:
    940
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marv
    Monterey Bay California
    This Power T1000-1bdC does 700rms @ 4 ohms and 1000rms @ 1 ohm. They have been known for putting out more than rated power so personally I would run it at 4 ohms on those subs to be safe. :)

    http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/prod..._id=105&item_id=117364&locale=en_US&p_status=
     
  14. Dec 8, 2010 at 8:57 PM
    #14
    YeahBoyyy

    YeahBoyyy [OP] I <3 Taco's

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Member:
    #33555
    Messages:
    189
    Gender:
    Male
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2010, Sport, 4 door, Mag Grey
    Pioneer AVH-P3200BT head unit, Two 10" Rockford Fosgate p3 subs, Westin chrome bull bar, Westin chrome tube steps
    I might sound completely retarded.. but I don't even get what ohms means.
     
  15. Dec 9, 2010 at 6:16 AM
    #15
    dolbytone

    dolbytone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37165
    Messages:
    320
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off Road
  16. Dec 9, 2010 at 6:44 AM
    #16
    Cr250jumper

    Cr250jumper Señor member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Member:
    #47033
    Messages:
    10,643
    Gender:
    Male
    The moon
    Vehicle:
    50 shades of tan©
    Tacoma with some stuff melted to it

    You wanna find out to make sure you have your speakers wired correctly. As the other guy was explaining if you are running the wrong ohm speakers on your amp you might not be getting its full potential (or too much - based on what your looking for). You can change the total impedence (ohm's) if you are running more than one speaker simply by the way you wire them (ie series or parallel). Look up Rockford's woofer wiring wizard and will help you calculate your total impedence

    http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/rftech/woofer_wizard.asp
     
  17. Dec 10, 2010 at 5:11 AM
    #17
    YeahBoyyy

    YeahBoyyy [OP] I <3 Taco's

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Member:
    #33555
    Messages:
    189
    Gender:
    Male
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2010, Sport, 4 door, Mag Grey
    Pioneer AVH-P3200BT head unit, Two 10" Rockford Fosgate p3 subs, Westin chrome bull bar, Westin chrome tube steps
    I'm getting them installed by an audio place, so i think they should know how to do all that. But the guy doesn't get that I want it to just beat as hard as possible so I was asking if i needed bigger than a 500 watt amp. But thanks, I'll get the 800. I'll post pictures when it's all done.
     
  18. Dec 10, 2010 at 6:23 AM
    #18
    Cr250jumper

    Cr250jumper Señor member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Member:
    #47033
    Messages:
    10,643
    Gender:
    Male
    The moon
    Vehicle:
    50 shades of tan©
    Tacoma with some stuff melted to it

    They "should" but sadly more often than not they don't know all that stuff. Like you said he doesn't even understand that you would like to get the full potential out of the speakers you just paid for. Also just because you have an 800 watt amp doesnt mean you are using all 800 watts. You have to pay attention to part#'s. The exact same size and brand speaker can come with different ohm ratings and same with amps. I had a so called professional company install my speakers one time and never again. I was unable to roll up my windows because they pinched a power wire under the door trim and it blew my accesories fuses. If you learn how to do it its easy and when you switch cars you wont have to pay someone to remove your stuff. Post up your actual part nuumbers of speakers and amp and either I or someone here can tell you how to wire it


    Edit: I just realized you have the same speakers I have but I have the old versions. A dual voice coil is even harder to set up. IF they are installing make them tell you how its wired, what the ohm ratings are for the speaker, amp, and total load on the system based on how they wired it. Post it and I'll tell you if they are correct. I bet if you ask them all that they are gonna say "uhhh I dont know". If they cant tell you take your shit and go elsewhere
     
  19. Dec 10, 2010 at 6:51 AM
    #19
    Cr250jumper

    Cr250jumper Señor member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Member:
    #47033
    Messages:
    10,643
    Gender:
    Male
    The moon
    Vehicle:
    50 shades of tan©
    Tacoma with some stuff melted to it
    Ive only had my truck a few months and havent switched my subs inot it yet. All this talk is making me want to though :)
     
  20. Dec 10, 2010 at 7:09 AM
    #20
    Atxtoolz

    Atxtoolz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Member:
    #41938
    Messages:
    85
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner
    I have 2 12's on the same sub im running them with an alpine MRP1000 gain knob half way they hit pretty good bents my rear view mirror down when I crank it up.
     
To Top