1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Where can I run my power through ?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by BluTaco08, Jun 21, 2008.

  1. Jun 21, 2008 at 10:59 AM
    #1
    BluTaco08

    BluTaco08 [OP] I LiKe TaCos

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Member:
    #7332
    Messages:
    179
    I'm installing my system into my 08 Taco Reg. Cab and I need to know where in the firewall to run my power wire without having to drill. I'm trying to avoid drilling if possible but if it's the only resort than I will. Any suggestions ?
     
  2. Jun 21, 2008 at 11:11 AM
    #2
    Johnson8537

    Johnson8537 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Member:
    #3258
    Messages:
    518
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD SPORT 4x4 Double Cab Long bed
    Revtek Leveling Kit with 1 1/2 block spacer in rear. 17" MotoMetal blacks on 32" tires. Access Lorado Tonneau - Bed mat Billet Grill Tinted Windows Pioneer 700BT with PAC steering wheel inerface. Wet Okole Seat Covers Front and back.
    There is a BIG rubber grommet near the powersteering on the firewall (Driverside about half way down...)

    EASY>>>

    Get a coat hanger and tape your wire to it and then just poke it through...

    You can start inside teh cab if you want it to come out in the exact spot you want.


    I hope this helps...
     
  3. Jun 21, 2008 at 12:09 PM
    #3
    BluTaco08

    BluTaco08 [OP] I LiKe TaCos

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Member:
    #7332
    Messages:
    179
    Thanks so much for the help. It worked out perfectly and I can hide all the wires under the plastic parts and it fits beauitfully. My next question is where do I splice the signal wire into my stereo ? I'm assuming it's the blue wire on the radios harness ? I've got the RCA cables, power, and ground done and all I have left are the subwoofer speaker wire which is easy and the blue signal wire. Any suggestions on that ?
     
  4. Jun 21, 2008 at 12:57 PM
    #4
    Zombie Runner

    Zombie Runner Are these black helicopters for me?

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5246
    Messages:
    15,036
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Wichita Falls, TX
    Vehicle:
    Tundra, double cab.
    LED interior lights, stubby antenna, Pioneer in dash screen, good driver mod.
    i would do the "add a circuit" in the fuse panel, under the stearing wheel to the left. just pop off the little tray thingy.
     
  5. Jun 22, 2008 at 10:53 AM
    #5
    Johnson8537

    Johnson8537 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Member:
    #3258
    Messages:
    518
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD SPORT 4x4 Double Cab Long bed
    Revtek Leveling Kit with 1 1/2 block spacer in rear. 17" MotoMetal blacks on 32" tires. Access Lorado Tonneau - Bed mat Billet Grill Tinted Windows Pioneer 700BT with PAC steering wheel inerface. Wet Okole Seat Covers Front and back.


    If you are looking for Signal power (Remote.) Then yes blue wire off Pioneer and most other decks. This sends a signal to the amp to turn on with the key in the on position.

    I hope this helps..

    I don't know what other suggstions you would need.... if you have specific quesitons let me know.
    Wiring the Subs is easy... are you running them Stereo or Mono?

    I always either run on the door rail or under the carpet. I would also suggest running the RCA's and Power wire not directly together sometimes with poor grounds you can Hear "Signal Noise" via the subs with the two wires ran together. But it all depends on where you are mounting your amp as well.
     
  6. Jun 22, 2008 at 5:19 PM
    #6
    BluTaco08

    BluTaco08 [OP] I LiKe TaCos

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Member:
    #7332
    Messages:
    179
    Well, after a few hours I finally got the install done. I mounted the amp under the passenger side seat and ran all the wires under the door rails and under the carpet. Everthing looks clean and the sound is amazing. Their is a big difference between having bass in a car and then having bass in a truck. I love it. I'll post pics when I get a chance to. Thanks for all the help.
     
  7. Jun 22, 2008 at 8:55 PM
    #7
    Johnson8537

    Johnson8537 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Member:
    #3258
    Messages:
    518
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD SPORT 4x4 Double Cab Long bed
    Revtek Leveling Kit with 1 1/2 block spacer in rear. 17" MotoMetal blacks on 32" tires. Access Lorado Tonneau - Bed mat Billet Grill Tinted Windows Pioneer 700BT with PAC steering wheel inerface. Wet Okole Seat Covers Front and back.
    Glad you got it all figured out... Thats why we are all on here... If you were in southern oregon I would have helped you out...

    Post pics when you get a chance...

    PS.
    If you notice your amp rubbing you may need to remove the passenger seat and flip the support bar over under the seat so you have more clearance.
     
  8. Jun 24, 2008 at 6:41 AM
    #8
    sooner07

    sooner07 1/2 man 1/2 amazing

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Member:
    #4783
    Messages:
    1,400
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    A A Ron
    DFW, Texas
    Vehicle:
    Debadged 2008 Rugged Trail
    Always working on the stereo, painted the front skid plate black to match the truck, debadged , toy tech ultimate lift kit, light racing UCAs, ARB bumper Looking into a supercharger and new exhaust.
    This grommet worked well for me too. there is a nipple like extention on the bottom half of it that would work very well for 8awg power wire. I managed to pull 4 awg through it, but it was a chore. Just cut the end off, and it should remain tightly sealed so there is no water leakage through the boot.
     
To Top