1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Where the hell does this wire go?

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by cmbtjnky, Dec 14, 2011.

  1. Dec 14, 2011 at 4:12 PM
    #1
    cmbtjnky

    cmbtjnky [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Member:
    #68775
    Messages:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    New hampshire
    Vehicle:
    05 DCLB, TRD Package
    5100's @ .85, 885 Coils, Light Racing UCA's, AAL's w/billy's, Nitto TG's 285/75/17, 17" Motto Metal boots, Painted valance, Painted rear bumper, Custom Grille, Hella Black magics in Grille, 1975 Toyo Landcruiser Front emblem.
    Hey guys, Im a newbie here with a newbie question. I have my hella black magic lights installed behind my grill. Everything is set up where it should be. My question is I want to run it with my high beams so that I can turn it on or off when I want. I just need to know how to do this in the simplest explanation possible. I just don't have a clue where this wire from the toggleswitch should go. Do I splice it in the high beam wire or place it somewhere in the fuse box. Sorry about this, I suck with electroics.
     
  2. Dec 14, 2011 at 4:29 PM
    #2
    t4daddy

    t4daddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39041
    Messages:
    5,006
    Gender:
    Male
    North Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2008 PreRunner Double Cab
    I see no reason taping into your high beam lead would not work. I've got basically the same set up, with Hella FF converted to HID behind the grill. Switch in one position, no Hellas with high beams, position two, Hellas on with high beams. Although I used the unused headlight socket as a power source, (left empty from a HID/projector upgrade).
     
  3. Dec 14, 2011 at 4:31 PM
    #3
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    29,097
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    You need a relay to make this work. That way the 'trigger' wire would get tapped into the high beam circuit and the power would go from fused power from the battery, to the switch, then to the relay, then out to the lights. With this configuration the lights will only come on when the high beams are on AND the switch is on.
     
  4. Dec 14, 2011 at 4:53 PM
    #4
    t4daddy

    t4daddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39041
    Messages:
    5,006
    Gender:
    Male
    North Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2008 PreRunner Double Cab

    I didn't use any relay, and have the same set-up.
     
  5. Dec 14, 2011 at 4:54 PM
    #5
    cmbtjnky

    cmbtjnky [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Member:
    #68775
    Messages:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    New hampshire
    Vehicle:
    05 DCLB, TRD Package
    5100's @ .85, 885 Coils, Light Racing UCA's, AAL's w/billy's, Nitto TG's 285/75/17, 17" Motto Metal boots, Painted valance, Painted rear bumper, Custom Grille, Hella Black magics in Grille, 1975 Toyo Landcruiser Front emblem.
    Ok sounds good. I know I have the relay already for that wire. Everything is good to go in and in the right place. I am just having trouble understanding what to do with that one wire and where to put it.
     
  6. Dec 14, 2011 at 4:56 PM
    #6
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    29,097
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    You should have a relay... Your aux. lighting shouldn't be taking power from the headlights.
     
  7. Dec 14, 2011 at 4:57 PM
    #7
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    29,097
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    A test light would make it easier to find which wire going to the headlights is the 'hot' high beam wire. That's the wire you'd need to tap into.
     
  8. Dec 14, 2011 at 5:09 PM
    #8
    t4daddy

    t4daddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39041
    Messages:
    5,006
    Gender:
    Male
    North Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2008 PreRunner Double Cab

    I know it's confusing, but the harness for my ballast (to my projectors) only uses one socket (this "used" to plug on the halogen bulb directly). The other one, (that "would have" gone to the passenger side light) is not used, and was just there, zip-tied out of the way. I used my multi-tester and found the high beam out put, connected it with a simple blade connector, grounded the second harness (for the Hellas) and everything as been fine for a little over a year.
     
  9. Dec 14, 2011 at 5:11 PM
    #9
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    29,097
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    Oooh, I see what you're saying now. Your high beam wire isn't power anything except your off road lights because of your HID set up. In the OP's case though, he shouldn't pull power off the high beam wire because it will overload the circuit.
     
  10. Dec 14, 2011 at 5:17 PM
    #10
    t4daddy

    t4daddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39041
    Messages:
    5,006
    Gender:
    Male
    North Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2008 PreRunner Double Cab
    Zackly!!!
     
  11. Dec 14, 2011 at 9:27 PM
    #11
    stunt man hans

    stunt man hans displaced viking living in New Hampshire

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Member:
    #43127
    Messages:
    4,647
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    hans
    THE LIVE FREE OR DIE STATE
    Vehicle:
    2010 tacoma reg cab 4x4 5spd 4cyl
    undercover se, pop&lock tailgate, rallye 1000 hela black magic lights, black grill craft grill lower. twm m1 abrams shift knob, ap ubolt flip kit & ifs high clearance skid , timbren bumpstops, pro comp 3 inch lift, goodrich ss braklines front and rear, lr uca's, customlightz.com fx-r 55 watt retrofit, ARB deluxe bull bar, vision-x solstice pods, black wet okole seat cover,weather tech digital floor mats window visors toyota hood guard, safari snorkel, full bed rug, full putco led swap hd led flasher cf18-08, pioneer bluetooth ipod navigation double din headunit, flowmaster 40 muffler custom center outlet exhaust, regear and arb lockers, arb rear bumper if they ever fucking release one lol and arb sliders coming soon as well as a new line-xtra paint job!
    get a volt meter set it to 12 volts if there is a dial. unplug your head light plug turn your low beams then your high beams and see which one trips the volt meter when the high beam is on. once you found it simply peel back some of the protective loom and use a scotch lock to make the connection between the 2 and viola!

    hope this helped.
     
  12. Dec 14, 2011 at 10:31 PM
    #12
    t4daddy

    t4daddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39041
    Messages:
    5,006
    Gender:
    Male
    North Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2008 PreRunner Double Cab
    Why not start with the high beams, if that's what he wants to tap?
     
To Top