1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

where to find colored vacuum hoses?

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by Bamahoyt, May 18, 2012.

  1. May 18, 2012 at 7:52 PM
    #1
    Bamahoyt

    Bamahoyt [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Member:
    #36006
    Messages:
    513
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ted
    NorCal
    Vehicle:
    2001 TRD 4x4 Xtra Cab
    -Camper top
    I am going to do a full vacuum hose replacement in my engine bay and wanted to go with red hoses but cannot find what sizes I need nor where to get red hose either locally or by length online. Any help on measurements and sizes of hoses and places to get it locally would be awesome. I would do the measuring myself but will be out of town for another week before getting home and wanted to think ahead so I could get it done when I am back. Thanks
     
  2. May 19, 2012 at 6:38 PM
    #2
    Bamahoyt

    Bamahoyt [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Member:
    #36006
    Messages:
    513
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ted
    NorCal
    Vehicle:
    2001 TRD 4x4 Xtra Cab
    -Camper top
    has no one done this?
     
  3. May 19, 2012 at 6:41 PM
    #3
    2000GTacoma

    2000GTacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Member:
    #50183
    Messages:
    2,183
    Gender:
    Male
    Snow Hill NC
    Vehicle:
    00 Tacoma Ext. 3.4L SR5
  4. May 19, 2012 at 7:28 PM
    #4
    Bamahoyt

    Bamahoyt [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Member:
    #36006
    Messages:
    513
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ted
    NorCal
    Vehicle:
    2001 TRD 4x4 Xtra Cab
    -Camper top
    thanks for that! I have to find the sizes I need now. I searched the whole service manual and didn't find my sizes.
     
  5. May 19, 2012 at 7:35 PM
    #5
    Cypherian

    Cypherian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Member:
    #57670
    Messages:
    1,414
    Gender:
    Male
    Mid Atlantic Region
    Vehicle:
    2011 Dbl Cab TRD Sport
    Look for the fitting it connects to for it's sizing info or use a vernier caliper on a junk yard motor and test diameters in the middle of the lines and if possibe buy the junky lines for cheap money cut them in half in the middle. Then measure wall thickness and inner diameter I know that sounds like alot of work and cost some but if you really want the info and toyota won't give it up ... You have to do what you have to do ...:} You can try to decipher the info on the lines like bryan139 suggests I would not hold much hope to be able to find the info that way as they are most likely contract supplied and marked how ever toyota dictated which might only mean something to toyota engineers but give it a shot.

    Cypher

    Check with these guys http://www.boostcontroller.com/index.php?category=8
     
  6. May 19, 2012 at 7:58 PM
    #6
    TIPICOTACO

    TIPICOTACO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Member:
    #46556
    Messages:
    2,063
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    nw nj
    Vehicle:
    '01 DC 4X4 TRD "RAD BARON"
    Some lift, some armor, some scratches..
    I can't help on the sizes but I was able to find red air hose at my local Sears hardware. I used it for my diff breather extension. It was available in 1/4" and 3/8". Not sure if this type of hose is good for vacuum lines but just puttin it out there
     
  7. May 19, 2012 at 8:04 PM
    #7
    Bryan139

    Bryan139 I have a spectacular aura

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Member:
    #8746
    Messages:
    549
    Gender:
    Male
    NJ
    Vehicle:
    '09 Sport
    I cut some wires here. Added some wires there.
    Shouldn't it be printed on the side of the hoses that are on there now?
     
To Top