1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Where's the best 12volt tap?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by thebigk, Feb 27, 2009.

  1. Feb 27, 2009 at 7:27 PM
    #1
    thebigk

    thebigk [OP] 6 Double 5 3 2 1

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Member:
    #8770
    Messages:
    3,330
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ken....
    Odessa, TX
    I want to hardwire my Sirius radio. It's mounted in the cubby in front of the shifter.

    Where's the best place to tap into a 12v source? Under the console? Behind the cigarette lighter?

    I'm installing a USA-Spec adapter next week so I'll have the climate controls and stereo out if that matters. Just looking for the easiest way to route & connect the wiring.

    Thanks!!
     
  2. Feb 27, 2009 at 7:31 PM
    #2
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....
    you can get an add-a-circuit from radio shack and nstall it in the small fuse panel to the left of the steering wheel.....................unless you wanna hardwire straight to the battery, then you'll need to go thru a grommet in the fire wall.
     
  3. Feb 27, 2009 at 7:43 PM
    #3
    ForeRunner

    ForeRunner Scotch before noon. Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #7
    Messages:
    12,110
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drunken Sailor
    Somewhere between Maine and Florida
    Vehicle:
    2016 Subaru WRX STI Limited (no wing)
    Extra PSI
  4. Feb 27, 2009 at 9:01 PM
    #4
    gdctaco

    gdctaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Member:
    #13991
    Messages:
    136
    Gender:
    Male
    georgetown, ont
    Vehicle:
    06 access cab 4x4 O/R
    rr diff mod in-cab 110
    i wired mine direct to the 12V cig, that way it would turn on and off with the truck.
     
  5. Feb 27, 2009 at 9:42 PM
    #5
    thebigk

    thebigk [OP] 6 Double 5 3 2 1

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Member:
    #8770
    Messages:
    3,330
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ken....
    Odessa, TX
    That's more what I was looking for. :D.....how did you get to the wiring on the receptacle?
     
  6. Feb 27, 2009 at 9:57 PM
    #6
    gdctaco

    gdctaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Member:
    #13991
    Messages:
    136
    Gender:
    Male
    georgetown, ont
    Vehicle:
    06 access cab 4x4 O/R
    rr diff mod in-cab 110
    thats the tough part you have to take the dash apart, and while you have the head unit out you might aswell hook up a direct connect antennea thing. really helps with the sound, no need to set fm trasmiter stations and no interference.
     
  7. Feb 27, 2009 at 10:02 PM
    #7
    thebigk

    thebigk [OP] 6 Double 5 3 2 1

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Member:
    #8770
    Messages:
    3,330
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ken....
    Odessa, TX
    I ordered a USA SPEC pa15-toy that's the whole reason to hook up the 12v while I'm at it. The FM transmitter sound is pretty crappy
     
  8. Feb 27, 2009 at 10:16 PM
    #8
    ForeRunner

    ForeRunner Scotch before noon. Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #7
    Messages:
    12,110
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drunken Sailor
    Somewhere between Maine and Florida
    Vehicle:
    2016 Subaru WRX STI Limited (no wing)
    Extra PSI
    Look at the item I posted. Pull the ACC fuse and put that in its place with the fuse and the fuse for what you will be running. You don't splice wires that way and it turns on and off with the the radio and accessories. And you don't have to pull the whole dash apart. I put one on the FJ to power my CB.
     
  9. Feb 27, 2009 at 10:34 PM
    #9
    thebigk

    thebigk [OP] 6 Double 5 3 2 1

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Member:
    #8770
    Messages:
    3,330
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ken....
    Odessa, TX
    That's not to bad an idea. BUT I'm no electronics guru.......so don't lauigh!

    Where do I tie the ground wire in?
     
  10. Feb 27, 2009 at 10:54 PM
    #10
    ForeRunner

    ForeRunner Scotch before noon. Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #7
    Messages:
    12,110
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drunken Sailor
    Somewhere between Maine and Florida
    Vehicle:
    2016 Subaru WRX STI Limited (no wing)
    Extra PSI
    Find any bolt that ties into the chassis crimp a lug onto the wire and secure it there . On the FJ I pulled down the center console and switch panel and attached it there. I'll get some pics tomorrow and post them up if it helps.
     
  11. Feb 28, 2009 at 9:44 AM
    #11
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,962
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    You can look at my signature below for the GPS hardwire, should be similar to what you are accomplishing. It's no treat, but at least this prepares you.

    KC's product would probably be a lot faster/easier
     
  12. Feb 28, 2009 at 4:34 PM
    #12
    thebigk

    thebigk [OP] 6 Double 5 3 2 1

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Member:
    #8770
    Messages:
    3,330
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ken....
    Odessa, TX
    Nice write up!!! That gave me some ideas. I decided to go with adding a 12v receptacle like you did......but what kept you from splicing into the power wires behind the stereo? I don't REALLY want to disassemble my truck quite that far :D
     
  13. Feb 28, 2009 at 5:04 PM
    #13
    ForeRunner

    ForeRunner Scotch before noon. Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #7
    Messages:
    12,110
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drunken Sailor
    Somewhere between Maine and Florida
    Vehicle:
    2016 Subaru WRX STI Limited (no wing)
    Extra PSI
    Did you use the Mini ATO's or regular ATO's?
     
  14. Feb 28, 2009 at 5:34 PM
    #14
    mneuls

    mneuls Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Member:
    #7836
    Messages:
    280
    Gender:
    Male
    Fort St John, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    5100's and dakar leaf 3"lift, Satoshi grill,
    Bilstein 5100's front and back, dakar 3" leaf springs, Westin bull bar, piaa driving lights, piaa replacement bulbs, H/U, 2x10" mtx tt65 subs, 1000w clarion monoblock, Mtx surround speakers. green wire mod. Flowmaster 40, airaid intake. scanguage II.
    I used an add a fuse for my piaa lights, I have a few spare spots on my fuseblock where there was accessory power, but no fuse in there. I used the ATO add a circut product the same as KC used. worked fine.
     
  15. Feb 28, 2009 at 9:49 PM
    #15
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,962
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    I'm not very electrically adventurous. I knew that I wanted my power exactly like how the cig lighter works, so went straight to the source.

    More than anything though, i really had no clue that the area behind the cig lighter was considered Fort Knox, and I got far enough where it was me vs. truck and I was going to win.
     
  16. Mar 3, 2009 at 8:37 PM
    #16
    thebigk

    thebigk [OP] 6 Double 5 3 2 1

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Member:
    #8770
    Messages:
    3,330
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ken....
    Odessa, TX
    Thanks to Chickenmunga & Kilted Chicken!!!!

    The add a circuit & the GPS wiring info worked great!

    Got my Sirius hardwired to the stereo & to the 12v.

    Thanks for you guys hard work to make mine ALOT easier!

    Rep to you both! :D
     
  17. Mar 3, 2009 at 9:26 PM
    #17
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,962
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    :cheers:

    Post a pic if you can!
     
To Top