1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Wifi tech needed.

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by El Tano, May 10, 2019.

  1. May 10, 2019 at 6:32 AM
    #1
    El Tano

    El Tano [OP] i am the one who knocks

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Member:
    #39599
    Messages:
    2,179
    Gender:
    Male
    Pasadena. CA
    Vehicle:
    10 Tacoma TRD sport
    Corvette homelink 5100 Blinstein set at 2.50 Allpro UCA’s. 1" procomp rear block with TSB leaf pack. 5100 Blinstein on back 17x9 kMC wheels 0 BS 285/70 17 Nitto Terra Grapplers G2 Amp research steps.
    hi guys, I need help with WiFi, I have a shed behind a detached garage and I don’t have WiFi signal there and I have a really weak signal in the garage, I installed a repeater but this little thing creates its own network so it doesn’t work wit my Sonos or stuff that requires to be in the same network. Tired of all this finally I ran a cat6 wire from my router to the garage but I don’t know what to install now, booster? Repeaters? Antena? I would like to install something that gives me the same WiFi that I have in the house in the back and also the patio where the signal is weak.
    Any suggestions?

    Note: My knowledge It’s more crafty thank technical, I can ran wires, make patch wires and so on but when it gets really technical I get lost.
     
  2. May 10, 2019 at 6:41 AM
    #2
    se7enine

    se7enine MCMLXXIX

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Member:
    #102322
    Messages:
    14,775
    Gender:
    Male
    Reno, NV
    Vehicle:
    96 Tacoma Xtra Cab 2.7L
    Toytec Bilstein 5100's, Chevy Leafs.
    Do you have power in the shed?
     
    El Tano [OP] likes this.
  3. May 10, 2019 at 6:41 AM
    #3
    ArmandHammer83

    ArmandHammer83 This truck is AMAZING

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Member:
    #233972
    Messages:
    622
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Raymond
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tacoma AC V6 MT 4x4
    none yet
    in for a solution
     
  4. May 10, 2019 at 6:47 AM
    #4
    DES2009

    DES2009 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2014
    Member:
    #134426
    Messages:
    707
    Gender:
    Male
    Southeast Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2017 MGM Limited
    OVTune 1.05B(91)
    Get yourself a second router... One that can be configured as a Wireless Access Point. From the sounds of it you may have to get a friend to help you do the configuration, but after its configured its just Plug and Play for any wired or wireless device you use in your garage.

    AccessPointMode.jpg
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2019
    truckbeans likes this.
  5. May 10, 2019 at 6:55 AM
    #5
    El Tano

    El Tano [OP] i am the one who knocks

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Member:
    #39599
    Messages:
    2,179
    Gender:
    Male
    Pasadena. CA
    Vehicle:
    10 Tacoma TRD sport
    Corvette homelink 5100 Blinstein set at 2.50 Allpro UCA’s. 1" procomp rear block with TSB leaf pack. 5100 Blinstein on back 17x9 kMC wheels 0 BS 285/70 17 Nitto Terra Grapplers G2 Amp research steps.
    Yes
     
  6. May 10, 2019 at 6:57 AM
    #6
    El Tano

    El Tano [OP] i am the one who knocks

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Member:
    #39599
    Messages:
    2,179
    Gender:
    Male
    Pasadena. CA
    Vehicle:
    10 Tacoma TRD sport
    Corvette homelink 5100 Blinstein set at 2.50 Allpro UCA’s. 1" procomp rear block with TSB leaf pack. 5100 Blinstein on back 17x9 kMC wheels 0 BS 285/70 17 Nitto Terra Grapplers G2 Amp research steps.
    I have Att and I believe That you can’t use another brand.
     
  7. May 10, 2019 at 7:03 AM
    #7
    ArmandHammer83

    ArmandHammer83 This truck is AMAZING

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Member:
    #233972
    Messages:
    622
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Raymond
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tacoma AC V6 MT 4x4
    none yet
    @DES2009 , interested in the outcome since i'm having a similar situation here lately... if you get a second router does it slow your internet speed to both once you start using the second router?...i've thought about getting a signal booster but heard they are pretty useless actually, is that true?
     
    El Tano [OP] likes this.
  8. May 10, 2019 at 7:38 AM
    #8
    DES2009

    DES2009 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2014
    Member:
    #134426
    Messages:
    707
    Gender:
    Male
    Southeast Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2017 MGM Limited
    OVTune 1.05B(91)
    When configured as a Wireless Access Point, the second router is not connected directly to the internet... it doesn't connect directly to your modem. The "Internet" port on the second (Wireless Access Point) router is connected to one of the normal ethernet output ports on your primary router. Then that second router is configured as an Access Point. After configuration, the ethernet outputs on that second router as well as the WiFi out on the second router all are active and have complete access to your full network and internet. And no, using the second router in Access Point mode doesn't slow your internet speed.
    I have a pretty large two-story house, and use two routers here, with the second router configured as an Access Point to provide better wireless coverage on the second floor.
     
    Orco59, El Tano [OP] and truckbeans like this.
  9. May 10, 2019 at 7:40 AM
    #9
    DES2009

    DES2009 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2014
    Member:
    #134426
    Messages:
    707
    Gender:
    Male
    Southeast Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2017 MGM Limited
    OVTune 1.05B(91)
    As long as you have an available ethernet port on the primary router, you can use it to connect to the second (garage) router that you configure as a Wireless Access Point.
     
    truckbeans likes this.
  10. May 10, 2019 at 7:42 AM
    #10
    TacoRuss

    TacoRuss New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2019
    Member:
    #285350
    Messages:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tacoma TRD Sport Magnetic Grey
  11. May 10, 2019 at 7:47 AM
    #11
    truckbeans

    truckbeans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Member:
    #287058
    Messages:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kent
    Sylva, NC
    Vehicle:
    2018 DCSB OR
    OME 887s, nitrochargers all around, Headstrong progressive add-a-leaf, 265/75-R16 Wildpeaks
    I second this^
     
    El Tano [OP] likes this.
  12. May 10, 2019 at 9:32 AM
    #12
    El Tano

    El Tano [OP] i am the one who knocks

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Member:
    #39599
    Messages:
    2,179
    Gender:
    Male
    Pasadena. CA
    Vehicle:
    10 Tacoma TRD sport
    Corvette homelink 5100 Blinstein set at 2.50 Allpro UCA’s. 1" procomp rear block with TSB leaf pack. 5100 Blinstein on back 17x9 kMC wheels 0 BS 285/70 17 Nitto Terra Grapplers G2 Amp research steps.
    Thanks guys, Done, I’ll get a second router. Any suggestions? Brand? Specs?
     
  13. May 10, 2019 at 10:00 AM
    #13
    DES2009

    DES2009 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2014
    Member:
    #134426
    Messages:
    707
    Gender:
    Male
    Southeast Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2017 MGM Limited
    OVTune 1.05B(91)
    I like Netgear, but most any brand should be fine. Just confirm that it can be configured as a "Wireless Access Point". I think most all of them can be, but there could always be the exception.
    Again the configuration is not difficult, but if you're not that computer savvy it may be time to use the "Call a friend" option... :)

    This is a mid-priced one at Best Buy that can be used as an Access Point.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2019
  14. May 10, 2019 at 10:15 AM
    #14
    KactusJack

    KactusJack Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2017
    Member:
    #238158
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Collettsville, N.C.
    Vehicle:
    2014 AC TRD Sport
    PzTank likes this.
  15. May 10, 2019 at 10:20 AM
    #15
    BigWhiteTRD

    BigWhiteTRD Official thread killer (only crickets remain)

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Member:
    #219848
    Messages:
    900
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ted
    Treasure/Space Coast Florida
    Vehicle:
    2017 AC TRD OR Auto, 4wd w/2 whl Lo mod
    As others have said, you need an access point (if you want this wifi to be on the same network as your house, accessible to printers at the house, network shares, computers in house, etc).

    Most routers can be set to 'Access Point' or 'AP' mode and will work fine for this job.

    Easier (because there are fewer options in the setup) and maybe a cheaper option than buying routers and turning them to Access Points is to buy dedicated Access Point only devices that aren't a router, so you dont have to worry about disabling its routing functions. An example of a 2.4 ghz model is : https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Wireless-300Mbps-Repeater-TL-WA801ND/dp/B004UBU8IE/
    I have used in this one, and continue to use this one for noncritical functions.

    If you think you may want to plug in another device or two out there in the shed in addition to the access point, such as a smart tv, get a router (and turn it to access point mode), this will give you a few more ports for ethernet out in the shed, unlike access point devices which usually only have 1 ethernet port.

    There should be special instructions online for whatever device you buy on how to switch it to Access Point mode.

    A warning, ethernet cable adds some risk for lightning strike to the shed destroying all your network gear in the house. Make sure that the shed ground connects directly to the house ground. (Both can be grounded to their own ground rods, but really should have a dedicated ground wire run from the shed back to the house panel to make sure there is no significant current in the ethernet cable).


    That is a quick run at minimum setup to work like you want.

    If you want higher end, I have similiar setup to what you are describing to my detached garage. I have run fiberoptic cable out to the garage rather than ethernet cable to reduce lightning issues (I live in lightning alley in Florida). I use Ubiquity Access points because I was tired of residential grade routers dying so I went with something a bit higher grade....
     
    El Tano [OP] likes this.
  16. May 10, 2019 at 11:05 AM
    #16
    ArmandHammer83

    ArmandHammer83 This truck is AMAZING

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Member:
    #233972
    Messages:
    622
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Raymond
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tacoma AC V6 MT 4x4
    none yet
    man i'm so glad there are people way smarter than me on here LOL...i know i didn't ask the original question but this really helps my situation, hopefully OP can get some help also
     
    Miami Chillin likes this.
  17. May 10, 2019 at 11:12 AM
    #17
    tn510

    tn510 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2019
    Member:
    #285552
    Messages:
    64
    Gender:
    Male
    First thing Ill do is ditch ATT then buy my own modem/access point. Should give you better coverage than the POS they provide. Are you using 2.4 or 5 ghz? Get any cheap dual band router and reflash it.

    https://openwrt.org/docs/start
     
  18. May 10, 2019 at 11:17 AM
    #18
    El Tano

    El Tano [OP] i am the one who knocks

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Member:
    #39599
    Messages:
    2,179
    Gender:
    Male
    Pasadena. CA
    Vehicle:
    10 Tacoma TRD sport
    Corvette homelink 5100 Blinstein set at 2.50 Allpro UCA’s. 1" procomp rear block with TSB leaf pack. 5100 Blinstein on back 17x9 kMC wheels 0 BS 285/70 17 Nitto Terra Grapplers G2 Amp research steps.
    Thank your taking the time to help me.
    I’ll go the router way, that way I can connect a Sonos amp and the pool equipment and the sprinklers timer.
    Will this work?
    https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-AC1750-Smart-WiFi-Router/dp/B079JD7F7G/ref=mp_s_a_1_16?keywords=router+AP&qid=1557511814&s=gateway&sr=8-16&th=1&psc=1

    Ps: Regarding the ground in the wire, the wire goes inside a PCs pipe. Should I pull that one and run shielded cat6 or other wire? It’s 75 ft.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2019
  19. May 10, 2019 at 11:19 AM
    #19
    El Tano

    El Tano [OP] i am the one who knocks

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Member:
    #39599
    Messages:
    2,179
    Gender:
    Male
    Pasadena. CA
    Vehicle:
    10 Tacoma TRD sport
    Corvette homelink 5100 Blinstein set at 2.50 Allpro UCA’s. 1" procomp rear block with TSB leaf pack. 5100 Blinstein on back 17x9 kMC wheels 0 BS 285/70 17 Nitto Terra Grapplers G2 Amp research steps.
    This is above my pay grade. Lol
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2019
    TXpro4X4 likes this.
  20. May 10, 2019 at 11:22 AM
    #20
    El Tano

    El Tano [OP] i am the one who knocks

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Member:
    #39599
    Messages:
    2,179
    Gender:
    Male
    Pasadena. CA
    Vehicle:
    10 Tacoma TRD sport
    Corvette homelink 5100 Blinstein set at 2.50 Allpro UCA’s. 1" procomp rear block with TSB leaf pack. 5100 Blinstein on back 17x9 kMC wheels 0 BS 285/70 17 Nitto Terra Grapplers G2 Amp research steps.
    I was advised to only use 2.4
    We tried to use 2.4 and 5, also putting names to the networks and it was a mess, the network was very unstable and it didn’t work most of the time. After they send a tech and put everything in 2.4 and kept the original name and password it has been working great :fingerscrossed:.
     
To Top