1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

will 2017 SR studs & lug nuts work with 2017 factory off road rims

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by Yota62, Dec 27, 2017.

  1. Dec 27, 2017 at 9:18 AM
    #1
    Yota62

    Yota62 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Member:
    #235349
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    have opportunity to buy factory 2017 off-road tires and rims with sensors . Will my lug nuts work with these rims. What color are the off road lugs . I have SR steel rims . Any thoughts or issues ?
     
  2. Dec 27, 2017 at 10:57 AM
    #2
    Garyji

    Garyji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Member:
    #168245
    Messages:
    2,156
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Western North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2016 BR SR5 DCSB V6 4WD. TRD Pro 17's, BFG KO2's
    Pretty sure the alloy wheels need the flat surfaces lug nut. The steel's have the acorn shape. When I went to TRD Pro wheels from the "Styled Steel" wheels, I had to peplace all lug nuts.

    G.
     
    over60 likes this.
  3. Dec 27, 2017 at 5:04 PM
    #3
    Yota62

    Yota62 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Member:
    #235349
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    thanks, any suggestions on lugs and were to get them, aftermarket ?
     
  4. Dec 27, 2017 at 6:19 PM
    #4
    Garyji

    Garyji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Member:
    #168245
    Messages:
    2,156
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Western North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2016 BR SR5 DCSB V6 4WD. TRD Pro 17's, BFG KO2's
    I had Discount Tire do my set up and they had the nuts I needed. They made me a "deal" at 3.00 each since they were doing the whole job. Also, you may have issues with the TPMS sensors from the steel wheels. The sensors from my wheels did not work correctly, and they had to "flip" them 180 degrees which makes for a very delicate installation so they don't break them. Still, they don't read the corner pressures, and I am going to get the correct sensors when it's time to do new tires.

    G.
     
  5. Dec 27, 2017 at 9:29 PM
    #5
    QuicksandTaco

    QuicksandTaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Member:
    #207105
    Messages:
    1,550
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cody
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2015 Inferno TRD Pro 6spd
    URD short shifter, 285/75/16,
    You will 100% need new lug nuts. The sensors are different for steel and alloy wheels as well but it sounds like you are getting the sensors in those wheels anyway.
     
  6. Dec 27, 2017 at 9:29 PM
    #6
    TCBronson

    TCBronson Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Member:
    #238272
    Messages:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma SR
    TRD wheels, K02 265/75/16
    I went from the steel wheels to the TRD bead lock style wheels and had to get new TPMS sensors and the washers and nuts to mount them as well as lug nuts for the alloy wheels. The nuts and washers from your old TPMS sensors can be used to mount the steel wheel sensors but as stated you will have to be careful using the steel wheel sensors, the angle is wrong and will probably be damaged when changing the tire next time. I chose to not reuse the TPMS nuts and washers on the new wheels so that I could sell the steel wheels and tires as a complete set on Craigslist. New tires 013.jpg New tires 004.jpg
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2017
    schultzj01 likes this.
  7. Dec 28, 2017 at 9:26 AM
    #7
    Yota62

    Yota62 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Member:
    #235349
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    looks great , besides dealer where can I get lug nuts. What specifically do I need ? Acorn was referenced to what I have. Thanks
     

Products Discussed in

To Top